We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Option Close to airport.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #232 of 546 Hotels in Dubai
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Option Close to airport.”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Close to airport and Shrajah road, where I wanted to travell. Good India food and nice sercvice.

  • Liked — Best place near airport and main city connecting to Sharjah/
  • Disliked — Bit away from down town
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letitita, Public Relations Executive at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, May 25, 2009
Dear Amit,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Deira Hotel for your recent stay while in Dubai.

Thank you for the compliments on the good food and nice service. We are continuously and actively workinging towards ensuring guest satisfaction to being at it’s pinnacle.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

yours sincerely,



Jennifer Amanna
PR Executive
Sheraton Deira Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    282
    177
    72
    58
See reviews for
127
194
102
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

What can I say this Hotel is absolutely shocking. We checked in around 4 am
in the morning after flying from Singapore. We decided to pay a Hotel room
rather than sit in reception until 3pm when the rooms would be ready whilst
checking in this scantily glad woman with thigh high boots and a micro mini
and a skimpy top walked passed us at reception . It would become clearer the
following night what ladies dressed like hookers were doing, wandering
around the hotel late at night. We were very tired and put the do not
disturb sign on the door only to find the maid vacuuming outside our door
banging the nozzle of the cleaner against our door at 9am. Obviously the
maid did not understand what do not disturb means. The room was adequate but
the towels were threadbare and the bathrobes had holes in them. The Hotel
have installed, state of the art coffee machines that just do not work after
four people came to look at the coffee machine and try and fix the problem I
politely asked would it be possible for me to have a kettle - The kettle
worked just fine. We found the Hotel very expensive considering the
location. The hotel is not really near anything in particular. They have a
nightclub next door, which is part of the hotel. A coke costs £3.50 and a
small bottle of beer £7. There is a supermarket a short walk from the Hotel
that caters for everything and a coke costs 20p there. Now to the shocking
part there is evidence of prostitutes everywhere in the corridors of the
Hotel in the Piano Bar and especially in the Nightclub when I asked the
Manager about this he said that there are buyers and sellers and he was
fully aware of the fact that prostitution was evidently being conducted. I
was shocked because I didn't expect this in Dubai and I didn't expect it in
the Sheraton. I am not talking about one or two I am talking about a whole
nightclub where I really do believe that I was the only genuine guest there,
all the other women were working girls and it was quite disgusting watching
mainly local men pawing these young girls. My husband and I felt totally
uncomfortable at this situation and we left quite quickly. If you want to
relax on the rooftop pool forget it every few minutes an aeroplane flies
overhead disturbing your peace and quiet. Breakfast was good and the staff
very efficient We decided to order room service we felt safer in our room.
The best thing about this Hotel was the checking out.
Please avoid at all costs

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Knowing this hotel from a previous stay and due to its close proximity to the airport, I booked two nights in a club room on my way to and from Abu Dhabi. I was not disappointed. The Sheraton Deira offers decent facilities and clean well maintained (club) rooms for the business traveller. The staff are efficient and friendly. On the renovated club floor, the bedrooms are large with flat screen TVs, well stocked mini-bars and large en-suite bathroom facilities. The club lounge offers decent finger food and complimentary alcoholic drinks during Happy Hour (6-8:00 pm) and tea, coffee, soft drinks, cakes, biscuits (cookies), nuts and crisps (chips) at other times when it is open (6:00am until 10:00 or 11:00pm).. There are also two computers in the club lounge with printer and internet access. A decent breakfast is a leisurely affair served in the club floor lounge for those staying in club rooms. The bar (Lindbergh's) on the 5th floor serves decent cold beer on tap and bar meals. The views are also good. The roof top swimming pool is a good place to unwind and relax during the day.

The hotel rooms are well insulated against the overflying aircraft but not so much against the music from the night club which "rocks" till about 03:00am. The music was audible in my room, but not loud enough to keep me awake (although it might others).

Another negative point, but beyond the control of the hotel, are the huge road works (construction) between the hotel and the airport - adding significantly to the time required to get to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shufti_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I was conducting due diligence for Planereality and had the opportunity to stay here for two nights last week and was impressed by how friendly the staff was. Each time you walked into the lobby, someone greeted you and asked if they could offer any assistance. I was upgraded to a club level room which was modern and clean, although I was charged for coffee when I did use the club lounge (?) There is NO hotel shuttle, so make arrangements in advance. It is a short ride to/from the airport and plenty of cabs available. Gym is adequate and open 24hrs. The rooftop pool with swim up bar, overlooking the city and airport, have to be the highlight of this hotel. I had a delicious lunch poolside consisting of local delicacies. The room service food was mediocre. There is a popular nightclub adjacent to the lobby and although this hotel is directly in a flight path, noise was not a problem on the 3rd floor. I would not stay here for a week’s vacation, but for a short trip or long layover, it’s perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryairandsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Best avoided:
- tacky furnishings
- smelly common areas (polished rather than cleaned)
- poor food
- dirty toilets
- dreadful, grubby business facilities
- 'sharp' practices with billing

  • Liked — Early departure
  • Disliked — Anorak plane spotters with long lenses sprawled all over the roof top pool area
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank other1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel even though it did seem a bit out of the way from all the main attractions Dubai has to offer. You need to get taxis, the Hardrock café was half an hour away and Wild wadi similar. At least taxis are cheap. Our room was clean and tidy and of a reasonable size. You could hear some aircraft noise as the hotel is on the flight path to the airport. We had breakfast in the hotel which was very good. Also thought the bar was fairly good. The roof top pool gives good views over Dubai. Hotel is probably suited for business travellers more than tourists.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Aircraft noise
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

The hotel is conveniently situated at the end of the airport runway. Remarkably this isn't noticeable unless you visit the roof top pool where i saw a couple of "anoraks" in socks and sandals with binoculars and cameras. Then a plane takes off and the earth moves. Downstairs the rooms are OK but make sure you get a refurbished one (they have extra power sockets for your laptop). The staff are friendly but when they come to your room it's difficult to get them to leave without dipping your hand in your pocket. There's a "night club" next door where a wide selection of unattractive girls hang out. The location of the hotel is terrible (middle of nowhere) and with Taxis in Dubai being scarce you are stuck.

  • Liked — Ana the barmaid
  • Disliked — They cancelled my reservation even though i told them i was arriving late and had to wait for a room at 3am.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RichardSW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#246 of 546 in Dubai
638 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Deira
0.6 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#126 of 546 in Dubai
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Deira
Ramada Deira
#192 of 546 in Dubai
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#194 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing