We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and too far out of town!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel
Ranked #63 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dated and too far out of town!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

We stayed here last month, and although I researched the hotel well, and knew it was out of town, I think it was probably too far out of town, and construction work near the beaches in Dubai is not as bad as I expected, so staying in town is something we would do next time.

As for the hotel, it is very dated and a huge block of concrete, like something you would expect to find in commercial parts of Spain!

There is nothing special about the hotel at all and although it is cheaper than the more exclusive resorts not enough to make it worth your while, but the difference in price is noticeable when you see what you get for your money

The food is average at best, the buffet is okay but not great. My wife didn't even want to eat breakfast on the 7th floor buffet as it was awful quality, and the place was stuffy and smelt bad!Signatures restaurant is okay, but White Orchid is the only decent restaurant at the resort. The food is well prepared, fresh and a must visit if you like Thai or Sushi! It is also a very nice place to chill out with cushions and sofas outside.

The Beaches and Pool area we can't fault, life guards are everywhere and you do feel safe.

Cabs to and from Dubai, the mall and so on are well priced but 100 dhs one way, you will want to go to Wild Wadi the water park, and the Emirates Mall!

Also despite it being a 'spa' resort or retreat on the beach, be warned don't try and eat at any restaurant with flip flops on even if you have smart trousers on with them, they won't let you in!

I hope this is to do with local etiquette rather than the hotel trying to look 'smart'. They need to worry about other things before footwear. We have been lucky enough to visit some lovely places in Maldives, St Lucia etc and they actively discourage you from wearing shoes!
My advice, don't stay here, nothing terribly wrong with it, just nothing right with it either!

  • Liked — The pool and beach area
  • Disliked — the room was filthy!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Benandanna1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,958
    654
    192
    62
    40
See reviews for
1,054
1,172
80
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

A fantastic place to stay, 5 stars all the way.

Possibly the best quality food I have ever eaten anywhere, the staff were some of the best we have ever come across.

The pool is a bit small for such a large location but very child friendly and the beach is only a few meters away anyway. Views are not spectacular, but if you want to see the the latest palm island being built, then this is the place for you, thats all you can see.

Dont want to critisise it any more than that because it is a stunning hotel, peacocks evrywhere

  • Liked — detail
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Been_there_d0ne_that
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

Just back from our first trip to Dubai and can't wait to go back. The hotel is about 45 mins from the city but we were very glad we stayed there away from the building works!! There is a shuttle bus which goes to the main malls 4 times a day and you can hop on a taxi from there if you want to go further afield. The hotel is peaceful, beautiful surroundings, very clean, lovely rooms, really friendly staff who can't do enough for you. The golf was great, you can go deep sea fishing and there is also a seaplane for trips over the palm island along the coast. The hotel may not be as ultra modern as those in the city but still well worth a visit.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2007

Great stay at this place on the way to Sydney. No real complaints other than the hotel is a bit dated in Dubai terms. What it lacks in Dubai 'bling' it makes up in peace and quiet.

Not a place to stay if you are looking for lots on hustle and bustle, shops, clubs etc. Great for kids for a few days. good get a bit too much of the same for any more than a few days though.

Good beach and would recommend the sailing club if you have kids and want to eat for a reasonable price and not get dressed up!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tonythetiger69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed at the Jebel Ali for a two night stop over on the way back from Mauritius to the UK. We only went for a couple of nights to see what Dubai was like and whether it would be worth going back for a proper holiday....which we most definitely would.

We arrived at 7am and although our travel agent told us she had arranged an early check in, we did not get into our room until 1pm and after 30 hours of no sleep we had to go straight to bed and that wasted our first day in Dubai. However, we did get upgraded to a 5th floor suite which was absolutely fantastic with the best views I have ever seen. Being on the 5th floor also meant we had special priviledges such as free internet, free evening drinks between 7-8pm and free afternoon tea and cakes. The staff were very eager to please and very friendly.

We didn't get time to use any of the hotel facilites (apart from the lovely warm pool) as we spent our only full day there exploring the main Dubai city but the hotel had everything anyone would need.

We booked this hotel as our agent told us it was next to the Palm Island but it was next to the new Palm Island and not the main one so we had to get the shuttle (which was free by the hotel) into the main city. However, the hotel did house the only SeaPlane (at the moment) and for £100 each we flew over the city to see all the main attractions such as Palm Island and The World etc. This was definitely worth it.

For people like us who do not usually go to such posh places, there is a dress code for the evenings and each restaurant had different allowances so make sure you pack formal clothes.

For the small amount of time we were there, we were very impressed with the Jebel Ali Hotel and Dubai and are planning a proper holiday for next year.

  • Liked — The 5th floor suite
  • Disliked — Late check in
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Easilyburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norther Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

Just returned from a marvelous holiday in Dubai. It was our first visit to the UAE and were most certainly not disappointed!
I can now see how people return year after year.
From the minute we entered the Jebel Ali hotel we couldn't hae felt more pampered. The staff are so tentative and are on hand to answer to your every whim.
On arrival into our room we had flowers, champagne and chocolates awaiting. The room was average size, spotlessly clain and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast selection was plentiful and I would thoroughly recommend Shooters restaurant for a super steak, although remember to book well in advance during busy times. The hotel has various restaurants, most of which we sampled and were not disappointed.
The hotel runs a coach service to various local attractions, i.e. gold souk, mall of the emirates which is a great way to access these areas.
The private beach was beautiful and sun loungers plentiful. We spent most time at the beach due to the pleasant sea breezes.
All in all we loved the country and the hotel and endeavour to return again next year-wish I was back walking along the golden sand now!

  • Liked — Excellent customer service.
  • Disliked — Slightly far out from the main tourist areas
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JocelynNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

Before I start, don't get me wrong, we really did enjoy our stay here. We wanted a week in the sun to recharge our batteries in the peace and quiet, and we got it.

But.

When we arrived I couldn't help feeling slightly disappointed. The place seemed a little tired and the room was small and a touch shabby round the edges. As we wandered around, suddenly it clicked. This place is The Jumeirah Beach Hotel's dad, together with pipe and slippers. If you look at the building it is a clunky, lego-style version of the famous breaking wave design of The JBH and the layout is almost the same in terms of the sports facilities and the pools. There is nothing wrong with providing the template for one of Dubai's finest hotels, but at Jebel Ali they seem stuck in a time warp. This is played out 24/7 as one channel on the old wind-up telly is dedicated to showing a golf tournament that took place some ten years ago, no doubt when the place was cutting edge and really earned it's five stars and 'Leading Hotels Of The World' membership.

On the up side, the beach is terrific, albeit marred by the typical Dubai vista of cranes and building sites, and the staff really do try hard to please, always smiling and saying hello. The food is OK, but could do with dragging out of the last decade, we ended up taking taxis (with a 50% mark up when you ask the hotel to book one for you - a monopoly they hold as you are in the middle of nowhere) back to Jumeirah for dinner in the evenings.

As I said, we did enjoy our stay, it was mission accomplished in terms of relaxation, and the Jebel Ali is alot cheaper than it's younger, trendier rivals up the coast, but once you taste Champagne, it is hard to go back to Blue Nun. If you want peace and quiet, you don't mind being away from the action and aren't too fussed about having a wide choice of fine dining, the Jebel Ali will serve you well.

Just don't expect to see Tiger Woods around any time soon.

  • Liked — The beach and the staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank MfR010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
JA Palm Tree Court
#20 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#57 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rixos The Palm Dubai
#36 of 545 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel

Property: JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel
Address: Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#44 Family Hotel in Dubai
#46 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#59 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#123 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the golden shores of the Arabian Gulf, the Jebel Ali Beach Hotel at the award-winning Jebel Ali Golf Resort features 231 standard rooms and suites over 5 floors. In addition to the palm-lined private beach and temperature-controlled swimming pools, the resort also features a 9-hole golf course with golf academy, 80-berth marina, horse riding stables, a variety of different restaurants and bars and The Spa, a purpose-built wellness facility overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your JA Jebel Ali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jebel Ali Golf Hotel Dubai
Jebel Ali Golf Resort And Spa
Jebel Ali Hotel Dubai
Jebel Ali Golf Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing