We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldy but Goody”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #225 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Doha,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oldy but Goody”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for a night . Very nice hotel, good location but needs refurbishment. Room furniture a bit old style but functional. Resident car park a bit far, have to use valet parking. The staff were very helpful and check in was a breeze.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripadviserDoha_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear TripadvisorDoha_,

Thank you very much for posting a review pertaining to your recent stay at Sheraton Deira.

I very much appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our rooms but most of all your praise of our associates. They are our greatest asset and it is always very rewarding when they get mentionned in guest reviews.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    277
    176
    72
    57
See reviews for
123
191
102
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was expecting the Sheraton standards however Sheraton Deira was disappointing. It was a noisy affair ! Doors were banged at 3am for two consecutive nights which was very strange and you can hear people shouting. The room I was given was not spacious either and was smelly, but the staff were marvelous they promptly ensured to service the room, honestly quite disappointing for Sheraton standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonflava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear londonflava,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel, Dubai and for taking the time to write a review.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I am very disappointed to know of this. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and therefore we appreciate your comments. Please rest assured that every matter will be addressed to the best of our ability so that we can prevent similar events from occurring in the future.

Yours sincerely,


FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've booked this hotel via the agent for my semi-business trip. The hotel has a roof-top swimming pool and I have chosen it because i am a keen Plane spotter (not a Plane-spotter-nutter type though).... The room I was given was spacious. I recommend that you sign up for free for a Starwood Preferred Guest programme before you book and upon arrival present your membership number - this will open all sort of useful doors in the hotel!

I have not tried their breakfast but all inclusive (beer, food and wine) food spread at the top of the roof Restaurant/puul Bar was excellent! On Friday we had a BBQ with nice Lamb, Seafood and international spread. Considering the drinks are a very much expensive affair in Dubai - try their all inclusive Dinner fair.

The internet was expensive and patchy and there is no alternative other than sitting downstairs and having a limited 45 minutes free browsing time at the Bar.

This hotel is probably the best value for money hotel in Dubai, if skillfully boooked..... The Airport is a cheap taxi ride away.

I am a very light sleeper but there was no problem with the noise from the aircraft. Yes, there are aircraft flying above but these are only taking off (only an observation) and the windows are very well Double-glased.

The hotel has at least 6 different bars, some of which are very intimate and could be romantic...

The gym is excellent - seen but not tried.

The pool is clean and the service at the pool bar was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear German L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel and taking the time to share your experience and promoting our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty program. We appreciate it!

We strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable and comfortable stay whilst with us. Therefore it is a pleasure to read your review on the different aspect of our products & services.

The entire team at Sheraton Deira Hotel would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Deira for 5 nights second time around - once again, great service by the staff. Room was nice on the 2nd floor, the bathroom had a water leak, got transferred to a room on the 4th floor instantly. Slight glitch but no big deal. Cleanliness was above average overall, quality of food and drinks was good, close access to shopping areas, and the staff exemplified warmth, care and affection with a great smile. Housekeeping staff also had a good service oriented attitude. Just a minor paint work being done on the 2nd floor but otherwise interior decoration is good. A good hotel to stay for the short term and a good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 4th floors facing the main road I suppose are good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shouvik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear tornado989,

We are delighted to read of your experiences as our guest during a recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel. You have also acknowledged that your previous experience was equally good. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor regarding your stay.

We hope to continue in your expectations of all that Sheraton stands for in terms of our core values of warmth, connected and community through our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hmm - disappointing is an understatement

If you like to touch the belly of an aircraft taking off then this is the hotel for you - there are plenty of people on the 6th floor pool area that do!! Not to my needs though. Comfortable enough hotel with friendly staff but that does not cover the noise of aircraft taking off under full power. I was lucky that I had a 4th floor room away from the disco so be very careful where your room is. The disco sops around 3 in the morning. You are a bit out of the way here so it is a cab to everything

Room Tip: tell the hotel you want to be as far from the disco as possible and ensure you get used to aircraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear SlimBF,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay. It is disappointing to note that you were not happy with your stay due to the noise from the nearby flying airplanes as we are located en route to the Dubai airport runway. All our rooms have double glazing but once outside I understand that this noise can be disappointing. I was very glad to read your aknowledgement of the overall comfort of the hotel as well as the staff friendliness something the Sheraton Brand is known for.

All your comments are constructively accepted and valued as it allows us to evaluate how we are performing from a customers point of view.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. I had to wait for four hours to check in. While my reservation was for double bed, after three hours, they books me for a queen bed single room. I refused and asked for the one I booked. it took another over an hour to get what I booked for. The room had a terrible smell and I had to complain to the front dest to clean the air in the room. The room cleaning service did not provide all the necessary items in the room. One day, we did not have mouth wash. Another day we did not get the soap. No one cared to have the simple writing pen in the room. More than caring for customers, the hotel seems more interested how much they can get money out of your pocket. The last day, around 9:30AM, the room service came to ask us when we will be leaving, while I had the privilege to check out by 12:00noon. After three days stay, I decided to move to another hotel which I am very happy. Truly, I wouldn't recommend any one to stay there. Not worth of your money!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Badegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Badegb,

Thank you very much for posting a tripAdvisor review pertaining to your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel. I am terribly sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and please accept my most sincere apologies for the lapses in service delivery you have experienced.

I appreciate you taking the time to point out where we can improve and I can assure you that all comments negative or positive will be adressed in order to ensure that they do not occur once again. You mention that you had to wait several hours before getting your room. As you did not mention the exact time of arrival, we do our utmost best for those clients arriving on early morning flights, to accomodate those that wish to check-in before our official 3pm check-in time. Unfortunately during the high season in Dubai this is not always possible as availability of rooms depends on the departure of our clients checking out.

Once again thank you for your feedback and i do hope that you will continue to patronise our over 1000 Starwood Hotels and Resorts.

Best regards

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is an ok hotel if youoachieve a good room rate. Staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms are large but could do with refreshing. All linen, sheets and towels were spotless, but standard of cleaning could be better. The club lounge served excellent breakfasts and snacks with refreshments at night. The pool area on the roof was a joy to behold....never less than 4 plane spotters with their gear at any time...food also excellent here. The hotel is in direct line with the 2 runways at the airport. The hotel is built around two inner courtyards, one of which is roofed over.....NOTE if you have a room facing the unroofed courtyard you will be plagued with plane noise all night.....we timed them one night at less than 2 minutes a plane and this was at 2 in the morning. The hotel is handy for old Dubai with a metro station about 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the uncovered courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4CHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear G4CHP,

Thank you for posting your recent review of your stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel.
Your feedback and complimentary comments on the hotel services and products are appreciated. All comments are constructively accepted and valued.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.
Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#236 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Deira
Ramada Deira
#188 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#118 of 542 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sea View
Hotel Sea View
#49 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#191 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing