We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JA Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #65 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having just returned from Dubai for a nice relaxing way to start the year, I cannot say thank you enough to the team at the Ocean View Hotel.

From check in, to be greeted with a refreshing drink and canapes after a 7 hour flight from the UK was just the start I wanted. This hotel only just opened before Christmas and was expection the normal teething problems, but there were none. The team were professional from Reception all the way through to Housekeepers and nothing was too much trouble.

I am hoping to visit again later this year and will be sure to stay with you again, thank you and I wish you a very successful 2013.

Room Tip: upgrade yourself to a Junior Suite
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank theadmiral46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear theadmiral46,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read your review, and I am delighted to hear your positive comments with regards to my team who looked after you during your stay with us, whom you found to be professional and that nothing was too much trouble! I will definitely ensure that your kind appreciation and compliments are shared with them.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley-Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,758)
There are newer reviews for JA Ocean View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,610 - 3,616 of 4,762 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just returned from a week's stay at the Ocean View,we were slightly worried about booking a 4 star hotel in the midst of all the 5* plus hotels in Dubai,but we needn't have worried,it was a 5* experience all the way.The staff in particular were so lovely,they couldn't do enough for us and were always so friendly and helpful.We upgraded to a one bedroom suite as we had our daughter with us,well worth doing as you also get access to the club lounge on the 24th floor-we had breakfast in there each morning,they provided complimentary refreshments during the day including afternoon tea complete with scones and clotted cream.They also had Happy hour from 6p.m-8p.m serving complimentary drinks (wine/beer/spirits) and canapes.We were on half board and really didn't need to eat or drink out at all if we didn't want to.It was our daughter's birthday whilst we were there and we arrived back to our room to find a cake and she was given a glass of champagne that evening in the bar-it was such a nice personal touch.We enjoyed using the facilities at the sister hotel (Jebel Ali) which has a fantastic private beach and several pools,there is a free shuttle service,but we chose to use a taxi instead as taxis in Dubai are very cheap,however we were pleasantly surprised by the public beach opposite the hotel.The hotel pool is nice,but quite shady,which will be great when it gets hotter.The hotel decor is contemporary and our bathroom was huge and luxurious with Elemis products in abundance!The restaurant seemed to have some teething problems with reservations,but food was great and top quality.Location was perfect-just at the end of 'The Walk' so lots of shops/restaurants and hotels nearby ( We enjoyed the bar at the Amwaj Rotana across the road from Ocean View.) Just can't fault this hotel-fantastic value for money and if you are a family of 4 (if the kids are under 16) then the one bedroom suite is a great option-highly recommend and we will be returning,thank you so much to all the staff who really make the hotel!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a club room or suite ( especially if you are a family) and enjoy the perks of the Coral l...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Whitehouseq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear girlsontourLondon,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I was very pleased to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us! I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel in particular the decoration, location, value for money, facilities and amenities.

I do also appreciate your positive comments with regards to my team, whom you felt were so lovely, always friendly and helpful. I will personally ensure that these compliments are passed on to them.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future, and once again thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us on TripAdvisor.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the Ocean View Hotel on the 15th Jan for 4 nights for my 40th Birthday, I have stayed in many hotels and this is by far the nicest hotel with great location!!, staff are friendly and attentive, rooms are spacious and immaculately kept. food was lovely and catered for every nationality. We had a free room upgrade and also upgraded to half board!, My birthday here was the best present ever, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Dubai. Dubai is clean and the best city ever, a shoppers paradise, visit the Burj Khalkifa and the fountains they are a must!! A massive thank you to Ocean View Hotel and staff for a memorable stay, will defo be back there soon Mr & Mrs C Thomas

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view, we stayed on the 20th Floor,
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Ner2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Ner2505,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

Firstly, I would like to wish you a belated “Happy Birthday!” Being a newly opened hotel, I was very pleased to read that you consider us to be by far the nicest hotel of the many hotels that you have stayed in. I would like to personally thank you for your kind words regarding the spaciousness and cleanliness of the rooms, as well as the menu selection and variety.

I will also definitely ensure to pass on your compliments to my team whom you felt were friendly, attentive and have made your stay memorable one.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and i were delighted, when were arrived at the Ocean View hotel, that the pictures did actually for once, reflect reality! We loved the funky decor vibe, very light and airy with white sofa's, lime greens and blues - beautiful. Our room had a lovely Sea view, not the usual side on view and was spotless. We've been going to Dubai for 10 years and stayed in hotels like One and Only, Jumeirah Beach, Sofitel etc., but have never had lobster or oysters on any buffet menu - Le Rivage was superb. We also went up to Whistlers on the 25th floor which is a delight for wine, cheese and cigars lovers. All the staff were very warm and welcoming - with nothing too much trouble during our 12 night stay. They were helpful when we were looking for places to go to and interested in our exploits when we got back and the beach at Jebel Ali was beautiful and well worth the trip. On New Year's Eve we joined everyone on the deck for the mulled wine and the fantastic Dubai fireworks. Lastly their 'Scottish' sports bar, Girders was great with fun staff. It is very relaxed with great gastro pub grub - fish, chips and mushy peas - YUM. From start to finish a joy - GO!

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all the rooms were great with no noise disturbance. Light, airy, clean, gre...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Teri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Teri S,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

It was lovely to read your review, and I am happy to know that you and your husband were delighted to see that the hotel was up to your expectations from the photos that you saw prior to arrival. I was pleased to read your positive comments about the decorations and ambience of the hotel, the cleanliness of the room and the view, as well as to my team whom you felt was very warm, welcoming and helpful.

I was delighted to know that you had a chance to visit some of our restaurants Le Rivage, The Whistler and Girders, which you have thoroughly enjoyed.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here from 27dec 2012 to 31st dec 2012 on business.
first impressions were that it was a very clean very modern hotel with clean flowing lines and staircase.
my stay was for bed and brakfast which was taken in the downstairs restaurant there was a plentiful supply of food including proper pork bacon and sausages(a big plus for dubai).
my room was large bright and clean with elemsis products given free in the bathroom.
Although there is a large public beach on your doorstep the hotel (with 1 days notice) will provide a free shuttle bus and free use of their sister resort hotel "the Jebel Ali" which has numerous pools with swim up bars and it's own private beach.
The bar at the ocean view hotel is called "Girders" and it has a great happy hour that serves pints of draught "PERONI" at just 16 dirhams, yes thats right 16 DIRHAMS!! any one who knows Dubai will tell you that is a seriously good price and the happy hour runs from 4.00pm to 8.00 pm which is pretty good length and there are also other drinks that are even cheaper, this bar will become an insitution on the walk where drinks in other hotels are about 35 DIRHAMS.
The hotel is in a fantastic location and is ideal for business or pleasure use i can heartely recommend this hotel and although it states it is only 4 star ,it is nothing of the sort as it provided 5 star services and accomodation.
hope this helps.

Room Tip: always ask about upgrade to club room if less than 300 dirhams a night it is worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank tonymacworcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear tonymacworcester,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us, and it was a pleasure to read your feedback. I was happy to read your very positive comments in relation to your first impressions of the hotel, which you found to be very modern in design.

As a newly opened hotel, we value all feedback which is welcomed so that we can improve and make any necessary changes in these early stages. It was great to read that you enjoyed Girders our pub in particular the happy hour, and that you feel we cater for both business and leisure guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked our Dubai holiday last minute from DialAFlight and were offered a hotel that no-one seemed to have heard of or stayed at. Internet research revealed that the hotel had only just been built and completed, and was opening its doors to the first batch of guests on 22nd Dec 2012- hence we were obviously a bit apprehensive as we were due to check-in on the 24th Dec as one of the first guests. This was either going to go very well – or very badly!

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with smiles and hellos by all the staff, accompanied by a very welcome soft drink and snacks for us weary travelers. We had requested an early check-in, and the reception desk was extremely efficient and helpful in checking us in as swiftly as possible. As we were the first few visitors to the hotel they kindly upgraded us from a Superior Sea View Room to a Club Room on the 23rd floor – which was clean, roomy and bright, with a wonderful view of the Palm Jumeirah and The Atlantis shimmering in the distance. The Club room also gave us access to the Executive Lounge on the 24th floor, where complimentary food and refreshments were available throughout the day. The hotel had Gym and Spa facilities which we did not try (although they looked very good), but the kids loved the heated pool on the 3rd floor and used it regularly (beach kits were also offered to guests staying at the hotel).

Breakfast in the Le Rivage restaurant comprised of a variety of foods to cater to all tastes, from Arabian breakfasts to a good old English fry-up, Le Rivage had it all. We even tried lunch (also available there) one afternoon, which was absolutely amazing, with so many different food stations; it was a real food lover’s paradise.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location, at the end of the ‘The Walk’ in the Jumeirah Beach Residence (JBR) area not far from the Dubai Marina. It was serviced many times throughout the day by complimentary hotel shuttles to all the major malls, and other tourist locations, as well as a shuttle to their sister resort (Jabel Ali Golf Resort) where you could use their private beach. Ocean View it-self has access to the public beach, only 5 mins walk away. We had not booked half-board at the hotel, but in some ways were glad we didn’t, as we found most of the major restaurants had branches along ‘The Walk’, so no matter what type of food we were after, we could just amble down The Walk and take our pick.

The closest Metro Station (Jumeirah Lake Towers) is only 10 mins walk away along the Sheikh Zahid Road, which connects the hotel to most of the major Malls and tourist spots, and Dubai Marina is also only 10 mins walk from the hotel.

The staff at the hotel were a delight to talk to, and always helpful and attentive, especially Mr Ali, the concierge, Ingrid in the restaurant, Sayed and Angel in the Coral Lounge, Hashim on the Experience desk, and most importantly, the overall boss and man-in-charge Mr. William Harley-Fleming, who was always available in the foyer for a chat with guests All this led to a delightful, stress-free holiday which unfortunately was over much too quickly and we were very sad to leave having met some wonderful people that made the experience so much better.

Room Tip: Club room gives access to Executive Lounge serving breakfast, complimentary cakes and sandwiches bet...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank farandzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear farandzar,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I was pleased to read that we overcame your apprehensions about staying with us being a recently opened hotel. I do appreciate your positive comments with regards to your arrival experience, as well as to your room, the view, hotel’s location, facilities and amenities available in the hotel.

I was pleased to hear that you had the chance to dine in one of our restaurants, Le Rivage, which you have kindly mentioned that the food served during breakfast, offered a great selection to cater all tastes.

It was also very nice to read that you felt we personally acknowledged you as one of our first guests to stay with us, which I would like to personally thank you for highlighting. I will ensure to pass on your compliments with regards to my team whom you felt were a delight to talk to, always helpful and very attentive.

I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor, and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ocean View Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ocean view hotel is a brand new hotel, opened on 23rd December 2012. We checked in the early morning of 24th December. Checking in was smooth & easy, serving us with a nice cool drink before going to our room. The rooms were a nice size over looking the sea. The breakfast also was very good, a vast selection of starters and a full cooked breakfast was served, waiters serving you to a excellent 5 star standard.We had dinner on Christmas night at the hotels restaurant the food was great, we had fresh grilled platter with all the Christmas trimmings.The concierge staff were always there to help and kept us in touch of what new was happening in the hotel and around the area for the Christmas celebrations. Mr Ali, was like our personal assistant, he was very attentive and served very well, also the front house Manager Elena, whom looked after us on our stay at the hotel, Elena made our say even more special by allowing us to go up to the Coral lounge on the 24th floor, the view was great, as well as the service. We met another member of staff by the name of Angel, he was a real angel, he served us with such passion, and dedication, he really enjoyed his job, there was nothing to hard for the entire team to do for us. We will definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely vacation choose the Ocean view hotel Dubai. The hotel also offers a complimentary bus service, several times a day, to various locations, to the Dubai Mall, Mall of the Emirates, also they pick you back up all free of cost. This service saves you a lot of money. The bus also takes you to a sister hotel Jebi Ali beach & spa resort. On departure it felt quite sad, as my daughter did not want to leave. The entire staff was very nice and made our entire stay at the Ocean View Dubai a very memorable one.Thank you to the entire team.

Paul & Karen.

Room Tip: The coral lounge is on the 24th floor, where you get some great snacks and drinks throughout the d...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank karen19Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wpchf, General Manager at JA Ocean View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Paul and Karen,

Thank you for your sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the recently opened Ocean View Hotel.

I was delighted read your review, and I am happy to know that your arrival experience was smooth and easy. As a newly opened hotel, I do also appreciate your kind words of recommendation to other travelers, as a great choice for a lovely vacation.
I would like to thank you for your positive comments with regards to the hotel rooms, as well as to the food served during breakfast which you felt offered a wide selection.

Your personal acknowledgement with regards to my team who looked after you has been shared with them, and I was so happy to read that it made your stay a memorable one.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Ocean View Hotel in the near future, and once again thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us on TripAdvisor.


Yours sincerely,

William Harley Fleming
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Hilton Dubai The Walk
#111 of 554 in Dubai
2,771 reviews
The Marina
Amwaj Rotana
Amwaj Rotana
#66 of 554 in Dubai
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Ramada Plaza Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#138 of 554 in Dubai
4,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Ocean View Hotel

Address: The Walk, Al Mamsha Street, 27 | Dubai Marina, Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai 26500, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $136 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JA Ocean View Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The city’s only “four-star” beach hotel has 342 rooms and suites with private balconies overlooking the Arabian Gulf’s blue waters. Several restaurants and bars, interconnecting rooms and a children’s club provide the perfect haven for families. In addition to a health club and spa, there is also an infinity pool just steps from Jumeirah beach and access to the private beach at Jebel Ali Golf Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JA Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing