We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel but Pool in the Shade” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Dubai Al Barsha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Dubai Al Barsha
Ranked #159 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but Pool in the Shade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed 5 nights in February. A new hotel so very fresh and new feel to all of the hotel. Room was on the small side but ample for one or two people and good furniture and decoration.
Breakfast great choice of food and constantly replenished.The only trouble was when arriving at a busy time, bit chaotic tables not cleaned quickly enough and left to find your own table. So left wandering around the dining room to find a clean table, however the staff were very pleasant and when asked, quickly cleaned a table. (Better to wait at the entrance and then be shown to a clean table).
The only downside to this hotel is the swimming pool which is located and the 7th floor The Pool area is very impressive but is in a shaded area between the towers of the hotel meaning this pool will only see the sun at the height of summer. Bad design should have been a rooftop pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennUKexDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6535-GM, Manager at Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Novotel Dubai Al Barsha !

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

I have shared your comments with our team, so that they are aware of their contribution in continuously improving the quality of our services to meet the guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

Kind regards

Mirco IADA
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    425
    128
    37
    35
See reviews for
264
210
56
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

It was the 2nd time to Dubai with my family. We were there 12 Feb 2014 for 5 nights.
We arrived early in the hotel and when the receptionist found out it's my parents' birthday both they gave us a suite on 33rd floor ( we booked 2 separate rooms before). It was lovely suite and I loved it. 4 Toilet, 2 master bedrooms with full facilities. Kitchen facilities with bosch brand on it and the bathrooms with toto. They sent my parents a lovely birthday cake too.
Cleanliness with no spot is very obvious in this hotel. The breakfast was excellent but no variety in 6 days. the water turned cold in last day but when we called the engineer, he fixed it in 10 minutes.
The location is very good. 3 minutes walk to metro station and 1 stop to Emirates mall and 5 stop to burj Khalifa/Dubai mall

wifi is free and has a very good speed.
I definitely recommend & come back to this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Suites are worth to try
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayvan_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6535-GM, Manager at Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Greetings from Novotel Dubai Al Barsha !

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

I have shared your comments with our team, so that they are aware of their contribution in continuously improving the quality of our services to meet the guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

Kind regards

Mirco IADA
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumirago, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Hotel is new in Novotel style, is located in front the Sheik Zayed road, near to mall of Emirates, rooms are OK, hotel is big and sometimes there is line to the reception. For the business the hotel is in a good location. Overall feedback is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6535-GM, Manager at Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Greetings from Novotel Dubai Al Barsha !

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

I have shared your comments with our team, so that they are aware of their contribution in continuously improving the quality of our services to meet the guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

Kind regards

Mirco IADA
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

A very bad experience due to the below:
1. The room offered is for the disabled with toilet facilities for the disabled. Very insensitive.
2. Nobody answers the phone - the reception, the housekeeping, the room service or anybody at all.
3. Once they answer, the reply is extremely rude. "What is it that you want"?? This is how they ask you!
4. Asked for a bottle of water....it's 30 minutes now and I am still inside the room and nobody even comes with it.
5. They tell you it's 20AED....so do you need it?? Very rude.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Anoop P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6535-GM, Manager at Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Greetings from Novotel Dubai Al Barsha

We appreciate your sharing your concern, which is not the true reflection of the standards upon which Novotel prides istelf in. At Novote Dubai Al Barsha, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence of the problems.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mirco Iada
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Started off badly and got steadily worse, this hotel is an excellent candidate for 'Hotel Rescue' or a similar trash tv show.
The Accor group can and frequently does do a lot better than this.

When we fought our way into the 'valet' parking area, we were not greeted and no one offered to help with our luggage. When we dragged all of our stuff into the reception area (whilst the staff watched) we dealt with a disinterested staff member who declared that my credit card "didn't work" and "could I supply another" (NO!) "Could I pay 300 cash to guarantee the mini bar"? (refer later) which was another NO. My wife (ex Accor employee) advised him to enter the card numbers manually which he grudgingly did. As an aside, the card worked perfectly for another staff member when I checked out next morning. We had to ask for any information we required like "where are the elevators". This is truly one of those hotels where the staff do NOT enjoy their work and don't particularly care about the customer's satisfaction. This showed in nearly every staff interaction we had through the stay.

The room was absolutely tiny, It was decorated like a set from a 1970's Brit sitcom and was so cluttered that you could not walk around the bed without bumping into something. The bed was the hardest sheet covered board I have ever suffered and therefore I had little or no sleep.

We had a lovely meal and good service at the Cravin' Cajun restaurant and would gladly return simply to dine there again (as long as we could slip in through the door without being 'served' by the hotel staff again)

In the morning we had to manage our own luggage again and we left somewhat relieved that we were out... Unfortunately for me, I left some shirts hanging in the wardrobe (closet) and had to return the next day to collect them... yep! you guessed it, more rubbish service. The lady on the reception did not understand the words 'shirt', 'closet' or 'wardrobe' so it was difficult to communicate exactly what I wanted. After some 20 minutes or so, a surly man with very poor personal hygiene appeared with a rubbish bag that contained my shirts and hangers, Oh dear, classy stuff Novotel. He seamed to be of the opinion that he was doing me a favour by making me wait while he faffed about, he even wanted a copy of my Emirates I.D. for some reason (they already had a copy of my passport from check in time) But hey! guess what? no photocopier in the reception.

All in all, I recommend any of the other hotels in the area above this one (even its little sister the IBIS, which is nearby) I would rather sleep in my car than stay in this hotel again.

P.S. The mini bar? Oh yes, it was completely utterly empty, so my 300 card block covered it easily ha ha ha!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not in this hotel. Simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wazza2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6535-GM, Manager at Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Greetings from Novotel Dubai Al Barsha

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, which is not the true reflection of the standards upon which Novotel prides istelf in. At Novote Dubai Al Barsha, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence of the problems.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mirco Iada
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I rolled the dice and booked this hotel before it had opened. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff even at 2 am.

The room itself is on the smaller side, but still enough room for the two of us and luggage without having to step over each other. The bathroom is a good size and even has a separate rain shower. From our room we could see the Burj Al Arab although the dirty windows on the outside prevented getting any good photos. The bed was extremely firm which I didn't mind but my wife thought it was a little too hard.

The hotel's gym is perfect for a quick holiday workout.

I found the staff to always be very friendly. At times the house cleaning staff would forget to leave us with towels and toilet paper. These issues were resolved easily enough with a call to housekeeping.

Without really knowing the city I was unsure about the location but it turned out to be pretty good. It is about a 200m walk to the metro line. The metro line is very easy to use and we took advantage of it most days. The hotel is also about a 15-20min walk to the Mall of Emirates.

The buffet breakfast has a very good variety of food for all dietary requirements.

I would recommend this hotel and should I be passing through am likely to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H6535-GM, Manager at Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Customer,

Greetings from Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

I have shared your comments with our team, so that they are aware of their contribution in continuously improving the quality of our services to meet the guest satisfactions.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Novotel Dubai Al Barsha.

Kind regards

Mirco IADA
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Suites Dubai Mall of the Emirates
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Residences Dubai - Al Barsha
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
Flora Al Barsha Hotel
#90 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Mall Of The Emirates
0.4 mi away
Ibis Al Barsha
Ibis Al Barsha
#229 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Dubai Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dubai Al Barsha

Property: Novotel Dubai Al Barsha
Address: Al Barsha Sheikh Zayed Rd | Off Sharaf DG Metro Station, Al Barsha 1, Dubai 450011, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dubai Al Barsha 4*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DUBAI, UAE -- Overlooking the Arabian Gulf, the four-star hotel has an inventory of 465 guest rooms, six food and beverage outlets, ten meeting rooms and a business centre, not to forget a host of leisure facilities with In Balance Spa by Novotel. Catering up to 400 persons.The Novotel Dubai Al Barsha, is the latest addition to Dubai's iconic skyline and is fast becoming a recognized beacon in the city. The innovative hanging gardens that can be seen across the hotel's facade, signals the fresh approach the hotel takes to how it does business and is a core element of the property's commitment to sustainable development. Close by walking distance to the Sharaf DG metro station and the Mall of Emirates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Dubai Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing