We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't drink the water”
Review of Marco Polo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marco Polo Hotel
Ranked #251 of 549 Hotels in Dubai
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't drink the water”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I guess you get what you pay for. This is within the lower price range in Dubai, but I will not stay here again. First, the water was barely hot enough for a shower, which was not nice after a 14 hour flight. When I checked out, I was charged $3.50 for a bottle of water in the room that was clearly marked "With our compliments". After arguing with the front desk manager, who insisted it was a chargable item, I paid it because it was only a few bucks. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waffie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, Vice President at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very sad to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at our establishment. We take our guests comfort seriously and always strive to make sure this is achieved. On the matter re the shower, the hot water is generated through a geyser in the bathroom which is switched on by the bellman when he checks you into the room. As for the bottled water, the water placed on the minibar has a complimentary tag on it whereas the Oxygen water placed on the writing desk is clearly marked with the price. We are sorry about the misunderstanding and we are taking steps to ensure how this can be avoided with future guests.

Sincerely,
Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    267
    122
    40
    28
See reviews for
121
262
60
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We stayed at Marco Polo from 13th - 16th March for a 3 day stopover on our way to Sri Lanka. Its not too far from the airport (about 20 mins by car) so is quite convenient.

We arrived at about 8am and were able to get into our room more or less straight away which was good after an overnight flight. Staff were very nice & helpfull. Our room was nice enough, quite modern with a large flat screen t.v and really comfy queen size bed. The Bathroom was quite small, it was ready for a bit of a re-do as the grouting round the bath etc and the decor had seen better days, it was very clean though & the shower was really powerfull and we had plenty of hot water. We had asked for a room away from the nightclub as we had read on some reviews that you get the noise late at night, we were granted this and got a room at the back overlooking the pool. However we got aircraft noise as its on the landing / take off route - not a major problem if you have earplugs which luckily we did so so pack some - the aircraft noise goes on through the night.

The pool gets hardly any sun so this is not the ideal hotel if you intend to lay round the pool getting a tan, the pool is nice though and the sunlungers round it are comfy so its very pleasant to just sit out and read there for an hour. Pool towels are provided.

We ate in the Fox & Hounds Pub in the hotel on our last evening, the food was nice and is reasonably priced, alcohol is quite expensive (by UK standards ) I believe thats pretty much the norm in Dubai though. They do have offers on drinks but we were out and about most of the time so only went in the bar for a nightcap and the one meal.

Breakfast was nice, plenty to choose from.

By Dubai standards the Marco Polo is probalby not the flashest hotel, however for what we wanted (a busy 3 day stopover) it was perfectly good. Its about 10 / 15 minutes walk from Union Square metro station which is an ok walk if its not too hot so from that point of veiw its very convenient. It cost us less than £5 for 2 all day metro tickets.

If we went to Dubai again we would probalby just go there for or 5 so days (not as part of a stopover) in which case we would problaby choose a more prestegious hotel in the central area, however if we were on a flying visit or another stopover we would be happy to stay at the Marco Polo again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lil-miss-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I had a wonderful stay here. The rooms are trendy, very modern, clean and properly maintained. Beds are very comfortable; bathroom & kitchenette is very convenient. I stayed for 5 days and am very happy with the overall service. Staff is warm, helpful & guided us with sightseeing & modes of transport in Dubai. Restaurant is very nice, I enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Room service is very good.
Minor hiccups:- I wish the hotel would provide good exchange rates like in the malls. Also, the hotel should provide all day free shuttle service to Metro Station, just makes it convenient for tourists.
I will totally stay there again & recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, General Manager at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you with us at Marco Polo Hotel Dubai and I would like to sincerely thank you for your comments of appreciation which shared with us the pleasure you experienced during your stay with us. It is always very rewarding to receive such positive feedback, as we continually strive to improve and go beyond our guest’s expectations.

We would also like to thank you for taking the time in providing quality feedback on the various areas within the hotel like the exchange rates and shuttle service. I will be sure to discuss it with our team. Your comments are most important; to ensure that the standards of service continually drive first class quality throughout.

Once again, we thank you for your kind and wonderful comments and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Great hotel with excellent customer service. I was very impressed with the rooms and the facilities. would definitely stay there again! The only thing i was not impressed with was I got food poisoning on my second night at the hotel after eating at the chinese restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginthetropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, General Manager at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the kind words and praise you so generously bestowed on us. It warms our heart to hear that you found our newly refurbished rooms impressive and customer service excellent.
Your experience after eating at our Chinese restaurant though has caused us great concern. We will conduct an inquiry on the matter with our Hygiene officer and Executive Chef . We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and will immediately come back to you with our findings.

Best Regards,

Sunil Marya
Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed 2 nights as part of a longer holiday, Hotel very welcoming, we arrived at 08.00hrs and were given our room straight away and told that as we were leaving early on the last day we could go for breakfast then instead. Breakfast very nice. Rooms lovely, bed very comfortable, bathroom ok have had better but the rest of the hotel really made up for it.
Pub in hotel very nice, Hi to Maria who was lovely and really made our stay.
Indian restaurant excellent.
Hotel a bit out of town but taxis really cheap, Dubai is amazing, lots to do and see.
Swimming pool really warm but doesn't seem to get much sun, We only swam at teatime so don't know about through the day.
Would definately reccomend this hotel and would stay there again.
Didn't experience any noise from disco or refurbishments.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, General Manager at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Madam,
I would like to thank you for your comments of appreciation which shared with us the pleasure you experienced during your stay with us. It is always very rewarding to receive such positive feedback, as we continually strive to improve and go beyond guest expectations.

It is part of our core values to have that "yes I can attitude " at all times and it is my pleasure to note that our team has achieved this from reading your review.

Once again, we thank you for your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The bed was really good but the bedroom was quite small !!!!
They try to charge us from the minibar when we didn't take anything from it !!!! And the bathtub wasn't clean at all and after a shower the water needed 10 min to empty the bath.... then no more thing to close the pipe and take a bath.
The personnel was friendly ...
It's better to take a taxis from the airport it's cheaper than to let the hotel organize it for you !!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPHDubai, General Manager at Marco Polo Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your inputs as they help us to ensure that the standards of our services are maintained at all times.

We are glad you liked our new beds as we have just recently finished refurbishing our guestrooms. Your comfort is of utmost importance to us that is why on the matter regarding the bathtub, the same has been attended to immediately by our engineering department as well as housekeeping.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and we look forward to serving you again the near future.

Warm regards,

Sunil Marya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I spent one night at the Marco Polo, on a short stopover. It was excellent value for money; my room was probably not one of the refurbished rooms, but was still very comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and efficient. I had dinner at the in-house Chinese restaurant which was excellent. Minor gripes: my room did not have internet access; towels are in need of replacement. Great restaurants in the vicinity (mainly Indian, and really great value). All in all good value for money, high standards of comfort and service and an OK location. I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.6 mi away
Landmark Grand Deira
Landmark Grand Deira
#250 of 549 in Dubai
538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.6 mi away
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
Mark Inn Hotel Deira
#273 of 549 in Dubai
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arabian Park Hotel
Arabian Park Hotel
#183 of 549 in Dubai
1,476 reviews
0.6 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#112 of 549 in Dubai
2,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hues Boutique Hotel
Hues Boutique Hotel
#254 of 549 in Dubai
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hotel
Address: Al Muteena St, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Dubai
#161 Business Hotel in Dubai
#209 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the centre of Dubai’s business and leisure district in Deira, the Marco Polo Hotel offers quick and friendly service to business and leisure travellers. A sleek, classy experience of primary hospitality filled with warm ambiance lies within the glass curtain facade. The hotel has a host of premium outlets that takes you on a culinary journey while the recreational facilities and culture of hospitality helps you unwind and enjoy a relaxed holiday. Bon voyage on a silk route to hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Marco Polo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Dubai
Marco Polo Dubai
Hotel Marco Polo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing