We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shimmers by the Pool!”
Review of Shimmers

Shimmers
Ranked #154 of 9,663 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Barbecue, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Shimmers sits on one of the best locations in Dubai, right on Madinat Jumeirah’s private beach with spectacular views of Burj Al Arab Jumeirah. Offering Resort guests and local residents authentic Greek food and a casual chic atmosphere, the completely refurbished beach restaurant is the newest concept in Jumeirah Mina A’Salam. Please be advised that Shimmer's will be temporarily closed until further notice.
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Shimmers by the Pool!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our goddaughter treated us to a day pass for the facilities and beach area which are part of the Madinat Jumeirah Resort....what a fabulous treat the pool and surrounding areas were fantastic and the beach was beautiful white sand as far as the eye could see the sea was warm and inviting and the view of the Burj was awesome.....there is building work going on next door which was a distraction but we still had a great day and would highly recommend spending a day or two here......the staff were attentive and the bar food at Shimmers was excellent.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    137
    45
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
848 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 923 helpful votes
“Great view of the Burj”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Here on a days pass for some pool time at the Mina A Salam part of the Madinat Jumeirah Arab Resort.....great location next to the beach and a great view of the Burj Al Arab Hotel next door. Stayed at the hotel on a previous visit but first review this forum..
Atmosphere somewhat spoilt by building works close by but an altogether delicious lunch at Shimmers and some nice cold drinks while taking in the view and some very good photo opportunities.
Prices are reflective of Dubai...well recommended...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Loved the laid back ambience ”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to relax by the beach. They have nailed the setting and ambience. I think one should visit the place for just this... Beach side casual dining in a 5-star setting

Food was good, I'd say. Well cooked and tasty. We were not disappointed. Beer was overpriced though... Served in one of the smallest beer glasses, at full price :))

But the service has a long way to go. Since other reviewers don't seem to complain about the service, I'm presuming we were unlucky to get a 'not-so-friendly', 'not-so-competent' one for our table. It took ages to take our order (that too on prompting) and ages to get the food too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing view !!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I googled best place to have a shisha and this place came up, so I caught a taxi from dubai mall when I arrived I was amazed at the views of Burj al arab and the sea. Wow wow wow. One of the most amazing places I have been in dubai I arrived at sun set that was just luck, make sure you go there at sun set wow. I sat down got a shisha and watched the sun go down into the water. Then ordered a beautiful mushroom risotto. A must see in dubai. Take your wife or girl friend there at sunset for a meal you will be in the good books for sure

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for the sunset”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I went there mainly to appreciate Burj Al Arab view. It very relaxing observing the sunset sitting in a chair or table on the carpets they put on the sand. The atmosphere is young and there were a group smoking narguile making the night even more special. The food was very good and they have a friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GigiBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shimmers also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Shimmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing