We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If this is a 4 star hotel, I'll eat the mattress” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marco Polo Hotel
Ranked #234 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If this is a 4 star hotel, I'll eat the mattress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute based on its star rating. This is not a nice hotel. Paper thin walls, a windowless room, and a nightclub a floor underneath us that kept us awake all night made this hotel experience one we'd prefer to forget. Pay a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else if you want to have a comfortable stay. The location also leaves much to be desired if you plan on doing anything within the city. The only reason I rated this hotel POOR instead of TERRIBLE is the fact that the staff at the reception desk during check-in were friendly. Having said that, I placed several calls about the noise level during our stay, and was blown off each time, so the service overall was, much like the rest of the hotel experience, underwhelming.

Room Tip: I'm assuming rooms on higher floors have a more tolerable noise level. Ask to switch to a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings!

We are deeply saddened to note that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused you and would like you to know that the concerned department heads have been alerted to the issues you raised.

As for our location in Deira, yes we are in the older part of the city. The old Dubai of the spice souks, gold souks, the Abras and many cafeterias sprinkled around Deira serving authentic Arabic coffee and shisha pipes with your choice of flavor. Many choose our hotel because of our proximity to the airport and the local surrounding culture. The new Dubai is just a 15-20 minute taxi ride away or you may even take the Metro train as we are close to the Salah Al din Station. It is really a matter of preference.

Nevertheless we are very thankful that you took the time to write us a review. Feedback such as yours is also important to us to ensure that the standards of service are maintained at the best possible levels.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    261
    118
    37
    27
See reviews for
112
256
60
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Marco Polo Hotel, in a one-liner, is a great 'Value for Money' hotel. We were greeted with a welcome drink, the check-in was swift and the guy came alongwith us to explain us about the room and all the chargeable stuff therein. We stayed for 4 nights and we had a fantastic sleep, despite the fact that the hotel was located nearby the Airport and the sound of flights taking off can be heard if the window shades are opened.

The hotel is clean and is maintained really well. We did not use the spa or the swimming pool, so can't comment about them. However, I observed that there are no poolshades at the swimming pool, which I think is a discouraging thing for swimmers, as the temperature is more than 45 degrees during August.

The location is excellent, as it is just 15 minutes from/to the airport. There are a lot of super markets, restaurants and various shops within walking distance (wear a cap and wear cotton due to the heat and humidity). The Salah-Al-Din station and the Union station are within walking distance to catch the metro train.

The hotel staff was friendly and greeted us every time we passed by. And gosh, the breakfast needs a special mention. There was an unending variety and we were literally spoilt for choices. The buffet breakfast had something to suit all kinds of tastes and nationalities.

Overall, a very good hotel and can be recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Prashant,

Thank you very much for your kind and generous review. Your appreciation of the hotel, the staff and most especially the breakfast has elated not only the management but also all staff who had the privilege of serving you. It is our goal to provide value for money accommodations and services without sacrificing guests’ comfort and we are very glad that you appreciate this effort. You have certainly inspired us more to continue the quest in finding better ways to serve all our guests.

Our location of being close to the airport and metro stations is quite convenient for all travelers who want to experience both old and new Dubai. Marco Polo being in the old district with all the traditional sights nearby would be just right to truly have a feel of the Arabic culture. To go to New Dubai, the ultra modern Metro train, which are so easy to use will take you there in a whiz.

Once again, thank you and we hope we get the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights in August and found that it was good value for money and was clean, comfortable. Its a very good location given that its a short taxi run to the airport, and just a five minute walk (wear a cap due to the heat) to the Metro. All easy. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and worked hard to get us into a room as quickly as possible. Also you get internet in the room. One minor gripe was that the pool area is quite small and sometimes it can be difficult to get a sun-lounger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoniadis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Antoniadis G,

We are very glad to hear of your wonderful experience staying at the Marco Polo Hotel. Value for money accommodations without sacrificing guest comfort is our top goal and to hear from you that we accomplished it has sent all our spirits soaring. It is feedback such as yours that makes us strive harder to always go the extra mile for all our guests.

We apologize for the sun lounger shortage and will definitely work on fixing this problem as soon as possible.

It was our pleasure to welcome and serve you and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in the high season of Eid when almost all 4 and 5 star hotels were fully booked or had exorbitant rates. It was a good stay overall.

Good things:
Value for money
Relatively good-sized rooms
Modern furniture and decorations
Good breakfast
Friendly staff and good quick service
Great car valet services

Not so good things:
Very Cold room. Me and my family all went down with cold/flu in the end of visit (August)
Location is far from new Dubai

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billo_TheGrtWrldTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Marco Polo in the early hours of the morning and as we expected, our room was not ready for us. The wonderful people at the Marco Polo took our luggage and sent us up to the restaurant for a complimentary breakfast. After breakfast, we had a short wait then we were in our room and the unexpected surprise of a complimentary lunch to make up for any inconvenience caused. The room was large, the bed very comfortable the air conditioning very welcome after the 43 degree temperatures on the street. I don't know enough superlatives to describe the staff and the service that we received, outstanding somehow does not do the hotel any justice. We'll be going back to Dubai and we'll be staying at the Marco Polo, its a seven star service hotel at a 3 star price.

Room Tip: Just ask at the desk for a good room, you'll get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Michael,

It was a pleasure having you with us at Marco Polo Hotel Dubai for the first time and I would like to sincerely thank you for your comments of appreciation which shared with us the pleasure and joy you experienced during your stay with us. It is always very rewarding to receive such positive feedback, as we continually strive to improve and go beyond our guest’s expectations.

It is gracious guests like you that inspires and motivates us all to always offer our best. Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights beginning of July and found the hotel welcoming, clean and good value. Were picked up from airport in private taxi and whisked straight to hotel getting there about 0500 We were greeted politely, checked in speedily and advised that check in time was 14:00. There was a fifteen second conversation with my wife when the member of staff discovered he was wrong. Check in time was now PRONTO! and it was. Room was very good and after a brief nap we went out and about. Had breakfast both days which was excellent. Had one evening meal in the pub which was first class and the second in the Tex-Mex restaurant which was even better. Steak would be acceptable in any UK hotel. Picked up as arranged on day of departure and whisked back to airport in style and air-conditioned comfort. One word of caution : our final night was the night before Ramadan ~ the locals have a bit of a go at letting their hair down ready for the holidays. It's a bit like what you would expect if Manchester United were playing Liverpool, England won the Ashes and Prince Philip finally got to speak his mind. Did not spoil our enjoyment at all. Thanks to all

Room Tip: Only reason sleep quality was average was due to partying for Ramadan. One night only - first night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome you to Dubai and we are quite delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Marco Polo Hotel Dubai, even if it was just for a 2 day stop over. Our 24 hour Check in is very convenient for transient travelers especially those catching the red eye. We do apologize for the slight misunderstanding at Reception and happy to note it was resolved immediately.
Thank you for all your kind comments on our rooms, prompt service, excellent breakfast as well as the meals and fun you had at our pub and restaurants. We are glad to be part of your Dubai experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights en-route to Asia. It's very close to the airport and only a short Taxi ride to Dubai mall etc. We went to the Atlantis waterpark too and it cost us about 70 dirham in a taxi. All the staff were really helpful and we were served a refreshing glass of juice as we checked in at 4am! Very welcome in the Dubai humidity! Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Couldn't fault it really for the price! It might not be as glamorous as other Dubai hotels but its a great value option!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraDee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Ms SandraDee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Marco Polo Hotel. Value for money accommodations without sacrificing guest comfort is our aim and glad to hear from you that we achieved this.

We are glad you made us a part of your trip and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.5 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#64 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Deira
Ramada Deira
#188 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#113 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#105 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hues Boutique Hotel
Hues Boutique Hotel
#235 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hotel
Address: Al Muteena St | PO Box 25570, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#117 Family Hotel in Dubai
#161 Business Hotel in Dubai
#199 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Dubai’s business and leisure district in Deira, the Marco Polo Hotel offers quick and friendly service to business and leisure travellers. A sleek, classy experience of primary hospitality filled with warm ambiance lies within the glass curtain facade. The hotel has a host of premium outlets that takes you on a culinary journey while the recreational facilities and culture of hospitality helps you unwind and enjoy a relaxed holiday. Bon voyage on a silk route to hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Marco Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Dubai
Marco Polo Dubai
Hotel Marco Polo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing