We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 stars - its 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Ranked #7 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2006

If there was a provision for 6 stars- I'd give it.
I travel the globe very often and have stayed at many many 5 star hotels,written many reviews but
I can't review this hotel.
Why?
Simple!!!

Perfection cannot be reviewed - it is only experienced.
Do yourself a favour - experience it. It's a life experience you will never ever forget.

13  Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 1,847 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2006

We stayed here in Mar 06 following a great holiday at Reethi Rah Maldives!!!!

All I can say is that we did stay on the Gold Club floor, check in was great and the facilities there were very good....especially the complimentary drinks and nibbles 6.00pm to 8.00pm, you are served with practically what ever beverage you like and they keep topping u up!!!!!

Reservations need to be made at the restaurants quite a long time in advance and very strange times were available either 7.00pm or 10.00pm in most cases.....considering we had use of the club lounge we would have rather eaten at about 8.00ish.

The Med Restaurant was very poor (the only one u don't have to make a reservation), we had a meal here on our first night.......it was a buffet night!!!!!! not one explanation of how things worked so we sat there like lemons for a good half hour waiting for someone to explain or at least talk to us!!!!!! Our bottle of wine arrived unopened, no corkscrew to be seen.......we tried to get the attention of a waiter but no joy.......eventually I walked around the Restaurant with my wine bottle for a good 5 mins before i got the damn cork out!!!!!!!

All in all the Al Quasar is a much newer nicer hotel which we stayed at in 2005, the restaurants were great and no reservations needed.......sometimes you want to wait till an evening and then decide what cuisine u fancy!!!!!!!!!

The pool at the Al Quasar was huge and plenty of sun loungers and space for everyone, too much shade and palm trees at the O&O........

We did hear a new O&O is being built on the 'Palm' so maybe this one will be gradually going down the pan, please do your research before u book this and do look into the Madinat Jumirah (Al Quasar etc) they really are a better choice for similar money and the location is much better!!!!

Happy Holidays!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Whittingham-Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Palace with my boyfriend, and felt i had to write a review on this fantastic hotel.
We had a superior room, which was very well decorated with excellent storage space, although the room was a little smaller than we expected. You cannot fault housekeeping, when i complained a few bulbs were blown they were replaced within minutes. The swans made out of towels and rose petals was a very nice touch. The staff everywhere in the hotel are just so friendly, and happy to do anything for you. The pool is excellent (although if you prefer a "no children" pool there is one, but smaller), and the beach is beautiful. These people that say the construction noise is unbearable, i really cant understand. From the beach we didnt hear any noise and the view is not spoilt by the building that is going on. We certainly didnt hear any noise at all from our room.
You must visit Celebrities Restaurant, where the service and food is five star. It is also worth going over to Arabian Court, Nina's is also very very nice. The bar there also has a huge screen for the football which pleased my boyfriend no end. And i have to say the best surprise was the nightclub, it was great having somewhere to go for a drink and dancing till the early hours. And you cannot hear the music from any other part of the hotel. I would also recommend booking a table at the fish restaurant at Burj Al Arab (although we had to do this months in advance), the hotel and restaurant is out of this world. Oh and for during the day a visit to the Wild Wady water park is great fun. The only complaint i have is that on arrival we had "guaranteed early check in", and arrived at 8.00am. We had to wait 9 hours for the room as they were 100% full and the people that were in our room checked out late. After a few hours sitting at the pool the staff at the lobby bar entertained us for the remainding time until our room was ready. All in all a fantastic hotel which caters for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank michelle 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
sutton-in-ashfield
249
Reviewed April 20, 2006

My partner and I and my 8 year old daughterJust returned from a 5 night stay in the Palace, when we eventually arrived ( apart from the cancelled flight out there!!) couldn't fault the place, very clean and gardens were emaculate, staff were polite and curtious. not really child friendly especially for toddlers as too many things to grab hold of (so think twice with young children) the rooms were well kept cleaned daily, and the bed was turned down at night ready for your return. Excellent male cleaner came by twice daily to check if you needed anything ie. water clean towels etc. Drinks in the hotel were about the same you would pay in the UK if not slightly more expensive in some cases, but you can expect that as after all it is a muslim country. Breakfast was very good, ceral/fruit/meats/cheeses/bagels/full english breakfast (with turkey bacon and veal sausages) omelates etc, nearly everything you could think of with excellent service as tea and coffee brought to your table. Eating within the hotel was very good, just expect to pay the prices, we went to the Moroccan Resturant had 3 courses and it came to £150! But you get what you pay for.
The beach was excellent cleaned daily, just wasn't enough sunloungers on there. so not sunned on the beach, around the pool was also good, waiters walked round waiting for orders for drinks and you cannot reserve sun loungers, if a sun lounger has not been occupied by a person in 2 hours the personal effects and towels (complimentary) will be taken away and stored until collected, which is a good idea.Dubai shopping mall is not very far away, but be prepared to pay the same prices as UK, next, debenhams ETC.
Old Dubai is worth a visit where you will find the Gold Souks ETC. ladies remember to cover them shoulders while out of the Hotel as the older generation seemed to make funny noises at you and it feels like you are walking out topless!
Wild Wadi waterpark is definatly worth a visit, take plenty of sunscreen with you!
One to miss is the new rock cafe, not worth the taxi ride out.
Arabian adventures which is the tour operater are helpful and have good trips on offer.
There is alot of building work going on but could not hear anything through out our trip so don't let this put you off.
To top this all off, if you want a relaxing holiday go to the palace, if you want to combine relaxation and shopping this is the place to go. 5 days just was not long enough!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2006

We stayed at the Residence and Spa in Nov/Dec 2004, and I wrote a review for this wonderful hotel on 10 August 2005 after visiting other 5* hotels in New York, London, Vegas and Cyprus.

After a short deliberation we decided to revisit the Royal Mirage but instead of booking a suite in the Residence and Spa, we decide to go for the cheaper option and book a room in The Palace. We were not disappointed.

We still had all the fabulous restaurants and bars to choose from in the same gorgeous setting and yet again they were everything we remembered and expected of them.

We chose to sunbathe around the 'adults only' pool which is tucked away in a corner of The Palace gardens. By doing this we avoided the busy main pool with families (no disrespect to parents and kids, but we left three kids at home to escape for 5 days). Although we sacrificed the attentive pool service of the Residence and Spa we were still served chilled water, fresh fruit, cold flannels, towels and had our sunglasses cleaned. Staff just weren't in permanently attendance to wait on you hand and foot. We were happy to wait for a glass of water in exchange for having the 'adults only' pool practically to ourselves most days despite the hotel being fully booked.

We ate in the following restaurants:-
Celebrities - Definitely our favourite. Fabulous food, service and wine in opulent surroundings in a traditional setting.
Nina's - Didn't really fancy an Indian meal last time but we had heard the rave reviews and VERY pleased we gave it a try. The most beautiful Indian restaurant we have ever eaten in. Fabulous service with the best Indian cuisine ever tasted. Melt in the mouth meat and naan breads. (Don't let the nasty orange plastic menus put you off like it did us on our first visit).
Eau Zone - Still a good meal out in lovely settings (decking on a lit pool so you sit and eat on little decked islands on water if you want to eat outside). Not quite got the edge that Nina's and Celebs have but still good.
Tagine's - Beautiful restaurant, food was ok but we both had quite bland dishes.
Beach Bar and Grill - Romantic setting, good seafood. Always smells vaguely of paraffin outside?? Always enjoy eating here but also lacks the edge of Celebs and Nina's. Still a very good restaurant.

The room wasn't as luxurious as the suite at the Residence and Spa (obviously), but it was still more than adequate to meet our needs with lovely furniture and a fab bathroom (great shower). Still an above average 5* hotel room although we didn't quite fathom out why they had Charlton Athletic Football Channel on? Would like to have had the option of watching premiership games (well, not me but my other half).

As always the customer service was great. Kasbah still had the same incredible service. They ALWAYS remembered what we drank and by the third night our drinks were served by Bastian who had memorised our 'Bull Frog and G&T' order. There was no cashier in yet and as they knew us and also knew we loved to hit the pool table, we were served our drinks along with 10 coins for 2 games of pool. That might sound nothing special, but we hadn't yet paid anything!!

Would still say that this is the most outstanding hotel we've been to. It's customer service is above and beyond the Bellagio, The Four Seasons in Vegas, Ritz Carlton in New York and the various 5* in London which just pale in comparison.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Happilyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2006

11  Thank cervia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Surrey
19
Reviewed April 8, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Atlantis, The Palm
#110 of 556 in Dubai
17,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
The Marina
The Ritz-Carlton, Dubai
Jumeirah Zabeel Saray
#55 of 556 in Dubai
5,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai

Address: Al Sufouh Rd | Jumeirah Beach, Dubai 37252, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#25 Family Hotel in Dubai
#41 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#97 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $455 - $1,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage conjures the magic of Arabia, a domain where guests may wander amidst the abundant gardens or stroll amongst the meandering water features. The property is generous, with 231 guest rooms and suites, on a private beach that offers rich leisure facilities, such as the impressive temperature-controlled swimming pools, water sports centre, tennis courts, golf putting green, ‘KidsOnly’ children’s facilities and, most importantly, a tranquil haven for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace at One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace At One&Only Royal Mirage Dubai Hotel Dubai
The Palace At One And Only Royal Mirage Dubai
Royal Mirage Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing