We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Palace Hotel
Ranked #196 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were given a room which was of poor hygiene and stank of dampness and smoke. Although the manager moved us to another room which was slightly better we decided to move out and find altenative accommodation the next day

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Pa... M, Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Palace Hotel!

First of all, I want to tell you sorry that you had to change your room while you were at the hotel. We as a team are doing our best and we always considering your request to meet our guest's satisfactions.

For any issues, I am always available to help you and will be my pleasure to serve you.

Hope to see you and welcoming you again soon.


Best wishes,
Yashvanth Gowda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    271
    96
    31
    39
See reviews for
125
210
79
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cymru
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

About a 5 minute walk from the metro through back streets, I would advise getting a taxi from the airport on arrival,reasonably priced fixed rate fare so that you can get your bearings of the city. We returned to the airport by metro,very simple and well signed.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Assisted in printing off boarding passes with no charge.
Slight minus was that the sauna/steam room changing area felt a bit claustrophobic when compared to the other facilities on offer at the hotel.
Good reasonably priced food at rooftop/poolside restaurant.

Room Tip: 10th floor executive room was excellent,not a great veiw but quite large. Lift ride to the top gives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank organ254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Pa... M, Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Palace Hotel!

We truly appreciates your effort of giving us your feedback. I am glad that you found our hotel lovely despite of few things that you feel its unwell.

We are hoping to see you and welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you & best regards,
Yashvanth Gowda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were 4 families, stayed for 2 days to see Dubai. The hotel is easily reachable. Near to the airport. We had booked the rooms through booking.com. Check in took slightly more time than what was necessary. Rooms were reasonably big and well furnished. Neat and Clean.
Nice staff. Hotel is reasonably priced.

Good location, taxis are easily available, Giggco metro is 10 min walk. You can spend time walking/ sitting in restaurants in that area even at late night.

Enough restaurants in and around, for Indians, a good restaurant is in the adjacent bldg itself.


While swimming in the pool, one of my relatives along with his son stranded into the deep zone. Withing fraction of a second, the life guard jumped into the pool and pushed them to the shallow area.

Jacuzi and steam bath facilities are good and available till 11:00 pm.

Overall it was a nice experience staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine, reasonably big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAJI2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolitan Pa... M, Manager at Carlton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Metropolitan Palace Hotel!

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family. We assuring you the best attention and service at all times as a complete satisfaction is our goal at Metropolitan Palace Hotel.

We look forward to serve and welcoming you again.


Best wishes,
Yashvanth Gowda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I called ahead of my trip from the USA to make sure they held the room for late arrival - at that time I asked for smoke free room and was assured I would get one. However, upon arrival I was given a room that stank of cigarette smoke. Also, the street traffic noise could be heard from the room. Next day they did change my room, but my 1st night experience was not so good. Friendly staff. Dining good.

Room Tip: Call ahead for smoke free and a room that does not over look the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aklima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I missed my flight in Dubai due to a late departure on the first leg. Emirates put me in this hotel for the night. Therefore, I did not pay for this room. I was only at the hotel for 12 hours.

The good:
Close to the airport. Big rooms and comfy beds. Huge breakfast buffet with a big selection of foods, very nicely arranged. A feast for the palate and the eyes! When I objected to paying for internet (because I wasn't there by choice and needed to notify my family), I got a password for the club lounge WiFi. My airport pickup was already booked. I also got a wake-up call 45 minutes beforehand without having to ask.

The bad:
Internet costs extra. It's nearly 2013, I feel this is not justified anymore, especially not in a 5* hotel. Also, I wasn't there because I wanted to. I missed my flight and Emirates was providing a room. Then I have to pay for internet to notify my family that I missed my flight? A good solution was found, thanks to the staff.
For a hotel that is used to place business class travelers that miss connections (and don't have their luggage), the amenities were a bit limited. There was a toothbrush and shaving kit, but no deodorant, after shave or cologne. Nothing in the way of make-up for female travelers.

The ugly:
The room was freezing cold. The AC was set to "shivering". Even when I switched the AC off completely, it was pretty chilly in the room.
My room was very loud. There was some generator or AC unit just outside and the room reverberated all night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
213 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We booked this hotel as a 5 Star hotel with a bargain price. When we arrived it was very early so we had to wait some hours to enter to our room. The hotel is the same as it is shown in photos. It looks luxurius and I think some parts of it are some others not. A friendly advise. Go to the hotel from the airport (which is very near) by taxi. It costs 30 Dhm. The shuttle bus of the hotel is 80 Dhm if the dont forget you and answer your e-mail. This was the only black spot of the staff!!!

The hotel is placed in the area of Deira. A very good place with everything near it especially the banks and the metro station which is very usefull because most of the sightseings and the beach are very far.

The staff was always friendly and helpful for everything. Especially the staff of the restaurant that serves also the breakfast, the tour desk and the pool staff!!!

We were given a spacious room in the second floor. The room was nice and big. I was not surpriced by the bathroom. Not 5 star also. Also the music of the bar was till 3 o'clock. I dont have problem, i can sleep very easy but is unacceptable for such a hotel to listen the strong music inside the rooms.

The pool was nice but old-furnished and not so well decorated and cared by the owner. The spa facilities were so and so.

Some other major bad spots were, first and i think the biggest that the WI-FI is chargable...This is ridiculous, we mentioned this many times but they said thats a policy. Is the first time in my life that i see this. In 2012, in a 5 star hotel the wi-fi to be chargable. Even in poor countries and in cafes and taverns the wi-fi is free!!! Some other black spots and unacceptable things were the plastic plants. Plastic plants in 5 star hotel??? The smell on the second flour rooms from the fountain, smell from Chlorine. Finally an unacceptable thing for a 5 star hotel was the appearance of many so-called ''joint girls'' in the lobby and the reception. We didnt bother actually about this...but the thing is that is a hotel also for families. By the way we faced this in many places in Dubai.

Special Thanks to the Staff for the complimentary cake for my Birthday!!!

The staff made actually the place. Most of the things need to be observed again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better for the noise and smell!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

One of the best hotel I stayed in dubai..reliable price n exellent service..most important thing I have to mention is the location in which the hotel is located.. easy assessible to all the places in dubai n the transportation services also very near by..I enjoyes my stay here with my family..thanks for the metropolitan palace staff to make our stay a memeorable days..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.9 mi away
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
#101 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
#230 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#119 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Dubai Creek Hotel & Towers
17.4 mi away
Ghaya Grand Hotel
Ghaya Grand Hotel
#89 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#110 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Palace Hotel

Property: Carlton Palace Hotel
Address: Al Maktoum Rd | Deira, Dubai 56262, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Metropolitan Palace Hotel)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Dubai
#103 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#119 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#168 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlton Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5-star service at the Carlton Palace Hotel. Welcome to the Carlton Palace Hotel - a grand 5-star hotel in the heart of Deira within easy reach of Dubai Creek, Dubai Airport, metro stations and the World Trade Centre. Carlton Palace Hotel is a luxurious hotel for both leisure and business travellers with an unparalleled combination of exemplary service, beautifully renovated rooms, stunning decor, international dining, central location and value for money. Reminiscent of an elegant era, the magnificent Baroque lobby with an imposing double staircase leads to the 212 spacious and newly refurbished rooms and suites. The rooms range from 32-250 m² and are centred around an imposing balustrade-lined Atrium with greenery encircling a fountain. The hotel features all the facilities of a 5-star hotel including rooftop swimming pool, spacious fitness centre with views of the city, business centre, a variety of restaurants and bars, 24-hour room service, conference and ballroom facilities as well as three floors dedicated to executive rooms and suites overlooking a classic Executive Lounge. Our welcoming staff will attend to your every need at check-in and beyond. That's a promise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropolitan Palace
Metropolitan Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing