We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance and amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gharana

Gharana
Ranked #278 of 9,408 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine Dining: INDIAN An Experience of the Indian subcontinent through the kaleidoscope of elements of familiar monuments and the culinary tastes of that region leads this restaurant to be labeled Exotic with live entertainment
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ambiance and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Been there couple of times and we were pleased with the overall ambiance & live music of Gharana.

There were limited varieties for veggies, which I think can be improved upon. Having said that whatever veg they had available was delicious.

Will definitely visit again...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Hitendra M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnnAlBarsha, Public Relations Manager at Gharana, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Hitendra,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha and the team at Gharana!

Thank you for sparing time to review us. We appreciate your kind comments and are happy you found the ambiance great and the food amazing.

Your comments about vegetarian options has been passed on to our culinary team for attention and improvement.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

On behalf of Ms. Kezia
Devini Naicker
Marketing Coordinator
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    50
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Excellent Food Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Whfile on business I found this restaurant and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the service. The ambience was also authentic. The food and service were good enough that I will return at a later date. I especially would like to recommend the black lentil dish.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnnAlBarsha, Public Relations Manager at Gharana, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Bobby,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha and the team at Gharana!

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are really happy to read that you appreciate our excellent service and food.

We at Holiday Inn truly believe that your continuous support will enable us to deliver services which are synonymous with InterContinental Hotels Group highly guarded reputation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,

On behalf of Ms. Kezia
Devini Naicker
Marketing Coordinator
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The man chooses where curry will be eaten.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pleasantly surprised after walking into a restaurant with a slightly odd feel. Maybe too bright? Maybe not enough soft furnishings? I don't know but not a 'comfortable' looking place.
This is Indian food prepared as it should be. If you prefer Anglo-Indian food then this might not suit you.
We were a group of three but had to wait for an extra place to be set at a table as all other tables were taken. Not a problem at all! A busy restaurant, full of people obviously enjoying a taste of home, is seldom a bad thing!
Very friendly staff who although very busy, never seemed harassed and were attentive and smiley all evening. (Even when slightly unruly (read bored and tired) kids were swinging the heavy metal swing rather enthusiastically!)
Beer choices were good and the bottles of Kingfisher were very cold :-)
There are menu choices from different regions of India and you can choose from all four. Our starters of fish were really very good. I have no idea what it's called but the sauce is green!! The fish was cooked to perfection. We also had wee potato patties. Both dishes had a pleasant spicy kick. Mains were equally as good. Wine is very reasonably priced.
The manager is very friendly indeed and made us very welcome indeed.
Live music is included in the experience and seemed to be greatly appreciated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccindxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnnAlBarsha, Public Relations Manager at Gharana, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha and the team at Gharana!

Thank you for the valuable time you've spent in sharing your comments through TripAdvisor. We are really happy that you have been satisfied on your recent visit to our restaurant.

Your feedback, both positive and constructive is greatly appreciated and of immense value to us. They enable us to continuously understand the level of our guest satisfaction as well as to constantly improve the standards at the restaurant.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

On behalf of Ms. Kezia
Devini Naicker
Marketing Coordinator
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Awesome food and equally awesome ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I celebrated my son's birthday there and the resturant managed Mr Ramesh, took the time to understand my need and my guests dietary requirements with great care. I was also pleasantly surprised with the decorations on our table and the menu card prepared specially for my son. Very well done right to minutest of details. The food is great, the staff very helpful and friendly. And a special mention to the artists adding a special touch to the entire setting. All in all an excellent evening. Much recommended even if its just for a casual dinner. Opps almost forgot to mention 'very reasonably priced' value for money.
Gharana team well done!
Mansi

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pahelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnnAlBarsha, Public Relations Manager at Gharana, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Pahelli,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha and the team at Gharana!

Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent dining experience with us.
We are extremely pleased to read you enjoyed the food and ambiance to such extent, happy to hear that your son's birthday was a success. I will make sure to personally share your feedback with Ramesh and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

On behalf of Ms. Kezia
Devini Naicker
Marketing Coordinator
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quality food. Personalised service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband, 3year-old and I went to this restaurant by chance, as we were looking for a good indian meal. We were not disappointed. We reserved a table over the phone. The interior is small and nicely decorated incl. live indian music. Unfortunately, the music was too loud for our daughter. When we told our waiter that we would not be able to stay as she would not be comfortable, he offered to seat us in the breakfast area just outside the entrance of the restaurant and serve us there. Great offer! I was initially concerned that being seated outside we would be forgotten - but no such thing. Service was extremely friendly and efficient. A waiter always came by to make sure the food was too our liking and that we were not missing anything. As we are peso-vegetarian we were not sure what to order and asked for recommendations. Every single dish recommended to us was delicious! The purina fish as a starter was divine - never tasted anything like it. The prawn and fish curries exquisite. Even the plain porota was divine. We were also offered papaya gravy which was absolutely delicious. The meal was also great value for money (we had no wine, so not sure what the wine costs). The portions were sizeable. The service highly individual and friendly. We would highly recommend and would definitely return. We visited today.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnnAlBarsha, Public Relations Manager at Gharana, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha and the team at Gharana!

Having carefully reviewed your feedback, we are truly sorry to have learned that you were not fully pleased with your overall dining experience on this particular occasion.

Your various comments were well taken into consideration and please rest assured that these have been taken serious and will be reviewed internally to ensure that necessary actions can be taken.

Your feedback, both positive and constructive is greatly appreciated and of immense value to us. They enable us to continuously understand the level of our guest satisfaction as well as to constantly improve the standards at the restaurant.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we truly do hope that your experience on this occasion will not detain you from visiting the restaurant again in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Gharana!

Best Regards,

On behalf of Ms. Kezia
Devini Naicker
Marketing Coordinator
Holiday Inn Dubai – Al Barsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gharana also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Gharana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing