We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
Ranked #236 of 561 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sheraton Deira is very good hotel. Staff is very helpful and efficient. Very good restaurant. be sure to stay in smoke free room even if you smoke ( you can smoke outside hotel ). good swimming pool on terrace but bit noisy because of low flying planes.

I recommend Sheraton Deira to the families visiting Dubai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pareshuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Pareshuganda,

Thank you for your very recent stay with us at Sheraton Deira Hotel!

We appreciate your complimentary comments on the hotel’s product and services. Moreover we thank you for recommending Sheraton Deira as a family hotel

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 854 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

if you knew Dubai in the eighties, your would definitely appreciate this hotel. It seems that nothing has changed there since then. The area in Deira used to be the metropolitan downtown, not anymore. It is a very old part of the city, crowded as ever and far from all the fun in the new Dubai on the other side of town. That's why I guess it is priced moderately compared to other hotels. so it is a trade-off. staying in an outdated place for a lower rate or pay double or triple in a nicer location and more modern setup. I enjoyed it because it reminded me of the old Dubai but for a first time visitor there are much nicer hotels to see.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Isakka,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience whiles a guest at the Sheraton Deira on a recent stay.

Your feedback is constructively taken both the positive and negative. It is true that we form the old part of Dubai which goes way back to before the eighties and must say are proud of this cultural & historical heritage which not many are luck to carry.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and our team at Sheraton Deira Hotel would be delighted to welcome you back soon. If you ever need reservation assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website.

Stay connected,

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Awesome Experience....the rooms r nice, loaction is good, and safe.....,its 10 min ride to the metro station and well connected....Diera Mall near by ...Free shuttle service....Just make sure you check the timings in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sunil t.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a tripadvisor review on your experience whilst a guest at the Sheraton Deira.

I am glad to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and I thank you for choosing to stay with us. The team at Sheraton Deira Hotel would be delighted to welcome you back soon. If you ever need reservation assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website.

Stay connected,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed here more than once and it seems to be slipping. Smoking is allowed in some rooms and if you get put in one of these it is most unpleasant (even after requesting non-smoking we ended up in one) and to be frank they stink worse than some old pub because the windows are sealed and they don't get a decent airing. Also a couple that I spoke to in the lift were a bit put out because their non-smoking room had clearly been used recently by a smoker (or so they said).

There is the odd scam running as well. The boys out the front insist on being helpful and driving you in to the Dubai Mall (in the "Hotel Car"). Thats OK but they use a random number generator to work out a fare. Normally 40 Dirhams (Max) in a regular cab they charge anything between 50 and 90 as well as trying the "I dont have any change trick". I also have a strong objection to being driven through the centre of Dubai at 100 km/hr with a driver composing a text message on a mobile phone at the same time.

The restaurant is run pretty much as a buffet but it's a good one and the staff there are great. The sellection available and quality are first rate.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms where smoking is allowed at all costs. Other than that they seem OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotelOwnerNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear MotelOwnerNSW,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel, Dubai.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.
It is disappointing to read your experiences on the smoke odor in the room allocated for your stay and the transportation fee to Dubai Mall. I do empathize on your situation as this is not our general norm of services and will be immediately looked into. However, the transportation is a leased out service and your concern will be conveyed to them so that there is no more reoccurrences of what you experienced.

We appreciate you acknowledging the good food & service in the restaurant.

If you need any reservation assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website. In the meantime however please keep an eye on our Sheraton Deira Hotel Facebook Page which will keep you up to date with all of our deals & reviews just to name a few.

Stay connected,

Yours sincerely,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

i was staying 4 days in this hotel with my close friend as we called the housekeeping and we asked s.th it was immidiatly ready at the door. most of staffs were from philipines they were kind and polite. and also i enjoyed the break fast in it's tiny beautiful yard... also we enjoyed dining in Teheran night club in persian style. i forgot to explain about the concierge desk which acted very fast and carefully.... Totally i found it reallly nice hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Sarah J,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it!

It was fantastic to read your warm comments on the promptness of service and politeness from our Housekeeping & Concierge associates which we do hope contributed towards your good stay. We always like to make our hotel feel like a home away from home and therefore we are proud that you found our team members helpful and welcoming. Moreover it feels good that you really found our hotel nice.

Our team at Sheraton Deira Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back soon. If you require reservation assistance kindly contact the hotel directly or book online via our website. In the meantime however please like our Sheraton Deira Hotel Facebook page which will keep you up to date with all of the new happenings around the hotel from deals, offers, & upcoming events.

Stay connected,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week....the rooms r nice, loaction is good, and safe.....,its a quick ride to the metro station...n well connected....deira market is rt around the corner....v had bf here n it was decent...its v close to the airport..... make sure u take their free shuttle to the beach.....getting around can get expensive in dubai so take all the free options u can....decent stay...

Room Tip: Make sure u r not in flight path....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pallavi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear momof2pune,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel and sharing your experiences.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review – it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. We are glad that you enjoyed our location & connectivity around town, the rooms, the hotel’s close proximity to the airport and the free shuttle service to the beach.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you ever need reservation assistance please contact the hotel directly or via our website. In the meantime you can keep an eye on our Sheraton Deira Hotel Facebook Page which will keep you up to date with all of the happenings around the hotel from deals, reviews as well as upcoming events just to name a few.

Stay connected,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The name Sheraton usually gives you an indicator that the establishment is going to be very good, well I was wrong.
After a long flight the check in process was awful we encounted a very rude receptionist who obviously has never heard of "the how can I help you" attitude that normally prevails throughout the Sheraton hotels we have stayed in.
Our room was musty and not so clean with the bathroom having mould around the bathtub.

We wanted to get an understanding of what the city of Dubai was like so we took the hotels recomended 4 hour city explorer bus trip and the night dinner cruise ($198), BIG mistake the tour took us past many existing and underconstruction five star hotels which was the main item the guide kept on talking about. The dinner cruise on the creek was awful, there is not enough words available to discribe it, both are not up to the standard that Sheraton normally recommend.

The check out process was also a misrable experience, not a smile in sight and the attitude suggested that we were lucky to be there.

During our time in Dubai we travelled by taxi and not one driver spoke to us without us starting the conversation except the last one that transferred us back to the airport, out of the blue he said "do not stay at that hotel next time you come to Dubai its not a good hotel there are much better hotels downtown" HOW RIGHT HE WAS.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Mts_Concierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FWaller, General Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Blue_Mts_Concierge,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sheraton Deira Hotel, Dubai and for taking the time to write a review.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and I am very disappointed to read your experiences. I am very gratefull for your detailed service encounter failure explanations as one of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and additional associate training opportunities. Please rest assured that every matter will be addressed so that we can prevent similar events from occurring in the future.

Warm regards,

FW, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
0.6 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#139 of 561 in Dubai
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hotel
#248 of 561 in Dubai
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Deira
2.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#179 of 561 in Dubai
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira

Address: Al Muteena St | Deira, Dubai 5772, United Arab Emirates (Formerly Sheraton Deira Hotel)
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#151 Business Hotel in Dubai
#198 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $63 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira is one of the handpicked hotels for guests visiting Dubai. Superbly situated in the busiest location of Deira, close to airport, known for its unique Arabian hospitality. The 229 smoking & non-smoking rooms, standard, suites, executive and one Royal Suite. Dining offers in The Terrace restaurant, Le Cafe, Lindbergh’s Bar & Stars Studio Night Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dubai
Dubai Sheraton
Sheraton Deira Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing