We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a face lift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
Ranked #205 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. First night was terrible, with lots of noises at night, some from inside the hotel, others from a building site across the road. We asked to be transferred to a quieter room the following day. Unfortunately the communication between front desk shifts is terrible and I had to become demanding before we were shifted. The room was quieter. Hygiene in the bathrooms was terrible, with poorly cleaned wash facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,131)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sands Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked 8 nights at the golden sands 3 as it was ideal for a family. When we arrived, the room was ok though there was a stale smell in the room. The bathroom is dated to the extent that even though it is for families, there was only a fixed shower that had one position and no flexible shower hose. There is a lot of dust that has been built up for months and never been clean. I had to speak to reception a couple of times and even then there was still dust to be seen. Overall whatever you pay, it should be clean. I will not be staying at this place again as it was very dirty.

Room Tip: Only come to this if you are not bothered about cleanliness.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed one night but the hotel was well located within very easy reach of the airport and local shops and supermarket. The apartment was fabulous and a bargain for the price they charged. Staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. The entrance to the block I was staying at was quite deceptive compared to the quality of the actual rooms in the apartment. Ideal to use as a base to explore the region given the cost is minimal.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank UKScientist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Golden Sands hotell is very suitable for a longtime stay. The rooms have a good size and are well equipped. The location is good - 15 mins walk to Al Fahidi Metro station and 15-20 mins walk to Bur Juman Metro Station. It is a short metro trip to Dubai Healthcare City near Dubai Creek Park which is good for walking and enjoying peace and nature.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arne29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The apartments offer value for money. Apartments are large and spacious. Although the furniture needs replacement and the bathrooms need renovation. I mean old bathtubs are passe and even children don't use it for that occasional foam bath. The linen and towels are clean. Kitchen is large and well equipped with most essentials utensils and cutlery. The aparthotel is located close to most Indian restaurants and the attractions in Burdubai and Deira. I would recommend this aparthotel to anybody who is travelling with family and needs to stay in a budget in Dubai.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at a higher level to get a good view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agarwala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Background: Golden Sands was developed by the Arenco property developers in the Mankhool area of Bur Dubai with about a dozen or more buildings from 20 yrs ago (at that time, bur dubai was the "new/hot" part of the city. Of all those buildings, only GS3 &10 are hotels rest are condos).

Still, Bur dubai is the more cosy part of town if you are South Asian...best kebabs: special ostadi restaurant nearby, old historic waterfront nearby, best buffet restaurant: al ibrahimi nearby, best indian snackfood: veg world nearby, best pashto afghani barbecue: ravi opp burjuman mall nearby....etc etc. Spinneys 400mtrs.

So given the location and given the crazy prices in dubai (prices in the city fluctuate like it was a stock market...truly scary n bizarre), this hotel is very popular, utilitarian, and a GREAT value for money....we got their junior 2br 2bath "suite" for $1k/week in the busy winter season. The junior 2br is really a 1br w the living room like a twin bedded studio apt and an extra master br! So not too glamorous but still the small kitchen managed brekfast and the washing machine worked. Rooms were clean. Dont expect full cable tv though.

PLUS POINTS:
*free wifi was fast and always up at all hours.
*happy lobby environment with 3 hi speed desktop pc's
*thrifty rent a car is in the lobby w hotel parking...you can see the car before you rent it
*location (but tricky to find...mankhool is like a maze).

GS10 houses the more expensive 3br apts

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiersMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

This is such a terrible place to stay! The bathrooms are awful... they look very dirty and may have borrowed a few parts from a war museum!
There was no hot water. We reported the issue and asked fir it to be fixed while we were out. They did not fix it.
Dirty, cold showers and an awful stench - don't book in there!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Downtown Dubai
0.2 mi away
Savoy Suites Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Citymax Hotels Bur Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Ibis Mall Of The Emirates
0.2 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel Apartments
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Hotel Apartments

Address: Al Mankhool Rd | 15a Street, 8; Bur Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $46 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Sands Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Dubai
Golden Sands Apartments Dubai
Golden Sands Hotel Apartments Dubai
Dubai Golden Sands
Golden Sands Apartment Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing