We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dim sums”
Review of Royal China

Royal China
Ranked #713 of 9,657 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Good dim sums”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

I had lunch at Royal China in the DIFC and it was a good experience overall. The dim sums were good but the selection was fairly limited compared to Royal China in london. The service was good and the prices were OK for the quality of the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    53
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Chinese in DIFC”
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

While Royal China is somewhat away from the rest of the DIFC restaurants its still a convenient place for lunch. The dumpling variety is one of the best in Dubai and thy are great. The shrimp dumplings just melt in your mouth.

The wonton soup was great as well as the sechuan chicken. Good service, good food and good location. Its a winning formula.

Helpful?
Thank Lebmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food But Not Great Service”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Situated at a very unlikely location with good ambiance and interiors. I happened to go there for my post B'day dinner with my partner as we love Chinese food. The hostess greeted us coldly and despite mentioning its a couple reservation gave a table right in the middle of two groups (restaurant was not at all busy!!). When requested for a change of table the reaction of the hostess was unpleasant. We picked a section which was not occupied and were hesitantly allowed to sit there with a notice that we might not get full attention as its just us in that particular zone of the restaurant!!! Didn't expect that for a simple need of privacy. Food was alright but a little salty for our palate. Ordered chicken dumplings which was too salty and other mains not the exciting as well. Would recommend only if you are going there for the 1st time but a repeated visit highly doubtful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jorin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best of the best”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I was fortunate to dine for lunch with a very special friend who is well known at the restuarant and as such the chef pulled out all the stops and a feast was presented. The food and company were the best in Dubai and to be honest I would go as far as to say that the Royal China in Dubai (DIFC) is the best in the UAE.

The shreeded beef, prawn dishes and shreeded duck and veg were the best I have eaten and I have eaten everywhere.

It is really quite simple, if you enjoy the best Catonise style chinese and are in the UAE then book a table, you will not be dissapointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanlambotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent chinese in unexpected location”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Royal China despite it office block location is an excellent restaurat with good design and atmosphere. Service is with attention to details and very efficient.

But of course I mostly like food. I only got the tasting of fresh dim sum - seafood and veg option - total 8 pieces, both crystal prawn and scallop are excellent, but all of them very good. I always take won ton soup - mostly because of prawn won ton. Stock depends on the day and is quite spicy.

I always also enjoy their kalian with ginger - tender, nutty in taste green steams with delicate flowers.

Ginger and soy seabass filet (when available) is very good, though a little small for 120Dhms. But good option is garlic and chili prawns. Also I tasted calamari with salt and red peper, good but requires vegies to break fried monothony.

One of nice touches is tea selection. I am a great fan of oolong tea and they have good selection - more smokey and also delicate, flowery varietes. And tea at 35Dhms is an economic choice as they keep refilling the kettle (traditional chinese way of serving tea, also good show).

And don't be surprised by the bill, you are unlikely to end up below 200Dhms per person

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JakubWarszawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Royal China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing