We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think I will use another hotel for my vacation to Dubai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Premier Deira
Ranked #210 of 557 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stayed at Traders Hotel in Dubai in the end of April 2009. I booked the room online on the the Traders hotel website and it was 540 AED (about 150 USD).

The transport to the hotel in taxi didn't cost much and it only took about 10 minutes. We came there after midnight and were quite tired…luckily the check in was fast and I got room 351. I was actually so tired that I was not about to open my suitcase so I really appreciated that there was a toothbrush/tooth paste kit in the bathroom.

The room it was with beige carpet and it was dominated by the big bed (which was pretty comfy as far as I can remember). The walls were in light colors and there was a dark wood furniture that contained a place for the suitcase, a wardrobe and also space for water boiler, water etc. In front of the bed there was a desk, a chair, a mini bar inside and a small CRT TV. The internet is now included for free in all Traders and Shangri-La hotels and at the hotel the access was via cable – excellent in my opinion.

The bathroom was small but pretty smart laid out. There was a shower corner with a glass door, a small sink area, some of the same amenities that I am used to from Traders in KL (but why place them on a shelf over the toilet?) and as it was tiled it was actually pretty nice.

The breakfast was not included in the room rate (my mistake) and I had to pay another 75 AED if I’m not mistaken. I always find this a bit annoying as I don’t really eat that much for breakfast. But the breakfast seemed to include all the things that you would expect from a hotel breakfast.

Now over to some of the things that are not that positive. When I opened the curtain in the morning I was looking straight out on a construction site – and it was really just outside the window. When we checked in a pilot came back to the desk and asked for another room as he didn’t want a room facing this construction site so I can only assume that there is some noise from this site during the day. Talking about pilots and airport personnel: this hotel is so close to the airport and it seems to be used as a airport hotel both for people in transit and airline personnel. Not that that is bad but airport hotels normally has a different atmosphere than regular hotels. And as it is close to the airport you also get close encounters with planes taking off or landing which can be cool. If you are using Traders for vacation you should also note that the pool is tiny and it is indoor.

The hotel is located between the airport and the ocean on the Deira side of Dubai. It seems like the centre of Dubai has stretched out from Dubai creek towards Burj Dubai area and Jumeirah so the hotel location might not be the best.

Conclusion
I only stayed at Traders in Dubai for a night and I was planning on using it for vacation in May but I’m now having second thoughts. First of all the second thoughts are connected to the construction site outside the hotel, the location of the hotel and the tiny and indoor pool. The room itself was not bad but the hotel did have an airport hotel atmosphere. So for my vacation in May I will probably choose to stay at a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 580 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

Location in Deira (nothing exciting there) pretty expensive and not great to get to other parts of town (especially Jumeirah) and getting cabs were a hassle in the evening... rooms are not bad for the price though

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misofreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

I have always stayed at Traders Hotel as it probably has the best and most friendly staff.

My only complaint in the past was the cost of the internet. In December I complained about this and guess what? It’s now free to all guests. The manager told me that all Traders Hotels and all Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts offer free internet to all guests from the beginning of this year. He told me this decision was made due to feedback from guests like me!

Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank IDK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Good value, if you directly to the traders website thaey have food and drink packages, good staff, nice small bar, food is O.K.

Rooms are fairly small but well appointed.

Bad points
Very busy traffic wise, getting a taxi is a problem

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witneyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

In the UAE for a regular business trip. The problem is with Dubai generally is everything is spread uot all over the place. there is no CBD of any note.

This being the case, as a business traveller I like to be near-ish to the airport and this one is only 10 minutes away. Set on a busy intersection and, directly in front, the new train system is being constructed which will be a great help from the end on 2009.

The other downside of Dubai is the cost of accomodation. I mostly stay at Shangri-La properties but for a business trip the one located here is way over the top in price. Traders is the cheaper, business focussed, chain run by the same group.

This being the case the staff are very well trained and go out of their way to help you whenever they can. Nothing is a problem. Rooms are perfectly fine, looking out onto nothing in particular. A weird shower arrangement where you stand, seemingly, on the floor next to the bath and soak up behind a fixed glass screen It works OK though.

Being a business hotel it does not have fine dining restaurants, lovely outdoor pool areas (there is a small indoor one but its not very inviting), etc. but we're there for work, right? I qualify for club entry and that helps you spread out after a days work before you head off for dinner.

One major annoyance, there is no metered taxi rank outside available when you need it. The staff do the best they can by standing on the corner waving at passing vehicles trying to get one to stop. Occasionally they're successful but more often not. That leaves you with the option of a contracted limo company. No meter, high negotiated hourly or destination fare.

The big tip is, if your working between different locations in the Emirates, is get a metered cab (somehow) and ask him to sit and wait at every location. You will pay half the price and he'll be there every morning to pick you up at a specified time. ALSO, the hotel will pey him cash on return every day and put it on the bill. The only way to go.

All in all, very efficient, great helpful staff, good rooms. Will definitely choose it next time I'm there working. probably not if I bring my wife.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Second stay in the Traders,just as good as the first time.
Staff can't do enough for you, any time day or night.
Checked in Sat morning,upgraded to Traders club 6th floor,very nice indeed. Room was large and clean,and very pleasent.
Breakfast was excellent,plenty of choice,and all very tasty.
Metro being built outside,but no noise at all. Should be interesting when it's finished, might improve the traffic, and the taxi problems.
All in all a very nice hotel,in a very nice area. Worth the price and more!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank george1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

Beautiful hotel, helpful staff, good food, beautiful bedroom.

BUT the room was supposed to be wheelchair accessible and I couldn't wheel through the bathroom door! Staff removed door - still not wide enough; showed us a suite - access was worse; brought the hotel's own wheelchair - even that wouldn't go through! Finally removed the wheel rims of their wheelchair and it just scraped through. I transferred into it, went into the bathroom to find that it had not been adapted in any way. The toilet was at an angle in a corner and there were no bars on the wall. The shower and bath were behind a glass screen and the opening was about 40cms.

Thank Goodness it was just a one night stopover on our way to Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theophilus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Pearl Creek
1.0 mi away
City Seasons Hotel
City Seasons Hotel
#209 of 557 in Dubai
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
Coral Dubai Deira Hotel
#141 of 557 in Dubai
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
3.1 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#46 of 557 in Dubai
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Deira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Deira

Address: Corner of Abu Bakr Al Siddique & Salah Al Din Road, Dubai 81877, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#108 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#133 Business Hotel in Dubai
#176 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $90 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Deira 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Deira is located in the historical Deira district of Dubai. The hotel is conveniently located just 15 minutes from the Dubai International Airport and only 50 meters from the Dubai Metro Station, as well as in close proximity to the city's shopping and business center. The sleek and contemporary hotel consists of 250 rooms and suites featuring elegant, minimalist and stylish designs with sound proof windows. Additionally, the rooms offer an enhanced level of service and convenience for busy travelers, making them feel right at home. The majority of our rooms offer either courtyard or panoramic city views and the hotel's premier rooms offer expansive space and is often on a higher floor with memorable views. Dining in the BEST WESTERN Deira combines a welcoming Arabian spirit with international style at The Junction restaurant. This stylish restaurant in Dubai offers casual buffet style dining that includes freshly made pizzas, pastas and Asian specialties. During the day, the Lobby Lounge and Juice Bar have a wide range of beverages to help you feel refreshed and relaxed. For drinks and a mellow evening, visit the Chameleon Bar, where live entertainment from the resident band is presented from Sunday to Friday. Alternatively, recline under the stars at the outdoor 88 Ultra Lounge with shisha and some deep and soulful music. The BEST WESTERN Deira provides first-rate recreation facilities at its Health Club for the exclusive use of their guests. Work out anytime you desire at the 24-hour gymnasium, or cool off at the indoor swimming pool. Also available are Jacuzzi®, sauna and steam room facilities as well as a range of indulgent massages including aroma therapy massages and reflexology treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Premier Deira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Dubai
Dubai Traders Hotel
Traders Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing