We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inexpensive hotel in Bur Dubai”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #186 of 563 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was by accident that I landed in Ascot. The experience was not bad at all. Staff is good and very friendly and the rooms are not too bad either and plus the hotel is not so expensive. Try this place if you do not have very high expectations

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 5th floor. They have a Russian night club and could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapan-Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 523 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was small but had all the amenities needed, a safe was provided in the room, free of charge. Lighting is very minimal, after all you are there to sleep. Breakfast was excellent, a buffet with variety of choices plus an egg/omelette station, fresh juice and fruits. The hotel is situated in the old part of Dubai where lots of electronic stores are located. A very short walk to the metro (Al-Fahidi) from there you can visit all shopping malls and attractions. You can purchase a week pass or daily pass. No free wifi, but all in all was very satisfactory to our needs.

Room Tip: Stay between the 1st and 3rd floor not on the 4th as this is directly under a club which is noisy ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueMoonNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Do not let you fool by the stars it is a very medium hotel with a rather big problem with the finish in the rooms.
Got to the room and a foul odor came from the room, a smell of wet cloth hidden for many weeks.
I do not like to pay extra for WiFi when you are trying to stand out as a good hotel.
I had to argue with the staff in regards to my pickup time at the hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikkelBoesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel looks nice, and our room(s) were nicely decorated, but, there is very minimal lighting. And our room only had two outlets, which did not make it easy to charge phones, camera batteries, Kindles, etc., for three occupants. The air conditioning was unable to cool the room. (319). You could hear the very heavy bass beat from the 5th floor disco til it closed at 3 am. The water in the room was hot all the time. Even in the toilet (which I discovered when I had to continually stop it from running). I took showers with only the cold water tap on, and at times, even that was too hot. No cold water for teeth brushing. The lighting was almost non-existant and the hair dryer wouldn't even blow enough air to clear the steam off the mirror.

There was no coffee maker in the room, and apparently no ice maker in the building. Room service was pretty slow.

Breakfast was good.

The elevators were very tiny. Supposed to hold six people, lucky to hold one with a suitcase. The pool next door was nice, but there were only 4 or 5 lounge chairs.

Room Tip: There is a disco on the 5th floor and a karaoke bar on the first, so I don't know if any rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbgb12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

due to last minute changes we were transferred here since this was the only pretending hotel to be 4star that can accommodate us. good points is that its clean and aircon is working. downside of this hotel is everything was chaotic. miscommunication between staffs and shifts. no free wifi, elevator takes forever. even if you pressed more than 5timites to close its still open!

hot water in shower is not hot. its not cold either. toilet is dripping, so was the tub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we stayed here late feb 2013, although we arrived after midnight, they told us our room wasnt ready, so we had to sit and wait, the reception area was hot so we asked for a drink while we waited,the coca cola was warm, along with glasses it was served in.
We found our room to be very warm so switched the air con to the highest and went to look for the bar. When we found the bar, the man on the door was reluctant to let us in, saying, it is an indian club? We went in anyway as we were dying for an ice cold drink and found men only in there, with a dozen or so young asian girls sitting in a line on the stage, whilst one of them at a time danced for the men, money was passed to the girls while they danced.we asked the barman where we could get some food in the hotel as everywhere seemed to be closed, he brought us some nuts and a plate of chopped fruit, which was quite sweet of him we thought...The staff were all asian in the hotel and very courteous and helpful, the room was dimly lit, very cramped and had faulty air con. Room service was the best feature in the hotel, we ordered vegetarian curry when we got back to our room and it came in about 45 minutes, it was the best curry i had had in a long time,delicious. Breakfast was sparse.

Room Tip: go and look at ur room before u take it to make sure u dont get one of the smaller ones, disco is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayoWestOfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in hotel for 4 nights. The location of the hotel is great. There is good connectivity of all places from the hotel. Merto is also about 300 mts from the hotel. The hotel is old but the service and staff is nice. The rooms are not great. The bathrooms are old. The cleanliness is not up to the mark. The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Royal Ascot Hotel
#54 of 563 in Dubai
1,636 reviews
Sea View Hotel
#52 of 563 in Dubai
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Creek
Gateway Hotel
Gateway Hotel
#235 of 563 in Dubai
393 reviews
Grandeur Hotel
#251 of 563 in Dubai
379 reviews
City Seasons Towers Hotel
#246 of 563 in Dubai
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: Khalid Bin Waleed Road, Dubai 115160, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Dubai
#103 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#165 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $69 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dubai, the Ascot Hotel offers deluxe rooms with picturesque views of the city. It is a 5-minute drive from the popular Burjuman Mall. The rooms are well-appointed, modernly furnished and have luxurious marble bathrooms. In-room amenities include large LCD TVs with satellite channels and a minibar. The Ascot Hotel offers a choice of 4 food and beverage outlets. Japanese cuisine can be sampled at Yakatori, Russian specialties are served with themed entertainment at Troyka, and Thai delicacies are offered at The Thai Connection. The hotel also has an Irish pub, Waxy O'Connors. Guests of the Ascot Hotel are free to use the leisure facilities of the sister hotel next door. This includes a rooftop swimming pool and spa facilities. There is a complimentary shuttle service to one of Dubai's popular public beaches. The Ascot Hotel is a 7-minute drive from Sheikh Zayed Road. Bur Dubai is a great choice for travellers interested in desert, sightseeing and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing