We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive”
Review of Grand Hyatt Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Dubai
Ranked #62 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just had three nights here on our way back from the Maldives with the idea of getting a taste of Dubai to see if we'd like to return for a bit longer. We almost certainly will return to Dubai and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

First of all, we checked in and were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a creek view room - apparently they believed we were on our honeymoon, but when we informed them there must have been a mistake because we've been married fifteen years, there was no problem they kept our upgrade anyway, and we still even got the celebration cake and red roses in the room! The staff we very efficient and courteous, but not overly formal which you can sometimes get with a hotel in this bracket.

We ate a couple of evenings in the hotel, and would have loved to have tried more of the hotel's restaurants, but there's only so much you can do in three days! Anyhow the food we did have was consistently fresh and delicious. You can eat much cheaper if you go out and about, but I think it is only expected that you have to pay a premium for top restaurant food in top hotels.

Dubai itself is such a stylish city, especially in the developing areas, and this hotel certainly sat comfortably in the company of some of the more famous hotels and landmarks. It's appearance is so impressive, inside and out, you can't help but feel a sense of indulgence just by being there.

Overall a great stay in a great hotel in a great city. What more do you want?!

Just one note on Dubai itself - if you are the type to feel intimidated by being aggressively and relentlessly harrassed by several men simultaneously (the spruikers), it's best to avoid the gold souk - I don't know about the other souks, they may be the same but we were so disturbed by the gold souk experience that we headed straight back to more comfortable territory. Our only negative experience in the city (not counting the airport/customs, but that's another story....)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattDubai, Marketing Communications Manager at Grand Hyatt Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for writing such a positive review on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for recognising our service and facilities, particularly our guest room, restaurants and our staff’s attentiveness. We are delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I will make sure that your encouraging feedback is communicated throughout the hotel.

We appreciate your patronage and looking forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind Regards,
Gina Desmeralda
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,536 - 2,542 of 3,995 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

there are numerous options to stay in Dubai, but i would never give up on this property. it is simply amazing. The location is ideal, with the Creek on one side and the Sheikh Zayed Road just a little ahead. The view from the Rooms are exquisite whichever side you get. truly great rooms, big and full of every amenity you may require. Room Service is prompt and the snacks are freshly made, tasty. The Lobby is like a Palatial experience, with small gardens nestled amongst water bodies and small bridges. the breakfast can be taken at any one of the four restaurants a few steps down from the lobby level. I particularly liked the Lobby bar, though not crowded during the day time (maybe because i was there in summer when its very very Hot) and they allow you to smoke too. since i was involved with an Event with my group, their Banquet Hall was big and wonderful, with high ceilings, chandeliers, and the service at every step was so satisfying i would love to stay there again and again.

Room Tip: higher floors creek side or Burg al-khalifa side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p0ruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Excellent landscaping around the Hotel, with beautiful water bodies, makes you feel like you are staying in a garden in the desert ! Huge and well designed lobby that has "welcome " written all over it. Located in the heart of the city. Great breakfast ! very helpful staff. Would love to stay there once more !

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHyattDubai, Marketing Communications Manager at Grand Hyatt Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing such a positive review on Trip Advisor and for your generous compliments, particularly about our gardens and lobby. We are very happy that you had a most pleasant experience.

We are constantly looking for opportunities to improve our facilities and the gardens are no exception as we prepare them for the upcoming summer season.

Looking forward to welcoming back at Grand Hyatt Dubai!

Kind Regards,
Gina Desmeralda
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas 2012 through to New year. Our checking-in was so so. We had to pay about 900 dirhams per adult on a compulsory basis for a "New years Party" that the hotel had organised - they insisted we pay for our 5 year old child as well!! This was ridiculous ..and After a long discussion, they said ok she goes free! Upon entering the room and within one hour, we receive A phone call saying that we need to come to reception to pay for my child's new year party ticket. I had to go through the whole excersise of explaining why we shall not pay. No where in the booking did it mention that a child must be paying for a party which we "must" attend. Completely ridiculous. The room was nice and spacious.

Room service charges were extortionate. We were in the club room and hence used the club breakfast area on the 14th floor. For the first one or two days, we had our usual toast and cereal breakfast. On the third day, I happened to check with the staff whether the bread contained eggs, coz we are strict vegetarians, to our surprise they said yes. We asked to speak to the manager as there were no labels anywhere stating these items may contain nuts or eggs ie allergy statements.

We made strong suggestions that there should be allergy labels by the foods. No action was taken nor any labels were put up throughout our 10 days stay. Instead the manager said he will ask the chef to prepare bread contain no eggs and will be sent to our room. A large trolley was sent in, in the evening, with bread basket containing 5 rolls and one small tinny butter container...we had to sign for this ... Set us back 75 dirhams!!!! Yet during breakfast times in the club area, there was attention taken about our needs.

We were advised during check-in that the breakfast on the 01st January for all rooms including club rooms would be in the restaurant downstairs ie late breakfast till 3 pm. Upon our arrival for late breakfast downstairs, we were asked for our room number, they checked on their paper work and informed us that we were not listed in for breakfast and that our breakfast was only in the club area. We explained what we were informed during check in, but the lady insisted that if we want breakfast we had to pay. We asked to speak to the manager and after about 10-15minutes of waiting, we were informed by another staff that we could at least start taking breakfast whilst they sort it out...by this time we had completely lost our cool and left without having breakfast.. Walked straight to the reception and asked to speak to the overall duty manager of Hyatt. We sat down with the customer service manager and explained to him all the events that had happened during our stay, who only listened to what we had to say and was only apologetic. We told him we'd rather go to a restaurant outside instead of feeling humiliated. He waived us a taxi at the entrance and off we went.

What an experience!! Never ever again will we stay at this hotel.
We paid top dollars but received rubbish service. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Rather stay in a cheapy hotel and at least you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shreyas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hyatt D, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of our guests and we regret that we caused such disappointment and did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments to ensure such instances do not occur again.

I would like to take this opportunity to share with you that we as a company recently launched a new food philosophy worldwide, called Food: Thoughtfully sourced, carefully served. With this, our hotel endeavours to serve food that comes from sustainable sources and is good for health and the community. Our menus now feature even more healthy options which offer portion-control for those looking to maintain a healthy lifestyle even when travelling. A part of this new initiative includes clearly indicated information about dishes on our menus which are vegetarian, egg-free and gluten-free. It is feedback such as yours that has influenced this decision for clearer marking of items on the menu.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future particularly to introduce our new food philosophy outlined above. We sincerely apologise again for the disappointment experienced and assure you that the points you have highlighted have been addressed internally.

Kind regards,
Gina Desmeralda
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We recently stayed in this excellent hotel for the first time and it was a truly wonderful experience. The hotel is set in spacious gardens, with superb and attentive staff and a terrific selection of restaurants. Our bedroom was large and roomy and very well appointed with a terrific view out over Dubai Creek. The swimming pool area is well laid out and maintained to the highest standard as are the Spa and Gym. Tennis courts a running track and a great kids area are all part of this hotel.
We ate in the Lebanese restaurant (Awtar)which was a most delicious meal and also ate in the PepperCrab and Market restaurants which were also very good. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and we returned to our room on the afternoon of his birthday to find a delightful birthday cake for him with the managements compliments. It was a lovely surprise and showed true attention to detail. The Cooz bar had nightly entertainment with a very good piano player and singer.
The hotel seems to be predominately for business people and there was no stage that the pool area was crowded or noisy.
We had a very relaxing holiday and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Mr John Beverage, General Manager is to be congratulated on running such a fine hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor with Creek view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret6118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Grand Hyatt Dubai is an outstanding hotel in a class of its own. The hotel is set on beautiful grounds and it is relaxing to stroll outside when time permits. Service really is superb in every way and nothing is too much trouble. Accommodation is spacious and well appointed with very comfortable beds and amazing pillows. Only 15 minutes from the airport, the hotel is convenient ,well appointed, very clean and maintained to very high standard. Breakfast in the Market Cafe is such a treat with a diverse range of quality international and national foods, an abundance of fresh fruit and a warm welcome from staff. Conference and meeting rooms are of a very high standard staff by a brilliant events and banquet team. The very highest recommendation to the Grand Hyatt Dubai.

Room Tip: Enjoy the spa, visit the pool, let young children join in specially planned activities including fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt Deira, Dubai for Christmas 2012 through to New year. Our checking was so so. We had to pay about 900 dirhams per adult on a compulsory basis for a "New years Party" that the hotel had organised - they insisted we pay for our 5 year old child as well!! This was ridiculous ..and After a long discussion, they said ok she goes free! Upon entering the room and within one hour, we receive A phone call saying that we need to come to reception to pay for my child's new year party ticket. I had to go through the whole excersise of explaining why we shall not pay. No where in the booking did it mention that a child must be paying for a party which we "must" attend. Completely ridiculous. The room was nice and spacious.

Room service charges were extortionate. We were in the club room and hence used the club breakfast area on the 14th floor. For the first one or two days, we had our usual toast and cereal breakfast. On the third day, I happened to check with the staff whether the bread contained eggs, coz we are strict vegetarians, to our surprise they said yes. We asked to speak to the manager as there were no labels anywhere stating these items may contain nuts or eggs ie allergy statements.

We made strong suggestions that there should be allergy labels by the foods. No action was taken nor any labels were put up throughout our 10 days stay. Instead the manager said he will ask the chef to prepare bread contain no eggs and will be sent to our room. A large trolley was sent in, in the evening, with bread basket containing 5 rolls and one small tinny butter container...we had to sign for this ... Set us back 75 dirhams!!!! Yet during breakfast times in the club area, there was attention taken about our needs.

We were advised during checkin that the breakfast on the 01st january for all rooms including club rooms would be in the restaurant downstairs ie late breakfast till 3pm. Upon our arrival for late breakfast downstairs, we were asked for our room number, they checked on their paper work and informed us that we were not listed in for breakfast and that our breakfast was only in the club area. We explained what we were informed during check in, but the lady insisted that if we want breakfast we had to pay. We asked to speak to the manager and after about 10-15minutes of waiting, we were informed by another staff that we could at least start taking breakfast whilst they sort it out...by this time we had completely lost our cool and left without having breakfast.. Walked straight to the reception and asked to speak to the overall duty manager of Hyatt. We sat down with the customer service manager and explained to him all the events that had happened during our stay, who only listened to what we had to say and was only apologetic. We told him we'd rather go to a restaurant outside instead of feeling humiliated. He waived us a taxi at the entrance and off we went.

What an experience!! Never ever again will we stay at this hotel.
We paid top dollars but received rubbish service. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Rather stay in a cheapy hotel and at least you know what to expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shreyas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Dubai
Park Hyatt Dubai
#9 of 561 in Dubai
2,233 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
Shangri-La Hotel, Dubai
#16 of 561 in Dubai
703 reviews
0.5 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 561 in Dubai
3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Roda Al Murooj
Roda Al Murooj
#106 of 561 in Dubai
2,405 reviews
2.6 mi away
The H Dubai
The H Dubai
#18 of 561 in Dubai
1,622 reviews
5.3 mi away
JW Marriott Marquis Hotel Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Dubai

Address: Sheikh Rashid Rd, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#10 Business Hotel in Dubai
#10 Family Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $154 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 682
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Dubai Hotel Dubai
Hyatt Dubai
Dubai Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing