We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed!”

Frying Pan Food Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Walking Tour Dubai: Middle Eastern Food Pilgrimage
Ranked #1 of 12 Food & Drink in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Did you know that there’s an undiscovered foodie side to Dubai? And there’s no better way to explore it than with your tummy! Join us on a Frying Pan Adventure as we wind our way through Dubai’s most historic streets, exploring, tasting and savoring plates of rich ethnic culture that get served up in Dubai everyday.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This tour was a peek into a secret society that one normally cannot or is nervous to access by trial and error.

Informative, historical and fun - oh and great FOOD!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulesBSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    25
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Marvallous" evening of food and social history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Back home I am drinking Indian tea with a single thread of saffron and reliving the delights of this evening of excellent food in Dubai last week with Arva.

These are restaurants off Al Rigga Road which local Indian lady Arva has known all of her life. It has takeen her years to get behind the scenes and to learn the secrets of the food and its preparation. Starting in a typical Flafel kitchen we saw the cooking skills In the Al Kwaider Nabulsi street restaurant we ate those most tasty flafel with a yoghurt based sauce and marinaded goat. We learnt cooking tips such as to put ice in Humous to make it smoothe. We looked in ovens, watched dishes such as Palestinian Mosarkhan, a pizza like plate, being placed in a deep oven. We enjoyed Kofte, spicy Yemeni chicken eaten while we were seated in a tent on a carpet. A selection of pastries with pistachio and baclava took us to a "full" stage but then we walked this off to a fast food restaurant chosen because iot serves the best Manusheh unleavened flat bread from the Lebanon. A brief stop in an Iranian spiceshop was where we bought saffron and pomegranite molasses.

The final delight was an iranian restaurant which a friend from Tehran later told me is the best and most authentic in town. The complex recipes and tastes of biriani were memorable as was the flatbread. We peered into anoven with a base of gravel.

Behind all of this we had a social history lesson about the region, from the Bostaki traders given land in Dubbayt, modern Dubai to the pearl fishing industry which gave the first wealth to this emirate. But Arva developed the history of the desert, of milk andmeats, the cheeses and goatskin used to cool water. She talked knowledgeably of the Levant civilisations and of desert tribes.

This was a 5 hour extravaganza of good food and we had great company of like minded people. Perhaps there was one restaurant too many or I ate one plate more than needed but whose fault was that but mine? I have worked in this region for 30 years and love the meals but this was the first explanation that I have had in detail. Back home the humous is smoothe, the flatbread is not the same and the delicate pastries from Samadi Sweets are nearly all gone. The only thing lacking is the heat, sand, the call to prayer, the gentle people and Arva to explain the meaning.

This is a very professional tour of real quality with excellent Marketing from a lovely person who knows and loves her food. A must.

Tim Boddington February 2 2013

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A fun and interesting way to see parts of Dubai that others won't! Arva is a real find. She has a deep knowledge of her city, and has a passion to share it. We took the Indian tour - the only one available during our visit. While Indian ain't my favourite food, the generous samples we tried in the four (or was it five?) eateries opened my eyes and taste buds . . . Put this high on your list of 'must dos' in Dubai.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreaming of more Pani Puri!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My friend and I did the Little India on a Plate tour with Arva and we loved it. It is obvious that Arva is very passionate and knowledgable about food and wants to share that with others. We loved the fact that the tour usually has 8 or less people on it, this gives you an opportunity to chat to Arva and to the other foodies on the tour. It also allows the group to go into some small restaurants which often sell the best food. All the research Arva has done into which restaurant makes the best dishes sure has paid off because all the food and drink we sampled at the 5 restaurants we visited were absolutely delicious...I still dream of going back for more pani puri...and those breads...and the lassi and the...

We also loved the feel of old Dubai and the hassle and bustle of the Meena Bazaar.

All in all a very different and unique experience which I will certainly recommend to others and can't wait to repeat myself!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DubaiDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful gastronomic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Arva takes you into food outlets that amaze and lets you sample a wide variety of cuisines on a four hour stroll through Deira in Dubai. Do not be put off by the location , it is vibrant safe and tasty!

Avra is a mine of information and her warm personality soon binds the group into a unit out for good food

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frying Pan Food Adventures also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Frying Pan Food Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing