We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ranked #7 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2006

On a mixed business/holiday trip we arrived in Dubai via Qatar & Bahrain. After a couple of days in town at my usual hotel (i am a frequent business visitor to UAE) we moved to the Palace. It was also a treat for my wife (our wedding anniversary coincided with the trip) who was with me for this trip. Having used the One & Only for meals before it still came as a pleasant surprise to be a guest here.

The entrance gong, check in in the lounge were just two points that gave you the impression that you would enjoy your stay. EVERYTHING was superb. Rooms, service, restaraunts, staff were all brilliant. I notified reception about our anniversary and they organised everything including Champagne! If you want a quiet, relaxing, pampered holiday look no further. As i was also on business my wife had to spend time on her own at the hotel. Not a problem as she was totally spoilt (at the pool with fresh fruit, chilled drinks, sunglasses cleaned!) by the very attentive - but not obtrusive - staff. If there is a downside it is the fact that Jumeirah is so far from town so it takes a long time to get anywhere. If it is purely a holiday this place just has to be on your agenda! Whilst the continued construction now spoils many Dubai hotels - there is also plenty nearby the Palace - but it really does not intrude here. Excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank billy-a-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
There are newer reviews for The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,438 - 1,444 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2006

Before the hotel review, a quick mention about our flight to Dubai. We noramlly fly Emirates which provide a very good service, but as Virgin have just recently started supplying this route, we thought we'd try them on the basis that they'd probably try harder to please their customers on a new route and give Emirates a good run for their money. We had premium economy seats and experienced possibly the worst flight we have ever endured. One toilet was broken, my screen was broken, the food was excrable even by airline standards, and the cabin crew were offhand, bordering on rude. Despite pressing the call button during the flight, the only way to get a drink was by walking down to the back of the plane and asking for them. Having just complained to Virgin via email about this and receiving a delayed and unsatisfactory response from them, take this advice: for a quality experience, fly Emirates (even Economy), who have provided us with consistently great service on several flights. Anyway, to the hotel......Stayed at the Palace at the Royal Mirage from 19th to 27th May. This was our fourth trip to Dubai, but our first stay at the Palace (we have previously stayed at the Ritz Carlton). We had asked our travel agent for a ground floor room and also emailed the Palace prior to our arrival to request the same. The Palace without doubt has a feel of 'glamour'. As you walk through the front entrance for the first time you get 'gonged' into the hotel, which I found rather amusing. The hotel is vast (we generally prefer smaller hotels) and the first room we were offered was so far away from the main reception that it took us five or six minutes to walk along the corridors to reach it. The room overlooked a large, but somewhat plain area of grass, so we asked to be moved to a room overlooking the pool. Eventually, we were moved and the room was fine, overlooking the pool as requested. The pool area is huge with plenty of sunbeds and shade if you require it. There are several small islands dotted through the pool, planted with palm trees and the bar is shaded with huge white drapes, and looks inviting and elegant. I do however have a few negative comments about the hotel and service. We holiday 3 or 4 times annually and generally stay five star. When you arrive at the Palace, you are given laminated vouchers for your towels at the pool area. You hand your vouchers in and are handed your towels and this is reversed at the end of the day. I've never experienced this before and I honestly thought it was a bit 'naff'. The menu at the pool bar area is very limited and my 'fresh' tuna salad didn't look particularly fresh.... With one exception, the staff around the pool were very friendly and helpful and Bernd, the General Manager for the area was charming, informative and helpful. On our second day, we ordered drinks from our sun lounger and I signed for them. Five minutes later, two members of the bar staff approached me and asked me if I had the 'right' to sign for drinks at the hotel, (i,e was I actually a guest). We were chatting to people we had met that morning at the time, and the questioning was very public and rather embarassing. The room was booked in my partner's surname, not mine, but what they should have done was checked with reception first, where or course, my passport details were registered. Other guests we met a couple of days later told us that someone had falsely signed for drinks and food against their room, so there may be a problem with this at the hotel, but their staff need to find another way to deal with this. Also, we like to take a couple of lilos with us, and one evening about 6pm when the pool was virtually empty we brought them out of our room and were immediately 'ticked off' by the pool staff. Inflatables are not allowed in the pool because they're considered dangerous - shame. Last negative point, every morning, teams of pool volley ball or basket ball are formed by the fitness coach, but the area they use is the children's area of the pool, so you end up with several very competitive men hurling themselves around the pool in the same area where children are swimming and playing..... now THAT'S what I call dangerous. On the positive side, all the restaurants at the hotel are excellent and the prices are what you would expect to find at a five star establishment. The beach is virtually empty, our room was absolutely immaculately maintained and all the staff were very professonal and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank OneAndOnlyGooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We arrived at our hotel at about 9am, unfortunatley our room was not ready, which in all honesty we expected but we were knackered and just wanted to shower and change. We couldn't so we made the most of our short stay and hit the gold sook, we found it such an interesting shop, with such a friendly approach from the sellers. I did think that we may had been pressured into buying something but it was the opposite.
We then headed back to the hotel, we decided to relax round the pool, as we started to near the pool we were a bit panicked by the busyness of the pool, but we were soon approached by a man with towels eger to find us some spare beds.....phew!
On our first night we ate in The One and Only Arabian Court which is on the same complex but seperate....we went to Eau Zone, it was FAB. The setting was simply beautiful and the food delicious.
We loved the inbetween hotel bus driver, he was hilarious......he had us dancing in his bus with the CD at full volume! He was very funny.
I would recommend going on the sand dunes on buggies, you do get covered in sand but it is good fun.
For a pre-dinner drink we went to the 360 bar, which you get to from the Jumeriah Beach hotel, on a golf buggy - it plays really chilled out club music, it is lush to relax and take in the views.
We were only there for 3 nights so we crammed a lot in, we really really want to return to do more! We were not effected at all by the construction work, but it would have looked a lot nicer without it. But to be fair if you don't know about the work that is going on before you go, you must live with your heads in the clouds!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Max12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2006

Our trip in May 2006 was fantastic!! Welcome cold drinks when we arrived started our 10 days of pampering.

OK: Checklist: Positive Side
You don't arrive feeling wrecked - 6 hour flight and 3 or 4 hour time change = no jet lag
Hotel is very smart but not too stuffy
Staff are excellent and friendly - they also don't expect to be tipped at every opportunity (Unlike USA!!)
Rooms are good (no DVD player though which was a shame),
Hotel is very clean,
restuarants are excellent (worst was Olives buffet, best was Nina's), Half board excellent value.
Pool is gorgeous
The people who are there on Holiday are really nice and friendly. Mostly Brits, Germans & Russians

Negative Side:
There is construction going on around the hotel. It did not bother us at all, but the Adults only pool was noisy.
I don't like the beach at the O&O - sand is not that soft, palm construction is not a good view and I saw blue jellyfish!!

We went and looked around various other hotels, the Burg al arab is very "Gold" and quite serious. Jumeriah beach reminded me of a service station!! The new one (like Venice) was huge, busy and like Las Vegas and the Marriott & Ritz Carlton had far too much construction around them.

Word of warning - it took us two hours to get from hotel to the gold souk (25 mins journey). The traffic in dubai is not good during rush hour.

If you like a pool / beach holiday with something to do in the evenings then Dubai is perfect. There are some fabulous bars, shops and restaurants (Buddah Bar was fun)

We loved it so much that we are going back for Christmas!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed in May, monday to Friday. You will find no better place in the world to relax, have superb service and enjoy yourself. It is a hotel with old style service, i'e you are the customer and it is their pleasure to serve you. We had a gold club room, with it's own reception and were treated like royalty. On the second night, a pair of swans arrived in our room, crafted out of towels, a really nice touch. There was live entertainment in the main bar area, which was excellent - not appreciated by the table of germans nearby. Food at the beach restaurant was excellent. I would recommend anyone wanting a special place to stay as a couple to visit here. You will not be disappointed with the old style arabian hotel with absolute luxury. SUPERB!!

Stayed: May 2006
9  Thank Piers2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May. After a great flight with Emirates we arrived in Dubai at midnight. We were met at the airport and transtered to the hotel which took around 30 minutes.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by hotel staff and showed to a lounge area were we were given cold drinks and filled in registration forms etc. This only took 5 minutes and we were on our way to our Gold Club Room.

The rooms were fantastic. Spacious, immaculatley clean and a great big comfy bed. The air con was great (and belive me you will need it!!) Our room was cleaned and towels replenished twice a day and the turndown service was great. We often came back to the room on an evening to find fresh fruit or chocolates.

We found the Gold Club rooms to be great value. In the Gold Club lounge there are soft drinks and coffee avaliable 24 hours a day and between 6-8pm alcoholic drinks are also included. We found drinks in Dubai to be very expensive so it was nice to be able to have a couple of glasses of wine in the lounge before going out for the evening. The Gold Club lounge also offers a continental breakfast, afternoon tea (this is gorgeous) and canapes in the evening. The staff throughout the hotel were great. Proffesional, helpful but unobtrusive.

The grounds within the hotel are perfect and very well maintained. Pool area again was superb. Lots of very comfy loungers and plenty of shade if thats what you want. The guys around the pool are great and as well as waiter service drinks they also supply complimentary water all day. The pool itself was clean, cool and even though it was normally busy it was never noisy so all in all a great place to spend a few hours chilling out.

The beach was superb. Clean, well maintained and lots of loungers avaliable. The sea was clear and very warm.

We found the food throughout our stay to be fantastic. From breakfast to lunch and Dinner all our meals were first class, well prepared with some great menus. Our favourite restaurant was Ninas. The food, ambience and service could not be faulted. We found the food to be reasonably priced. The wines were great if not a little expensive but from what i am lead to belive that is just par for the course in Dubai.

Overall we had a fantastic time and cant wait to return. We have read some reviews about the lack of childrens facilites and as we dont have children it is quite hard to comment. However, I would say this hotel is more suited to adults. If you are a couple or single traveller who wants a luxury break with great weather, food and service then this is definatley the place to go!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank gncgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We arrived at The Palace at 9am after a long flight from Birmingham on 28 May. As soon as you walk in you are greeted and the "welcome bell" rung. We were ushered into the lobby and served tea whilst the reception team arranged check in. Unfortunately (and this is my ONLY complaint) we had to wait until 12pm for our room and I think we only got it then because I complained to the management. It is just very frustrating when you see people who were on the same flight, who were waiting with you then be roomed and come down hours later in swimwear starting their holidays and you still sitting there! Anyways...
The standard deluxe rooms are amazing. Huge marble bedroom and huge bed. Absolutely amazing. The rooms are also cleaned twice daily with fresh bedding and fresh towels. Brilliant stuff.
We had the half board option which is a 120 UAD per person contribution to your bill every night. The 120UAD only covers food and drinks are seperate and have to be paid for. We ate at Olives, The Rottisiere and the Beach Bar and Grill. One night we even had room service (afternoon tea at the Burj had left us stuffed) which was even covered in the half board deal though there was a 45UAD tray charge.
The Olves breakfast was amazing every day. Plenty of choice and chefs who will cook your eggs how you choose. We ate here one evening at the buffet style which was good but not as good as the Rottisiere (in the Arabian Court - free shuttle bus) and I would recomend the Rottisiere for a buffet style dinner over Olives. The Rottisiere is bigger, HUGE carvery and just more choice. Very impressive.
The Beach Bar and Grill was amazing. The mussels and the salmon I had was great and this was one of the nicest meals I've ever had. We did go over our 120UAD for this meal but I had starter and main and boyf had main and desert. We also had plenty fo wine and I think our evening there cost the equiv of £35 which we had to contribute.
The Rooftop bar at the Arabian Court is lovely and worth a vist.
This is a classy hotel. All the guests seemed to be of a high calibre. There was a Premiership footballer there the same week as us and no-one bothered him, stared at him and he was left to get on with his holiday the same as anyone else.
The pool staff are very attentive and bring cool water around. They really can not do enough for you and were wonderful. This goes for all the staff throughout the hotel.
We loved this hotel and though we would not necessarily return again to Dubai (the world is just too big for repeat visits) I would stay at this chain of hotels without a doubt. This hotel has definately set the standard for us and I would recomend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Lawyergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Atlantis, The Palm
#109 of 554 in Dubai
17,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#55 of 554 in Dubai
5,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Rd | Jumeirah Beach, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#25 Family Hotel in Dubai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#97 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $364 - $1,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing