We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best, but it's Ok.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel
Ranked #483 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the best, but it's Ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was visiting Dubai with my wife to attend GITEX 2013.
All the hotels were booked or over-valued. So our only choice was Sun and Sands Downtown, which was near metro Al-Rigga metro station.
The hotel personnel were friendly, the room was clean, the breakfast and lunch were acceptable too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moghaddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    22
    8
    21
See reviews for
15
8
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel .Hotel is 3 star and price is affordable compare to other 3 star hotels in this area. Hotel amenities is ok but customer service is different .I should say its wonderful .I never expected be facing such a warm face and very helpful guest services in this hotel. I booked one standard bed but they upgrade me to deluxe room for free .Receptionists in help desk always asking me for any help . Rest of hotel department very helpful as well .I need thanks to Mr. Belal and Mrs. Darshika and Mr. Kamran .They are wonderful Guest services team with amazing skill , they understanding English and very helpful .I stayed very comfort in this hotel with their such a wonderful guest service skill .I will stay here again and I will recommend this hotel to any one looking in Dubai downtown area .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went to this hotel with my family August 23 for 15 days at a nice hotel friendly stuff.
Not far from the air port in Deira city center a very good site you can find everything you want Shops, Child AREA TWO metro station near the hotel.
The room was not very big but this is enough for the family with the child TWO and they clean every day and I can say this 4-star hotel is really my child very happy.
have allot of facility free for guest ( internet,sauna,jac
Problem only have one restaurant and another CLOSE STILL IF THIS ONE will soon open would be great.
I will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: helpful room tips - "up floor" - "far from lift" - "street view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of the best hotels I've visited with my family. Me and my 2 kids loved the ambience . Special care was taken for my kids by the staffs. Always the staff were friendly and with smiling faces around.
In short our stay made our trip memorable..:-))

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samaira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

1- It is too noisy at nights because of two bar and first two levels of hotel
2- The breakfast saloon is too dark and not proper for starting new days
3- The room is enough clean
4- The hotel located in deirah

Room Tip: Rooms on upper level maybe are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RMERP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was limited in hotel choice after an unexpected overnight stay in Dubai (in-transit) and ended up having to make do with the Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel. They charged a staggering £130 for staying in hotel which would be streched to even achieve '1 Star' on any scale. The Reception Area (even when I had to check in at 3:30am) was full of scantily dressed western women loitering with their predominantly arab partners. The reception area was messy (full of clutter that looked like it had been there for days), the (one) staff on duty clearly was in the wrong line of work and had '0' Service Delivery Skills. The room was smelly - a combination of smoke, old carpets and god knows what else. If I found myself in such a desperate situation again I'd prefer to stay on a bench in Dubai Airport rather than step foot in this place - AWEFUL!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.4 mi away
Sun & Sands Hotel
Sun & Sands Hotel
#447 of 544 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lavender Hotel Dubai
Lavender Hotel Dubai
#241 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun & Sky Al Rigga Hotel
Sun & Sky Al Rigga Hotel
#401 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Hotel
Comfort Inn Hotel
#279 of 544 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramee Guestline Hotel
Ramee Guestline Hotel
#440 of 544 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
#260 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel

Property: Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel
Address: Al Rigga Al Rigga Rd | Al Muraqqabat, PO Box 187168, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun & Sands Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing