We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible Hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jood Palace Hotel Dubai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Ranked #220 of 543 Hotels in Dubai
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went from SFO with friends for our 50th birthday. Stayed in a 2 bed apartment. Had trouble with a sewage smell coming from the bathrooms from day one. Management did not want to address the problem, kept sending people up to spray the place to get rid of the smell. On day 3 they moved us but there was still the same problem. We slept with the balcony doors open. No one had authority to compensate us. They offered a basket of fruit or a free taxi to the airport. The GM was never around and everyone just tried to avoid us. Think the staff thought it was our problem. No one returned calls. Would never stay here again. 7 nights of headache.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    233
    77
    38
    39
See reviews for
216
135
36
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were three of us and stayed for 6 days. The executive room was quite large, spacious, clean, comfortable and luxurious with two queen beds (each large enough to sleep two), good quality toiletries (Gilchrist and Soames), linen and coffee. Breakfast was awesome with amazing variety and selection causing us to gorge and stuff ourselves. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is definitely a luxury five star hotel. Most of all, the hotel is very well located - just 3-5 minutes walk from the Al Rigga metro station (its quicker if you cut across the car park) and Al Rigga road which is one of the main roads and has many shops and restaurants. The Al Ghurair Mall is just 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel - and has Max and Splash stores in it - which I found to be great value for money - unlike the foreign brands in the more upmarket malls. So is Al Safadi - an excellent Lebanese restaurant with reasonable prices. The restaurant Handi in the hotel also has very good food but its a bit expensive. Within two minutes walk of the hotel are three mini supermarkets. There is a huge Carrefour supermarket in the Diera City Centre Mall. Al Rigga is a nice busy area with people, couples and families bustling about till late at night.

We checked out many places and concluded that Diera is the best place to stay in Dubai - but you should stay close to the Al Rigga metro station, which is on the red line - so that you can easily get to Dubai Mall, Mall of emirates, Jumeirah, Diera City Centre Mall (which is just one stop or Dhs 2.50 from Al Rigga) etc. From the hotel we could easily get taxis to take us everywhere - along the creek in Bur Dubai which leads to the Meena Bazar, to the Gold Souk and spice souk, to Al Karama market (about Dhs 18), to Dubai Mall (about Dhs 32.00) to Mall of emirates (about Dhs 55) and airport (Dhs 15).

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by apartment buildings on all sides so the view upto the 11th floor is the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerTip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night and booked two bedroom apartment. Taj dubai is truly a remark of hospitality. Same awesome courtesy.

1. Location near rigga metro. But no marvellous views from windows and balcony.
2. Reception staff: very courteous and happy to help. They gave us early check in. Also, they were cooperative in terms of quick checkout. They allowed us to use the spa and pool services after our checkout time.
3. Slightly overpriced but i got a very good early booking rate.
4. Swimming pool is good. Its on 12th floor.

I really enjoyed my stay there with friends.
Keep it up TAJ.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ranbir-India-Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my first experience of staying here in Taj Palace Hotel. The facilities from room service to the food items were all nice. I had a great time here with my friends. What i loved the most is its beautiful rooms, fully furnished and decorated more than anyone expects. Apart from rooms, all other things out there were satisfactory but they still need some improvements as well in their service and maintenance. The service staff was also very friendly, polite and courteous. The room where we stayed was large enough to accommodate 4 to 6 people easily. Interestingly, this hotel is included in the list of some of those hotels which do not have bar, so here you can live and enjoy with your family easily. The location of this hotel is although in an older district of Dubai but still it takes a few minutes’ drive from here to reach the well-known places there in Dubai. A shopping street and a metro station are also nearby the hotel. The food quality at the restaurant was appreciable and the taste was excellent. We had a very good breakfast and especially the coffee i had there was excellent. One big drawback of the hotel is that as it is surrounded by residential flats so it does not offer any good view from the room’s windows. In a nut shell, the hotel is satisfactory enough to be stayed at for few days. I would like to rate it 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zarmeen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
del
Level Contributor
146 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The property is located in a central location, but surrounded by residental flats all across. a major drawback, since it does not offer any view from the room.
at the same time the advantage is that the palce is central, near to airport, the rooms are nice, as i was in the club room, very spacious as always Taj rooms are.

Food quality- personally i did'nt like, a small but a compact Gym and a nice rooftop pool.

all in all good taj property but what was missing was the warmth in the service, difficult to commnet on reasons.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birminghaam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, but been to Dubai many times before staying at other hotels. Never expected this hotel to be of the standards it is. If it was not for Miss Sayyed, I doubt I would have booked again. She takes the pain out of booking, always very accomadating.

Being with small children they enjoyed the pool facilities and the pool side staff made it that bit extra special. Thanks Umesh Kumar and your fellow crew for going that extra step in welcoming us.

Its in a good location with plenty of shop options and with a more local feel to it than one of a tourist area.

Wi-fi is not available for free considering it`s 2013 but its not big deal, as I brought a local sim card and used that for data.

Room Tip: Twin executive rooms come with two massive beds which helps when with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sami_Helper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Me and my friends spend a great time at the hotel. The hotel was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nice. The breakfast was good. The swimming pool was nice. We did not try the Spa. I recommended the hotel for family cause it's one of the hotels that don't have bar in it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hemo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#180 of 543 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
6.0 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#13 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ghaya Grand Hotel
Ghaya Grand Hotel
#124 of 543 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samaya Hotel - Deira
Samaya Hotel - Deira
#268 of 543 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Ghurair Rayhaan Dubai
16.5 mi away
Auris Fakhruddin Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jood Palace Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jood Palace Hotel Dubai

Property: Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Address: 36 a Street Al Rigga Rd | Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Taj Palace Dubai, Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#137 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#145 Business Hotel in Dubai
#189 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jood Palace Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience sheer sophistication complemented by the warmth of Arabian hospitality at Jood Palace Hotel situated in the heart of Deira's commercial and business district. Choose from a luxurious selection of five-star accommodation, culinary venues, Jood Spa, recreation and fitness facilities as well as conference and event spaces. Conveniently located, a 15-minute drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention Centre, the hotel offers easy access to places of interest, be it for business or leisure. Explore the traditional souks, Dubai Museum, Dubai Heritage Village or indulge in retail therapy at Deira City Centre and much more. Keen to exceed expectations, our multi-lingual team of experts will ensure all your requests are given utmost focus and dedication. There is no request too big or small. Right from suggesting a dining venue, to a well-planned sightseeing itinerary, our Concierge team will go to great lengths to ensure your stay is flawless and memorable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jood Palace Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing