We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taj Luxury close to Dubai Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Ranked #237 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Taj Luxury close to Dubai Airport”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Pros: The hotel is very close to dubai international airport and is located in the Deira area. Deira is quite croweded and the hotel understandably does not have the landscaped gardens that one expects from a 5-star hotel property. That said, prices are cheaper than the properties in Jumeirah. We were upgraded to a club room which was quite spacious so no complaints on that count. Room cleanliness and service were of the usual high standards.

Cons: We only ate breakfast and one dinner in the hotel. breakfast variety is rather limited. Taj usually has a variety of indian options but breakfast had only a couple of indian options. We opted for the indian set breakfast ordered via room service and instead of a masala dosa, we were served a plan dosa. Not a big deal really but we expected the hotel to deliver what it says on the Menu. The 'Handi' restaurant is extremely disappointing. Our chicken was unevenly cooked. The chef tried to first pass it off as the result of frozen chicken and then the result of different culinary tastes in the middle-east. Neither of these explanations was even remotely convincing. We were looking for great indian food in the Taj and were sorely disappointed.

Overall: Its good value for money but try to eat outside the hotel as F&B is not great.

Room Tip: Club rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    245
    81
    40
    43
See reviews for
233
146
40
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I'm a Gold Card Inner Circle member for Taj group and have stayed in many Taj properties across India and abroad. This is possibly the worst of the Taj properties I have stayed in terms of service levels, lack of good dining options, underprepared staff, very outdated rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ravi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilukshan, Manager at Jood Palace Hotel Dubai, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Ravi,

We are most concerned with your feedback dated 03rd February 2012 regarding your stay at the Taj Palace Hotel Dubai.

Words cannot express how sorry we are for the anxiety, frustration, and inconvenience caused to you. This is especially because Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces was founded on the promise of making the hotel experience more enchanting, memorable and expedient for everyone who chooses to stay with us.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the short falls in service that you experienced. We have noted in detail the points mentioned by you and will be shared with all our staff members.

We look forward to having you with us again in the near future and assure you of the best services and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,

Lilukshan De Silva
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

excellent hotel in the dhera area of what is now called Old dubai. its centrally located near the Ál Rigga St metro station (a less than 5 min walk)
one station away from city center mall
excellent huge rooms, very spacious and comfortable, what you would expect from a Taj Facility.

nice simming pool on the terrace, decent breakfast and excellent helpfull staff

Room Tip: go for higher floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kaizu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Hotel is located just off the Al Rigga road in Deira, an area that has gone downhill and very tacky very rapidly in the last few years. There are much, much nicer parts of Dubai to stay in these days.

Hotel:

1. No shuttle service to and from the airport!!! I was informed as I ONLY had an executive room this service wasnt available to us. I have been going to the UAE for over 12 years now and this is the first time I was told this in a 5* hotel - very disappointing. Major minus point!! Just about every hotel in Dubai, be they 3 4 or 5* have a free hotel shuttle service. The hotel offers a car service for ca. 75 EURO (note the airport is less than a 10 minute drive)

2. Rooms; Very big which loads of space. Beds extremely comfortable. Large Sofa and reading desks as well. Impressive. Bathroom very large with seperate bath and shower. Staff penny pinch and supply the absolute minimum on soaps, shampoos and shower gels - On 2 occasions I had to ask for more (strange for a 5* hotel methinks)

2. Breakfast - catered for the arabian palate which is fine as the majority of guests appear to be from the middle east / Gulf region. Its ok for 1 or 2 nights but after 5 or 6 days we lost all interest and ate elsewhere. Note to management: Tthere were quite a large number of Europeans and North Americans there as well - guess we dont count in your long term planning.

3. Staff; In genereal very friendly. However (there's always one), I mistakedly left the "do not disturb" light on in my room and left for work. Came back at 6pm and asked if they could make up my room - after a long and heated debatte in which I was lectured on my very bad mistake, they finally agreed to make up my room (reception staff). Really not acceptable in a 5* hotel. Also asked for housekeeping at 9pm was was grumpedly told to ring back the next morning.

4. Health Club / Spa; Excellent health club and Pool - top facilities and staff are extremely helpful. Spa prices have gone through the roof - other hotels nearby offer the same spa services i.e massages etc at a quarter the price

4. No Alcohol!! Just about every other 5* hotel in Dubai offers the option of alcohol to it's guests. If you dont drink alcohol out of religious reasons, that's you business and entitlement. However, other guests have different religions, views and tastes and this should be respected.

5. Internet. Very expensive at ca. EUR 25 per 24 hours. Website, not considered to be of meet the moral highground of the local authorities, are blocked by the hotel server. Other servers are used by the other 5* hotels!!!

Conclusion: Nice hotel that has seen better days - certianly not worthy of the 5* rating anymore. Management are penny pinching on every corner and the guest of course bears the brunt of this.

This hotel is fine if you are from the middle east ot Gulf region with 3 or 4 children on hand and want to do a couple of days shopping in Dubai. For western visitors looking to enjoy a relaxing week or so in Dubai - there are much better beach front hotels available in Dubai in the same price category.

Business people should give the place a wide berth - the place is overrun with familes and caters for them accordingly.

All in all I enjoyed the hotel due the friendliness of the staff but I wont be going back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcwilliam32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I happened to stay in the Taj Palace Hotel in Dubai for a couple of days and overall the experience was highly satisfying.
This hotel has the usual Taj 5 Star trappings and is located in Dubai’s central Deira neighbourhood - its only a few minutes walk from the Metro Station. The hotel also operates a daily shuttle service to the beach and to the City centre and shopping mall which is quite a boon.
The rooms are very comfy and noise-free, the bathroom is luxurious in an understated manner.My room had an over-sized balcony though the view of the city could have been a little better ! The room had the usual in-room amenities such as a tea/coffee maker and interactive flat-screen TV with satellite channels.
The Indian restaurant lived up to the usual high quality of most offerings from the Taj and the rooftop pool bar was just the right place to come to in the evenings.
The hotel staff are helpful specially the reception staff.A cute innovation that I noticed was an elevated contraption for kids to stand on alongside the reception lobby while their parents were completing the check-in or check-out formalities. The concierge staff were very useful specially in customised guidance for Indian travellers.
The the lounge in the lobby is tastefully done with traditional Arab sweets and savouries served in a corner.
Breakfast is an experience in itself with Indian, Arabian and Continental breakfast.
The swimming pool on the roof top is a cool place to relax in the evenings.The indoor fountains on the top floor are also very pleasing.
But the real find was the Wellness Centre which is located just below the roof top and is virtually the hidden secret jewel of the hotel.The staff in the Wellness Centre is very well trained and the range and types of treatments offered are simply out of the world.I was served by an extremely knowledgeable staffer who provided extremely sage advice and recommendations.The crowning part and the icing on the cake however were the modest prices charged as compared to similar offerings in other 5 star hotels not only in Dubai but even when compared to similar hotels in India as well.
I would recommend the Taj Palace Hotel in Dubai to other fellow travellers anytime and worth a visit atleast once for for its Wellness Centre alone !
.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sidroy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at the Taj Palace last April 2011 for 10 nights with my husband and 2 girls. (Ages 6 and 3). We booked a 2 bedroom apartment. The suite was huge and my children really enjoyed having their own room to stay in. Service of staff was very helpful and approachable. Location wise very central and easy access to the tube station and restaurants and fast food, i.e. McDonalds, KFC etc. Taxis are easily available and short rides to everywhere. We are so happy with this accomodation that we are staying there again this April and have booked a 2 bedroom apartment again.

Room Tip: Near reception as the apartment we were in was a bit of a walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiaagha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

As your taxi approaches the hotel, you wonder if the driver is taking you to the right place or not. This is because the area is full of residential flats, however, all that changes once your taxi stops!
Standing tall in the middle of flats is this rather long block of a building called the Taj Palace.

The staff are incredibly warm and helpful. The lounge is very relaxing. The exec suites are very big! Everything about it is rich, traditional and 5 star indeed.
Breakfast is an experience in itself. You get a buffet indian, arabian and continental breakfast. We had idlis one day, poha the other and pav bhaji on the third day! Food in general is top notch.
The swimming pool on the 11th floor is a hidden secret. It is very nice to cool off in the heat on the top of the building. Again the staff are very helpful in the spa.
The guys at the reception will call taxis for you, help you in planning your trip.
A nice way to end the day is to take in the piano that someone plays everyday next to the indoor fountains.
Just about everything is perfect, I guess the only downside is the view you get from your balcony. We got to see a flat across the street but this is a very minor thing.

Room Tip: Higher floors of course. Not sure if you get any views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coupleoftravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
6.0 mi away
Taj Dubai
Taj Dubai
#12 of 545 in Dubai
1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlton Palace Hotel
Carlton Palace Hotel
#199 of 545 in Dubai
776 reviews
0.7 mi away
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
AVANI Deira Dubai Hotel
#106 of 545 in Dubai
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#113 of 545 in Dubai
2,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Ghurair Rayhaan Dubai
1.6 mi away
Park Regis Kris Kin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jood Palace Hotel Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jood Palace Hotel Dubai

Property: Jood Palace Hotel Dubai
Address: Al Rigga Rd | Deira, Dubai 42211, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Taj Palace Dubai, Deira)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#137 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#145 Business Hotel in Dubai
#200 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jood Palace Hotel Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience sheer sophistication complemented by the warmth of Arabian hospitality at Jood Palace Hotel situated in the heart of Deira's commercial and business district. Choose from a luxurious selection of five-star accommodation, culinary venues, Jood Spa, recreation and fitness facilities as well as conference and event spaces. Conveniently located, a 15-minute drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention Centre, the hotel offers easy access to places of interest, be it for business or leisure. Explore the traditional souks, Dubai Museum, Dubai Heritage Village or indulge in retail therapy at Deira City Centre and much more. Keen to exceed expectations, our multi-lingual team of experts will ensure all your requests are given utmost focus and dedication. There is no request too big or small. Right from suggesting a dining venue, to a well-planned sightseeing itinerary, our Concierge team will go to great lengths to ensure your stay is flawless and memorable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jood Palace Hotel Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Taj Palace
Taj Palace Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing