We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JA Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #67 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay here to relax for few days on way back from a China tour. Only wish we had longer. May be rated as 4* but we certainly experienced 5* service. Booked half board in a club room and were very impressed by all staff from the moment we arrived. Room was bright and spacious and were checked in quickly even though we had arrived early. room was bright, clean and spacious. Ate on first evening in buffet and good choice of dishes. All very good. We then had our first experience of the Coral Lounge which is available to club room guests.Complimentary drinks and we had to decline the very nice looking snacks as we had just eaten. All staff in the Coral Lounge were excellent and a special thanks must go to Madhara who was just great. We found that we could also eat in the Brazilian restaurant and booked that for second night. This was so good we went back again on our final evening. We had breakfast in the Coral Lounge and this was just so good to sit in peace and quiet with freshly cooked eggs and great selection of other items. There is construction work outside the hotel but this did not cause us any disturbance as the rooms are well sound proofed. Did not have the opportunity to go to the beach club but used pool and beach by the hotel. Would thoroughly recommend the club rooms and can guarantee excellent service. A big thank you to all the staff for making it a very enjoyable end to our holiday. The anniversary cake was lovely.

Room Tip: Book the club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ustwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear ustwo2,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I was happy to know that you would recommend the hotel! Please allow me to personally thank you for taking the time to detail your positive comments about the hotel, the rooms which you have kindly mentioned were bright, clean and spacious, as well as the service that you received. I was also pleased to know that you enjoyed the half-board package which you opted for, as well as the selection of food served in Coral Lounge.

It was truly moving to read your exceptional praise for our associates who looked after you, whom you felt were excellent and made your stay enjoyable. You have also mentioned some of our associates by name, which I will personally ensure that your compliments are passed on.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,515 - 3,521 of 4,883 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just come back from a 4 night stay, hotel has been refurbished to a very high standard.
You can expect the price of this hotel to go up, as others have said lots of building work going on. They are spending 1.5 billion building the Dubai eye straight in front, also lead to believe that they will be also building a 5 star hotel with it.
Had dinner in the steak restaurant one night excellent the next time not so good but the hotel soon resolved our disappointment.
So give it a go while you can!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gilesy0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Gilesy0804,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel.

Please allow me to personally thank you for your positive comment about the hotel which you felt was nice and of a very high standard.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel opened recently (early 2013 I think) and so everything is really new, really clean and works perfectly. Take a look at the photos on trip advisor as these are a perfect reflection of what you'll get. The staff are excellent and are really determined to help out; the reception team, concierge and porters are all worthy of a mention.

We had a one bedroom suite on the 23rd floor which offered stunning views and also gave us access to the Coral Lounge. A very tranquil setting on the 24th floor with great views and complementary drinks and canapés. An hour here is a perfect end to any day. Style and unassuming service.

The location is great, just 10 mins from the nearest metro station. Taxis are cheap, however, should you prefer that option.

There is building work nearby, but these are not a problem. To be honest, you'd struggle to find anywhere in Dubai more than 100m from a crane!

Breakfast is exemplary, with a huge selection on offer and is one of the best we've had anywhere in the World.

Our only area for criticism were the evening meals which were nowhere near as good as the breakfasts. The Brazilian restaurant cooks joints of meat over an open flame and then carves these at your table. However, in an air-conditioned room this cools down rapidly. Put it onto cold plates and you're looking at meat that is barely luke warm.

Finally, without wishing to cause any offence to anyone, you might want to think about whether a visit in Ramadan is appropriate. All of the eateries and coffee shops in the Malls are closed, as is the pool bar at this hotel.

Alll in all, a good choice that is strongly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Aggiehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Aggiehols,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Ocean View Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I was happy to know that you would recommend the hotel! Please allow me to personally thank you for taking the time to detail your positive comments about the hotel’s accessible location, the service that you received, the food served during breakfast which you found to be exemplary and has a lot of variety, the rooms which you have kindly mentioned was stunning, as well as the Coral Lounge that you enjoyed.

I appreciate you taking the time to offer your comments, and as such your welcomed feedback has been shared with our Executive Chef for review.

It was truly moving to read your exceptional praise for our associates who looked after you, whom you felt were excellent and helpful. I will personally ensure that your compliments are shared with them.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future, and once again thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us on TripAdvisor.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at The Ocean View Hotel for 5 nights beginning of June and we would highly recommend this hotel!! It was our Wedding Anniversary so when we arrived at our Hotel Room we were greeted by a delicious chocolate cake with a message Happy Wedding Anniversary across the plate. It was such a lovely touch!
First of all the location is superb, located right in the Jumeriah Beach Residence also known as the JBR The Walk. This is by far the best place to stay in if planning a trip to Dubai as there is a great selection of restaurants dotted along The Walk and fasntastic for people watching also. There is such a great buzz around this area at night time and if you are a car fanatic you will be guaranteed to see some amazing cars cruising along The Walk.
The Ocean View Hotel just opened in Dec 2012 and has a beautiful modern and contemporary feel to it. The hotel rooms are very spacious and all have sea views and spacious balconies. We were Half Board so we got to enjoy some wonderful cuisine at Fogo Vivo which is a delicious Brazilian Steakhouse and Le Rivage which is a beautifully decorated French Style Buffet Restaurant. The food is amazing at both restaurants and both offer such a fantastic choice of food! Breakfast in the morning was served at Le Rivage, breakfast was outstanding each morning and again a great selection of food on offer.
Staff at the Hotel were very friendly, polite and very professional during our stay.
There is a lovely pool on the third floor of the hotel with plenty of sunbeds and a great pool bar. The beach is located across the street from the hotel but you can simply take the lift down from the pool area to the street level and stroll 3 minutes to the beach. If you decide to go to the beach the Hotel provide their guests with a beach bag which will include beach mats, umbrella and beach towels.
The hotel is located only 10 minutes walk to the closest Dubai Metro stop which I have to say is very easy to use as there are only 2 lines, a Red and Green Line. Taxis are extremely cheap to use in Dubai. The Hotel do provide complimentary shuttles to all the main Shopping Malls which is very handy.
We will definitely return to this hotel again as it ticks all the right boxes!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel.

It was great to read your first impressions about the hotel and its facilities which you have kindly mentioned were beautiful and modern, the rooms which you found to be spacious, the large balcony that has a sea view, the amenities available at the swimming pool area that you enjoyed, as well as the hotel’s location which you felt was superb and accessible. I was happy to know that you also enjoyed the half-board package that you opted for, as well as the selection of food served in Fogo Vivo and Le Rivage.

It was truly moving to read your exceptional praise for our associates who looked after you, whom you felt were friendly, polite and very professional. I will personally ensure that your compliments are shared with them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only, as it was a weekend getaway.
The rooms were very clean and spacious. They also looked very modern and cool.
The view was great, overlooking the Jumeirah palm.
The staff were also very polite and helpful.
The location is pretty good, since it's at the end of the JBR walk, with most coffee shops within walking distance.
The only downside was that there seems to be construction work opposite the hotel which kind of ruins the view a bit, but there were no construction noises at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear amin85,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please allow me to personally thank you for taking the time to detail your positive comments about the hotel which you have kindly mentioned offered a great value for money, the hotel’s accessible location, as well as the rooms which you found to be very clean and spacious.

I do appreciate your positive comments with regards to my team whom you felt were very polite and helpful. I will definitely ensure that these compliments are passed on to them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a sparkling new hotel located one block from the beach at the Jumeriah Beach Residence and at the start of "The Walk" that is luxurious without the high price tag. The location is perfect for those individuals that want to stay at "The Walk" and the beach. The lobby is modern with high ceilings, sophisticated decor and friendly staff. The rooms are large and comfortable, featuring a flat screen television, crisp duvets, a mini bar, bath robes, a desk and sunk-in bath tub. Rooms also have large balconies that overlook the beach and pool area.

We stayed on a lower flower (10th floor), but we did not hear any noise from the construction that is happening all around the hotel (the construction is going on 24 hours a day).

This was our first time in Dubai, and we chose this hotel in this location because it seemed like a good home base for first timers. We determined, however, that this may not be the best location to stay at. "The Walk" is good to experience once, but after that, there's no need to go back. It's a several long stretch filled with numerous restaurants, but most of them are touristy chain restaurants, several of which are available in the U.S. So there was nothing authentic or unique about the area. And you can't see the beach from "The Walk" because it's a block back and there are huge cranes that stand between "The Walk" and the beach. So it's not particularly scenic. There is also horrible traffic in the Jumeriah Beach Residence, and it can't take 10+ minutes just to get out of the area in a taxi to the main streets. So keep this in mind when you are going anywhere. The Jumeriah Beach Residence is a bit land locked, so it is a hard place to access generally.

But if you are going to stay in this location, this is a good choice and the best value of all of the hotels in this area..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tapnmel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Tapnmel23,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to read about your first impressions of the hotel and its facilities, in particular the lobby which you found to be modern with sophisticated décor. You have also kindly mentioned that the rooms were large and comfortable with a balcony that has nice view, and please allow me to thank you for your positive comments about the room amenities that you enjoyed.

Your positive comments with regards for my team whom you felt were friendly, were very much appreciated. I will definitely ensure that these compliments are passed on to them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 4 night in July 2013 and apart from the construction sites all around and soaring heat we did have a relaxing break, reasons for not getting 5 points.
Food, room and staff were all very good. Could not use the beech as the sea was hotter than a bath but Hotel's small pool was refreshing. Part of the Jebel Ali Hotels so you can use the better situated beech using the free shuttle. Remember Drinks are not cheep in Hotels always take some water and get Free ice in the glass to stop it from boiling!
Food is very good and the vast selection should satisfy most people and then use the gym to burn some of it off.
The draught Stella in the restaurant was top notch and worth £6 a pint. Water is your best friend.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. See view means construction view but this is the same in most hotels in Dubai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sydkeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc V, Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Sydkeyne,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please allow me to personally thank you for taking the time to detail your positive comments about the hotel’s accessible location, the complimentary shuttle bus service, the gym, the swimming pool which you found to be refreshing, as well as the selection of food and beverage which you have kindly mentioned were very good and top notch. I was also pleased to read that you had a chance to visit our sister property.

Your positive comments with regards to my team, whom you felt were very good, were very much appreciated. I will definitely ensure that these compliments are passed on to them.

Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Marc Voller
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#113 of 556 in Dubai
2,824 reviews
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#69 of 556 in Dubai
3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Ramada Plaza Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#136 of 556 in Dubai
4,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Ocean View Hotel

Address: The Walk, Al Mamsha Street, 27 | Dubai Marina, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $170 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JA Ocean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city’s only “four-star” beach hotel has 342 rooms and suites with private balconies overlooking the Arabian Gulf’s blue waters. Several restaurants and bars, interconnecting rooms and a children’s club provide the perfect haven for families. In addition to a health club and spa, there is also an infinity pool just steps from Jumeirah beach and access to the private beach at Jebel Ali Golf Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your JA Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing