We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting !”

The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's
Price range: $30 - $190
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dubai's first Irish fine-dining restaurant! Find us above McGettigan's at the Dubai World Trade Centre! The D Ppstairs at McGettigan's offers a selection of contemporary Irish dishes with a strong European influence. A wealth of thought, care and culinary expertise has been poured into the creation of the menu and restaurant itself in order to provide guests with the best possible dining experience. The restaurant exudes a warm and welcoming ambiance and boasts a striking decor featuring many elements from past and modern Ireland. Complete with plush carpets, twinkling chandeliers and handcrafted Irish stone and wood workmanship, The D provides a stylish setting ideal for a convenient business lunch, lively Friday afternoon brunch or leisurely dinner rendezvous. The D Upstairs at McGettigan's is conveniently located at Dubai World Trade Centre, right next to the Trade Centre Arena and provides the perfect venue for pre- or post-concert and theater dining.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a stunning resturant, even though it was a quiet night. The D Bar n Grill still had a lovely atmosphere . Lovely bar for pre dinner drinks or a quiet night in a nice bar ( girls night) . We were looked after a lovely young man who was very informative of the wine list the construction of the Bar, where, what how !
Once we had a wine and taken to resturant area Beautiful!!! The menu was amazing, great selection of fine food, not a traditional Irish menu what I was expecting. Though all produce was Irish sourced. Fantastic !
The food is excellent value, though the wines I thought were on the expensive side but a good selection.


My best / fav bit was the cheese. All Irish cheeses !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JodyMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear JodyMichelle,

Many thanks for your review!

We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and liked the atmosphere, food, and service!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,

The team from The D Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Despite being above McGettigans, it couldn't be further away in terms of quality, service or decor. The food is more French/European influences with Irish produce, as their chef is of Michelin star quality, and he does not disappoint! Every dish is stunning, in both taste and presentation.
The service is also amazing, it's a fine dining restaurant, with fine dining standards, but the staff are so friendly! They make jokes and take the time to get to know you and even show you around and explain the restaurant to you. We couldn't have asked for better!
They even serve Irish coffees!
Would definitely recommend this restaurant to couples too as they have some really nice cosy tables. And for those who like a drink after their meal, it turns into a lounge-club with bottle service after the kitchen closes, playing funky electro-swing music which fits perfectly with the decor.
It's modern, yet traditional.
Amazing!
Will definitely be going back ASAP!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Sarah B,

Very many thanks for your review and congratulations for being the first TripAdvisor user to review us!

We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to our new restaurant and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

All the best,

The team from The D Bar and Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2014
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2014
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcgettiganspubs, Manager at The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The D - Upstairs at McGettigan's also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing