We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price this a great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chelsea Plaza Hotel
Ranked #396 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was in Dubai but forget to book a Hotel, my Taxi driver suggested to go to the Rydges!
It was great, great manager very helpful, beautiful room, big bed.
It is the middle of Dubai, so you dont have to spend a fortune on taxi s, like if you where staying in Al Barsha.

Room Tip: I think they al good!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wzrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Only 3 of the 9 floors in use. Constant noise all day from building work. Very few channels on t.v. Manager got us a new t.v. On our second day there. Best thing about hotel, the breakfast, had 2 night stopover there and could not wait to leave. Do not stop there untill building work is finished.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here in August. We booked knowing the hotel was undergoing renovation. However the a/c in our room did not work. When reported we were shown 3 other rooms- a/c not working in any! Then we found insects crawling on the bed. We demanded to change rooms. The next morning my husband was covered in huge bites. It seems the bed was infested with bedbugs!!! The manager suggested he was "allergic to the furniture polish"!! At this point we said we would not stay in the hotel any longer. The manager then arranged or us to move to the Ramada Chelsea Hotel which was fine. We lived in Dubai for a no of years & knew the Chelsea Plaza when it was Rydges Plaza & was a great hotel. However now it is terrible & we would NOT recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: August 2012
2  Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

nice hotel to stay with family nice food nice staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deep w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Recent name change to Chelsea plaza but taxis still recognise Rydges. Hotel is in a pretty good location, close to airport and plenty to do and see in local area. Facilities are ok, staff are generally very good and food beverage outlets excellent.
However the wifi charges of almost $15 a day are too much. Most hotels catering to western travelers offer either free wifi or much much cheaper than this. Secondly the free coffee at breakfast, which comes in at over $20 does not include decaf coffee, which is almost $4 extra. Ok so no big deal, but it's instant coffee and a jar in local supermarket is $5. Real shame because it has potential!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Rydges Plaza Dubai for 7 nights on our way to Europe. The hotel is ideally located to all the major sites. The rooms are well-maintained and service is of a high standard.

The price of accommodation is very reasonable and the hot buffet breakfast was of a very high standard.

Staff are very polite and very helpful.

I would not hesitate to stay there again on a return trip.

Room Tip: The executive wuite rooms are outstanding and the room rate is very, very reasonable. Complimentary...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiegirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at Rydges Dubai for one night during my stopover in Dubai. Rydges was not a well-known hotel chain in the Middle East, but since I had stayed in its other properties in Australia-NZ before, I chose to stay at the property (plus the room rate was good).

My flight arrived at Dubai after mid-night, so I sent an email to the hotel's reservation desk to hold the room for a late check-in before the trip. They did follow it up, so when I arrived at the hotel (about 2 am) everything was prepared and check-in was speedy. The front desk staff member also explained everything quite clearly and accomodated my request for a late check-out. An excellent first impression.

The room was spacious (though it was the norm in Middle East star hotels) with a good view towards a round-about in front of the property. The decoration and furnishing in the room were old fashion but well-maintained. As it was just a stopover, I spent most of the time in the room during my stay. Even at daytime, I didn't feel the noise from the outside traffic, which was good.

In general, I was pleased with my short stay at the hotel. It did not have the flamboyant atmosphere one might find in other classy hotels in Dubai, but it is a good option to stay at its price range.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KeepDiscovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.6 mi away
Al Khoory Executive Hotel – Al Wasl
0.5 mi away
Rove Trade Centre
Rove Trade Centre
#127 of 554 in Dubai
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Apartments Dubai World Trade Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jumeira Rotana
Jumeira Rotana
#161 of 554 in Dubai
776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis One Central Dubai
Ibis One Central Dubai
#185 of 554 in Dubai
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jumeirah
Ramada Jumeirah
#153 of 554 in Dubai
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Plaza Hotel

Address: 237 2nd December Street | PO Box 24621, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $47 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exquisite decor of the 90 deluxe rooms and 8 suites is finished in impeccable detail with wood, silk and bronze, complementing a king or twin bed/s with Dream Beds, lush linens, feather duvets, large work desks and high-speed Internet. Enjoy views of bustling Satwa or the serene view of the fountain. What is special to all rooms is the unique separate Bath and Walk-in shower facility, plus thoughtful touches such as bathrobes, slippers and morning newspaper on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chelsea Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Plaza Dubai Hotel Dubai
Dubai Rydges Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing