We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of England”

The Underground Pub
Ranked #450 of 9,665 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Marina
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little piece of England”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Say no more .
For ex-pats who enjoy a pint , a game of pool or darts and more importantly watching the football , this is a little piece of England . Be aware that they still allow smoking inside and you may come across the odd loud football supporter or loud mouth telling you what he does for a living or how much his next deal is worth , but put that aside it does have a fair selection of beers and ciders to cool you down when the temperature hits 40 degrees .
Located at the Habtoor on Jumeirah beach !!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    61
    23
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Standard prizes for dubai, good service, there are two pool where you can play and meet new people. Only one disagree is about the kitchen, they close the kitchen too early

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Having watched the football and eaten here many times I have no complaits with food or service. They could advertise the happy hours better but they serve traditional British food including pork and everything you would expect. Will be visiting again many time in 2014 no doubt..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evickage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived in Dubai for our second visit late on the Saturday evening. Liverpool were playing the following day so we had done some research before going to make sure we could watch it somewhere, The Underground stood out as it said it was a LFC supporters bar

We found it no problem as we know the area and were okay with the prices as it was happy hour, I think it was about £4-£5 a pint and a bit dearer when the happy hour was not on

We had a nice time and were given nuts and crisps, the food looked good although we didn't eat.

As we had a good time we decided to go again one evening before we went for a meal, we had a tab going again and had a couple of rounds, the waitress collected our glasses and we reordered as we had 40 minutes until we had to be at our meal reservation, the drinks still had not arrived 30 minutes after we had ordered and we could not get hold of anyone to even ask what was going on. We finally managed to catch someones eye and we got the bill and left...they did try to get us to stay after we had explained what had happened and I checked the bill and we had only been charged for what we had drank, it wasn't a major issue but if this had been our first visit we would have been put off from returning

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayAddict0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a great pub and loved the atmosphere/music.

It is also a venue you can smoke in - a throwback to when you could do that in English pubs !

Top place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Underground Pub also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to The Underground Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing