We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I rate this hotel Excellent because of the value for money it represents” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #217 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I rate this hotel Excellent because of the value for money it represents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I've booked this hotel via the agent for my semi-business trip. The hotel has a roof-top swimming pool and I have chosen it because i am a keen Plane spotter (not a Plane-spotter-nutter type though).... The room I was given was spacious. I recommend that you sign up for free for a Starwood Preferred Guest programme before you book and upon arrival present your membership number - this will open all sort of useful doors in the hotel!

I have not tried their breakfast but all inclusive (beer, food and wine) food spread at the top of the roof Restaurant/puul Bar was excellent! On Friday we had a BBQ with nice Lamb, Seafood and international spread. Considering the drinks are a very much expensive affair in Dubai - try their all inclusive Dinner fair.

The internet was expensive and patchy and there is no alternative other than sitting downstairs and having a limited 45 minutes free browsing time at the Bar.

This hotel is probably the best value for money hotel in Dubai, if skillfully boooked..... The Airport is a cheap taxi ride away.

I am a very light sleeper but there was no problem with the noise from the aircraft. Yes, there are aircraft flying above but these are only taking off (only an observation) and the windows are very well Double-glased.

The hotel has at least 6 different bars, some of which are very intimate and could be romantic...

The gym is excellent - seen but not tried.

The pool is clean and the service at the pool bar was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear German L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel and taking the time to share your experience and promoting our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty program. We appreciate it!

We strive to provide all of our guests with a memorable and comfortable stay whilst with us. Therefore it is a pleasure to read your review on the different aspect of our products & services.

The entire team at Sheraton Deira Hotel would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    270
    174
    69
    56
See reviews for
119
182
99
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Deira for 5 nights second time around - once again, great service by the staff. Room was nice on the 2nd floor, the bathroom had a water leak, got transferred to a room on the 4th floor instantly. Slight glitch but no big deal. Cleanliness was above average overall, quality of food and drinks was good, close access to shopping areas, and the staff exemplified warmth, care and affection with a great smile. Housekeeping staff also had a good service oriented attitude. Just a minor paint work being done on the 2nd floor but otherwise interior decoration is good. A good hotel to stay for the short term and a good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 4th floors facing the main road I suppose are good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shouvik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear tornado989,

We are delighted to read of your experiences as our guest during a recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel. You have also acknowledged that your previous experience was equally good. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor regarding your stay.

We hope to continue in your expectations of all that Sheraton stands for in terms of our core values of warmth, connected and community through our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hmm - disappointing is an understatement

If you like to touch the belly of an aircraft taking off then this is the hotel for you - there are plenty of people on the 6th floor pool area that do!! Not to my needs though. Comfortable enough hotel with friendly staff but that does not cover the noise of aircraft taking off under full power. I was lucky that I had a 4th floor room away from the disco so be very careful where your room is. The disco sops around 3 in the morning. You are a bit out of the way here so it is a cab to everything

Room Tip: tell the hotel you want to be as far from the disco as possible and ensure you get used to aircraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear SlimBF,

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay. It is disappointing to note that you were not happy with your stay due to the noise from the nearby flying airplanes as we are located en route to the Dubai airport runway. All our rooms have double glazing but once outside I understand that this noise can be disappointing. I was very glad to read your aknowledgement of the overall comfort of the hotel as well as the staff friendliness something the Sheraton Brand is known for.

All your comments are constructively accepted and valued as it allows us to evaluate how we are performing from a customers point of view.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. I had to wait for four hours to check in. While my reservation was for double bed, after three hours, they books me for a queen bed single room. I refused and asked for the one I booked. it took another over an hour to get what I booked for. The room had a terrible smell and I had to complain to the front dest to clean the air in the room. The room cleaning service did not provide all the necessary items in the room. One day, we did not have mouth wash. Another day we did not get the soap. No one cared to have the simple writing pen in the room. More than caring for customers, the hotel seems more interested how much they can get money out of your pocket. The last day, around 9:30AM, the room service came to ask us when we will be leaving, while I had the privilege to check out by 12:00noon. After three days stay, I decided to move to another hotel which I am very happy. Truly, I wouldn't recommend any one to stay there. Not worth of your money!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Badegb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Badegb,

Thank you very much for posting a tripAdvisor review pertaining to your recent stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel. I am terribly sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and please accept my most sincere apologies for the lapses in service delivery you have experienced.

I appreciate you taking the time to point out where we can improve and I can assure you that all comments negative or positive will be adressed in order to ensure that they do not occur once again. You mention that you had to wait several hours before getting your room. As you did not mention the exact time of arrival, we do our utmost best for those clients arriving on early morning flights, to accomodate those that wish to check-in before our official 3pm check-in time. Unfortunately during the high season in Dubai this is not always possible as availability of rooms depends on the departure of our clients checking out.

Once again thank you for your feedback and i do hope that you will continue to patronise our over 1000 Starwood Hotels and Resorts.

Best regards

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is an ok hotel if youoachieve a good room rate. Staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms are large but could do with refreshing. All linen, sheets and towels were spotless, but standard of cleaning could be better. The club lounge served excellent breakfasts and snacks with refreshments at night. The pool area on the roof was a joy to behold....never less than 4 plane spotters with their gear at any time...food also excellent here. The hotel is in direct line with the 2 runways at the airport. The hotel is built around two inner courtyards, one of which is roofed over.....NOTE if you have a room facing the unroofed courtyard you will be plagued with plane noise all night.....we timed them one night at less than 2 minutes a plane and this was at 2 in the morning. The hotel is handy for old Dubai with a metro station about 5 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the uncovered courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G4CHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear G4CHP,

Thank you for posting your recent review of your stay at Sheraton Deira Hotel.
Your feedback and complimentary comments on the hotel services and products are appreciated. All comments are constructively accepted and valued.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the future.
Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

A first visit to the Sheraton Deira and reasonably impressed.
Its a short cab ride from the airport to the hotel in a fairly low key but safe suburban area, not much on the tourist trail here but enough within the hotel to keep you busy.
I found the place clean & tidy with the staff very welcoming; had a nice 4th floor room that was spacious, nicely furnished, quiet and with a very comfy bed.
Breakfast was plentiful with a mix of cooked & fresh food, evening meals were tasty and well presented but pricey: if your room rate allows it there is also a club lounge with complimentary drinks and nibbles at set times though the choice of snacks was pretty limited.
Found a Tv sports bar on one of the upper floors but sadly the overpowering smell of cigarette smoke put me off going in for a beer.
Didnt get to use the gym, sauna, beauty salon but the roof sundeck is a nice area with plenty of seating around a modest pool and hottub - a great area to soakup the sun with panoramic views over the distant airport if that is your thing (yes, you will get some aircraft noise).

Downsides - well, usual hotel complaint of expensive mini bars but seriously a five minute walk to a mini-mart will save you a fortune, likewise the prices in the pool area are steep but they have figured you are a captive audience.
Internet usage prices are VERY high here - I am a frequent user/surfer and got hit hard for 3 days. Thought it might have been complimentary for club rooms but not so - check what you are paying for and getting! Watch out/allow for for the end of stay mandatory taxes that will bump up your final room bill.
So, I suggest you wouldnt be here to check out the local area, its maybe more business than a luxury resort hotel but if you just want to relax and watch a few planes go past its a pretty good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport appear to be well sound insulated. The better rooms on higher floors may o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twixle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Twixle,
Thank you for taking the time to review and post on Trip Advisor the hotel’s products and services and express your feedback on the positives and negatives of the hotel which we do take very constructively. You have mentioned that you were reasonably impressed. We appreciate your feedback on the hotel location, it’s safety aspect, hotel/room cleanliness & comfort, staff being welcoming and many more good things.
We have noted your disappointment on the Minibar prices and internet fee – we will definitely look into it.
Our team at Sheraton Deira Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back soon. If you require reservation assistance kindly contact the hotel directly or book online via our website.

Stay connected on our Facebook page – facebook.com/sheratondeira ,
Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Second visit to this hotel, even better this time than the first. A great welcome, concierge there to help with bags.
Room large, clean, and good amenities, especially this UK plug sockets.
It was my birthday out there and I was given a cake and card from the hotel team!
Roof top pool fanatstic view, especially as I love planes. The free internet access downstairs a welcome amenity albeit only being for 45 minutes.
You could hear the planes taking off, this wasnt a problem for me but it could be if you wanted total peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emirates123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear emirates123
Thanks emirates123 for sharing your experience! Appreciate every compliment in every area that you have experienced. It’s always our pleasure to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience when they stay with us.
Once again thank you for your warm review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you require reservation assistance kindly contact the hotel directly or book online via our website.
Stay connected on our Facebook page – facebook.com/sheratondeira ,
Warm regards,

FW, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
0.5 mi away
Ramada Deira
Ramada Deira
#188 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Deira
3.0 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#63 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#235 of 544 in Dubai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Property: Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#186 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing