We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience we'll never forget!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Ranked #26 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“An experience we'll never forget!”
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Well what can we say that hasn't already been said about the Burj?
We booked through Amex - got the free brekkie, free massage late check out and upgrade if avialable.
We spent 7 nights at the Mina Salem - our last night was to be at the Burj - the Mina called ahead to let the Burj know that we were coming - and off we went on the buggy. When we arrived we were greated warmly and checked in - to a 2 bedroom suite - so we got our upgrade.
We got there at 11.30am and our suite was ready and waiting for us - we loved our tour of the hotel, loved looking up into that big atrium, but were eager to finally see the famous suites. So in we went - well we were staggered - as everyone said we would be. The suite was 3,000 square foot! 2.5 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, 1 bar area, 1 dinning room (with 6 seater table), 1 living room and a wonderful spiral staircase. Our floor to ceiling windows looked out over palm island - which was great as it really gave us perspective over the whole massive project. We also had 4 plasma tv's - yes we used them all.
We too enjoyed all the freebies - the dates, cheesey nibbles and the sweet nibbles, the bottle of wine, all the Hermes toiletries, the slippers, the flip flops and the beach bag - and yes we brought quite a few pieces home with us! Why not - we paid enough for our 1 night!
Anyway after all the suite expolration - we headed down to the pool - very nice sun loungers, great service - interesting other guests - good people watching place. I actually spent quite a lot of time in the hot tub - nice and relaxing not too hot and gets the sun in the afternoons.
We had a lovely lunch by the pool - then went up to the sky bar to watch the sunset and look at the amazing views- have to say that the sky bar was very oddly decorated - kind of distracted you from the view!
Back down in our suite nice Mr Butler had delivered a cheese plate which we enjoyed very much whilst we tried out the 2 whirlpool jacuzzi's!
Next morning we had the buffet breakfast which was delicious - not sure how much it would cost normally - it was part of our package. As we had late check out we were able to have our room till 4pm - which was great as we had a late flight that night, so we spent another day by the pool and then headed up to the spa - had a great massage and really enjoyed hanging out in the pool area looking at the twinkling lights of Dubai.
The Burj really was everything we thought it would be - over the top almost gaudy but yet somehow managing to stay amazing and non tacky. There were plenty of people flashing their cash but also plenty of people like us - just there for the experience. I reccomend it - for a once in a lifetime stay. Would we go back - maybe if we had new people to take with us - i really think thats the beauty of it - your first memorable visit.

  • Liked — the size and oppulance of the suite
  • Disliked — the price!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank puppyjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,254
    512
    195
    85
    55
See reviews for
912
1,716
174
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

I stayed at the Burj Al Arab in late November for a couple of nights with my wife and young family. It’s a bit of a curates egg to be honest. There are aspects which are fantastic –the architecture, the size of the suites, the location and so on. Yet there are many other which frankly leave room for improvement and are just high end 4* rather than the claimed 7*. The English of the staff is not universally great, the price of the room service and mini bar is truly hideous, verging on the comic frankly, the in room décor is ‘idiosyncratic’—you might call it Versace to the Max, the TV sound quality was very bad in my room, sometimes getting things done took an age (tho at other times it was amazingly quick and efficient).

One of the highlights was the resort beach which was manicured and clean with a good restaurant and (kid) friendly staff. The rest of the resort is not kid friendly (certain restaurants are disallowed) which I do not mind/respect even though I am often travelling with a young family.

The place is clearly a stop off point for the more money than sense crew (and I include myself in that category..) but its also a place where you’d be a very particular person if you were to return frequently. I do not mean that in a negative way simply that it is a self selecting crowd which is

I’d say go here for 1 night only and then go for the Jumeirah Beach over the road. Make sure you take a moment to grab the complimentary and fantastic complimentary toiletries…I’m so cheap..

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
15 Thank londonbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

This place is everything that the previous reviewers say it is. We stayed for 3 nights in early October.

Magnificent, gaudy, decadent, opulent, extraordinarily expensive and an absolute indulgence.

Once you overcome your immediate response to the loud colours and gold accents, you begin to understand that the decor of the Burj really works. If it were done in muted tones and had modern lines it would be considered as cold and ordinary. It is what it has to be to fulfil our concept of the excesses of Arabian wealth.

No matter what you think of the decor, the service is impecable. The suites are breathtaking - ours (911?!) was a panoramic suite situated on a corner of the Burj providing us with view out toward the gulf as well as back toward the beach club.

The bed and the pillows (after selecting appropriate ones from the pillow menu) were by far the most comfortable we had on our entire trip. Our 3 yr old was entranced by the mirror over the bed (yep- one of those touches that some of us could have done without). The free amenities and the bathroom were amazing, and the children's Sinbad pack was a real hit with our little girl.

The beach was fantastic - nothing like heading in for a swim and returning to a champagne bucket filled with bottles of chilled water and Evian sprays to keep us cool.

My husband and I dined at Al Muntaha after cocktails in the Skyview Bar. Incredible food and wine and by far the most expensive meal we have ever had - which is saying something after a mis-order at Rockpool in Sydney several years ago which resulted in an extremely expensive bottle of Penfolds being consumed with our meal. We did, however, drink French Champagne and wine and both of us had the Wagyu for main course (sensational).

Our daughter was very happy back in the suite being waited on hand and foot by the "babysitter" that we had hired for her. Note to parents - babysitting charges at the Burj are really reasonable especially when compared to the prices we paid in London.

One criticism - the staff should be discouraged from offering chocolates to cute little blond 3yr old girls who are wandering around the complex. The amount of times I had to say "no"!

Give yourself over to the Burj and you'll have a fabulous time (just don't look at the bill 'til you get home)!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank AKA_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany/Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Stayed for 2 days on a return from the holiday at the Seychelles (husband, wife, boy).

Was the second stay after some years. Was not quite as flamboyant, tacky and bombastic as remembered. The architecture is still stunning, the service still is really excellent, the rooms are spacious and the view is truely great. The food was this time -earlier reviews had complained- very good, excellent indeed. The chef has changed recently we were told.

What appears to have changed is the sociology of the guests. A hotel's character is mainly defined by its guests. Our impression was that the hotel now sells itself in packages. At breakfast we have seen an astonishing frequency of ultrashort shorts, cheap T-shirts, bathroom sandals and inadequate table manners. The majority of breakfast guests evidently has really worked for the money they spent at the Burj. Those guests, however, which one would immediately
associate with a hotel like the Burj probably had breakfast up in their rooms.

The hotel has guided tours for visitors. Looking at guests is included. The hotel is an ideal place for wow! and amazing! shreekers. Experienced and demanding travellers would go there just once, for the sake of it, but subsequently they would seek for a a more exclusive and discreet place. These places exist in Dubai.

  • Liked — the hotel as such
  • Disliked — the other guests
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank congress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

As a treat to end our holiday in Dubai to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday I booked the Burj for our final night on a B&B basis after staying at Dar al Masyaf. After being greeted and asked to wait in the lobby we were escorted to our room. We were upgraded to a Panoramic suite (612) as it was my husbands birthday. All I can say is WOW, the suite was huge with business centre, bar area, huge lounge with sofas dining table and sweeping staircase upto bedroom. The bed was huge, sep dressing area and bathroom with jacuzzi, shower, his and her sinks and complementary Hermes toiletries (full size). The butler shows you around the suite and how to use the remote which you can do everything with. He then came back with his boss and another butler with a chocolate birthday cake for my husband and 12 red roses for me and sang happy birthday much to my husbands embarrassment. His boss said he would come back and show us around the hotel, as a special treat he took us up to the Royal Suite, if you think the lobby is OTT! Had a meal at Al Muntha which was nice if a bit pricey. The hotel is truely luxurious and a once in a lifetime experience which we thoroughly enjoyed and was the perfect end to a perfect holiday.

  • Liked — luxury
  • Disliked — the remote control!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank orisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We booked the Burj Al Arab for a special occasion. We felt at first that it was a little over priced for a one night stay with no breakfast included.

We have lived with the Burj in our view for almost a year now, however only once you pass security and onto the bridge that connects it to the main land, you truly appreciate its majesty.

On arrival, we had some delay problems due to not bringing our Passport's with us, however after stamping my feet a little the matter was promptly and amicably resolved. The decor on first look is brash but it is very fitting and really does grow on you.

We had the standard room on the third floor. Now we have stayed in a lot of world class hotels but this room was a monster. It really is hard to describe this epic. Panoramic views of the ocean on both levels, remote operated curtains, Bubble bath, a list to choose your pillows, complimentary Dates, Treats, Fruit, Water, Hermes products, slippers, bags the list goes on.

Strange however it did not feel like a hotel but instead home, a feeling we have never had from any other accomodation. It is the first time I have been truly sad to leave a venue.

Whoops almost forgot. Food: The underwater seafood place look amazing but we dont like seafood. The place on the 27th floor next to the Bar is well ugly as sin, this rooms decor can not be forgiven and can only be compared to a Bingo Hall from the UK at $300 a head (No Thanks) Instead we had our butler book us into the Mexican (Go West) in one of the ajoining hotels. Brilliant food, great drinks and it was all a blur from there apart from the suprise bath I had the butler pour for the wife on return, rose petals throught the room, soft music playing and a bottle a of bubbly.

One warning however. While the Glass says " Has been triple protected so no one can see in" that does not apply at night when drunk and naked with the room lights on :)

  • Liked — Suite
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank shevybevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Burj is undoubtedly a landmark in Dubai. The hotel has been packaging itself very successfully. The high price makes it accessible to the prestigious few. Yet people are attracted to the hotel as they expect it should be an experience that cannot be missed as long as they can afford.

I booked Burj through their official website as I could not find any deals in other sites. The price is around US$1000++ for one night during June. I arrived at Dubai late in the evening and I chose to stay at Jumeirah Beach Hotel just opposite to Burj and moved to Burj the next morning. As Jumeirah Beach and Burj are sister hotels, the move was smooth. Jumeirah Beach arranged a free car to bring us over to Burj the next day.

The decor of Burj is impressive but I cannot say it is the most beautiful hotel I've ever been. Bold colors are used all over the hotel - royal blue, red, yellow, gold, green, etc. All rooms are suites with two levels. The "complimentary" items may easily cost US$300 out of the room rate (see picture):
1. Beach bag
2. Beach sandals x 2
3. Red wine from Australia
4. French bottled water
5. A box of savory snacks
6. A box of dates
7. A box of local cookies
8. A box of french macaroon
9. Hermes toiletries - full set, full size: soap, cologne, shampoo, conditioner, deordorant, female & male
10. Huge fruit basket

A Siemens central control system is installed which controls the blinds, TV, tel, lights, etc. However, the TV was out of order throughout our stay and the blinds are too noisy. Arabian scents are sprayed inside the lifts but the smell is too strong to non- arabians like me.

We had lunch at the famous "underwater" seafood restaurant , Al Mahara. The "submarine" trip to the restaurant is a disappointing gimmick. The seafood is fresh but taste is only mediocre at this price. The lunch costed US$500 per person without wine. Our friends which were staying at other hotels joined us for lunch in Burj only wanted to see the hotel. They were only allowed inside the hotel 30 minutes before the booking. This is again a clever trick of the hotel which makes guests feel prestigious.

The stay is AN EXPERIENCE but I think I may not go back for a second time. I would even say staying there one night for the experience is enough. Service is good but not excellent. No need to try the restaurant as you can find better seafood anywhere at this price.

  • Liked — ipod speaker
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank gonghuangfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.4 mi away
Atlantis, The Palm
Atlantis, The Palm
#97 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16,162 reviews
10.3 mi away
Raffles Dubai
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 542 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jumeirah Al Qasr at Madinat Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
One&Only The Palm Dubai
0.4 mi away
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
Jumeirah Mina A'Salam
#18 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Dubai Palm Jumeirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burj Al Arab Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burj Al Arab Jumeirah

Property: Burj Al Arab Jumeirah
Address: Burj Al Arab | P.O. Box 74147, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#12 Business Hotel in Dubai
#16 Family Hotel in Dubai
#20 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burj Al Arab Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The distinctive sail-shaped silhouette of Burj Al Arab is more than just a stunning hotel, it is a symbol of modern Dubai. Yet for all the wonder this stunning structure provides when you finally see it in person, it is the service within that really makes the Burj Al Arab so extraordinary. Repeatedly voted the world's most luxurious hotel, this magnificent destination offers you the finest service and facilities throughout - right down to an optional chauffeur-driven Rolls Royce. Burj Al Arab suite-only accommodation offers discreet check-in within your rooms, a private reception on every floor and a host of personal butlers, each a warm messenger of our unparalleled hospitality. Come and experience it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jumeirah International, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Burj Al Arab Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burj Al Arab Dubai
Burj Al Arab Rates
Seven Star Hotel Dubai
Burj Al Arab Hotel Dubai
Dubai Burj Al Arab
Al Arab Burj Hotel
6 Star Hotel Dubai
Burj Al Arab Price

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing