We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barjeel Heritage Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
60
57
10
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
57
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage villagedubai creekarabian courtyard hotelbus stationabra dockadjacent restaurantno windowshort walksuperb locationabu dhabipleasant hotelnight's sleepthe hotel managersister hotelgold soukeach morningguesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 137 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Chose this because we didn't want to stay in a big hotel that you could stay in anywhere. It had authentic Arabian charm, and very nice staff. Taxi can't get you right up to the door but it is a short walk, and the taxi driver will call the hotel manager for you who will come out and meet you with a dolly to bring your luggage back to the guesthouse. They even walked us back out to the main Street and hailed us cab when it was time for us to leave. It is situated along the canal, where you could hop on a boat to take you across the canal to the spice, gold and textile markets. Easy to get around and close to the metro station. In the evening, because it is in the heritage district, there is live entertainment along the promenade.
The restaurant served very good food, I loved the ambience of the restaurant, too. You can watch the boats travelling up and down the canal.

I would definitely recommend this guest House to someone not wanting the big hotel experience. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lovely little courtyard. Ask for a larger room, we had 108 and it was great! 104 was much smaller.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgette1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We chose this guesthouse as we wanted to avoid staying in a high-rise-you-could-be-anywhere hotel. The guesthouse itself you can't drive up to, but if like us you had read this before the easiest thing to do is drop a pin on the location map on your smartphone and use the GPS to help you get there we found! Also take note of the exterior picture of the guesthouse as you'll soon recognise it when you get to the Metro station near by.

We were greeted by very friendly staff, and shown to our lovely traditional room with beautiful furnishings and a great shower.

The location is great by the old creek, where you could take the water taxi's over to the souqs. We found the food to be great at the guesthouse with good vegetarian options.

I'd definitely recommend this place for anyone looking for a more traditional stay in a very pretty location - plus it's great value compared to other options in Dubai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is in a reconstruction of old Dubai and overlooking the Creek. The hotel and rooms are in a traditional style and would thus appeal to those looking for a hotel outside the mainstream. There is a very pleasant interior courtyard and a roof-top area. The food was reasonable particularly the breakfast but there are better dining options in the vacinity including at the Arabian Courtyard Hotel which owns the Barjeel. The hotel is however somewhat hard to find despite its central location. Price-wise, it was good value for Dubai.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was such a pleasure staying at this guesthouse. I could not have asked for a better location right next to the subway station! Less than 100m from the East exit!

The guesthouse is new built in an old style, the rooms and bathrooms are clean.

It can get pretty cool in the winter and the room cools down to a comfortable chill for a night's sleep.

The staff are really friendly and helpful.

The location is quite a distance walk to the dubai museum but nothing an abled adult can't tolerate. It is also not too far from downtown dubai.

The breakfast was hearty with a good selection to choose from.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyroticphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nice small hotell 10 meters from the Dubai Creek in the old town center. The building is new but built in old style with an inner yard from where you have direct access to your rooms. Nice staff you really get to know. The hotel is 1 minute walk from the subway station. As the hotel is built close to the creek the taxis can't drive to the hotel door. They leave you at the subway station.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews