We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“harsh on children” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“harsh on children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2006

i stayed at the royal meridian and it was not worth my money. i travelled with teenagers with the average age of 14 and there was no activities for teenagers and one lifeguard told us that children have to be accompanied with adults to enter the pool and we found this ridiculous. the food was okay, nothing exciting. our children could not use the gym, the hamman pools and could not even eat in the restaurant without adults. children could only clean their private parts unless adults were present.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — harsh rules
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank PhilMcRack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,590
    801
    231
    76
    36
See reviews for
1,575
2,750
154
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

Anyone wishing to go on a truly relaxing holiday where all your needs are catered for and you are treated like VIP then look no further than the Royal Meriden. A fantastic hotel with customer service second to none. The food is excellent, the staff could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and the quality of the hotel was truly 5*.

Despite building works in the area once you entered the Royal Meridien you could be forgiven for forgetting that so much work was going on around you.

Fresh fruit and water in the room everyday, daily housekeeping, daily newspapers, frozen flannel and complimentary drinks on the beach only made it a more pleasurable experience.

We liked it so much we will be back either this year or next.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank Becks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2006

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Le Royal Meridien in Dubai. This was our 4th stay at this hotel, and we were a little nervous about going back as we had heard so many things about the building work. I can honestly say that although there is a great deal of work being undertaken around the hotel, it does in no way, impinge on your holiday.

The only thing I would have to say is that the Hotel is undertaking a bit of maintenance work within the grounds itself. We left on 18th July and at that time, the Al Khaima restaurant had been closed for approx 6 days due to refurbishment. This meant that the Tower Pool (or infinity pool) was not able to serve any food, you had to go to the main pool for this. I also heard that the Mi Vida had also been closed, and so for those staying in the Club rooms, you had to go the Brasserie for breakfast. Having said that, it made no difference to us and did not distract from enjoying our stay.

As usual, the staff at the hotel were fantastic, only too happy to please. The food was as good as I remember. The buffet always amazes me at the value for money and the choice of breakfast and dinner it offers.

I would most certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who wishes to have a relaxing holiday and be spoilt by the staff and the food. I have attached some photos which I hope will give you a good idea of the hotel and grounds.

Have a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LeaHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

I have travelled extensively for the last 16 years and i dont believe that any one hotel has impressed me as much as this one. It is simply superb, from the service to the setting and the facilities. It must be one of the best hotels for a family vacation in the world, the service is unsurpassed in my veiw. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody - stay there if you dont you will miss one of the best hotel experiences you are likely to ever have

  • Liked — new and fresh
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank andycapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

I was a bit worried after booking this hotel as there were a few bad reveiws. Our holiday got off to a bad start as we missed our connecting flight from Heathrow and had to wait 9 hours for the next flight when we arrived in Dubai my fiancee's luggage never turned up so by the time we got to the Le Royal Meridien we were exasperated to say the least. On arrivial we were treated like royalty immediately upgradged to Club Class once they were aware of our troubles. I cannot believe anyone could write a bad reveiw about this hotel our stay was total luxurious and the staff were out of this world I have never seen so many people that looked so happy at there work. The restaurants were great, rooms were great and the Hamman pools were amazing. It is all Molton Brown toiletries in the restrooms which is excellent. I rate this hotel 10/10 and I have stayed in other 5 star hotels but this hotel has been the best by far in every aspect. I will definetaly be booking to go back next year.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff they could not do enough for you.
  • Disliked — there was nothing I disliked.
  • Tips/Secrets — You will have an amazing holiday if you choose this hotel.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank claire24175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

There is little point in visiting Dubai if you wish to sightsee - go to Egypt! However, if you want to be totally pampered in luxury visit this hotel and enjoy but you must upgrade to the Tower - worth every penny. Fresh flowers, fruit, choccies and wine daily .... and you hardly even had to push an elevator button!

The staff simply could not do more; the hotel is beautiful and has it's own private beach for you to wallow. The pools are immaculate and the building work all around [and there is a lot] did not disturb in any way. The speedboat trip round the bay is a must, and the Fusion restaurant is second to none: Try the lobster! Then you can stagger to the piano bar for a nightcap and up to your room where you will find the sheets have been turned back, and a little box of choccies await! Mmmm ... I shall return.

Helpful?
7 Thank SUEPOPPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2006

After reading some of the commets on this site i was very nervous about going to this hotel, and seeing some of the pictures i was also a little worried. BUT!!! as soon as you arrive at this hotel you are treated as royalty!!

I have stayed in Dubai 3 times now, october2004,Febuary2006 & July2006 and everyone was saying to me that how can you go in july its gunna be megga hot but its really not that bad as is made out & there is a nice breeze from the sea and the staff around the pool look after you with cold towls every 1 hour or so and complementry ice drink.

When I have been to Dubai in the past i have stayed at Jumeriah Beach Hotel & Al Qasr, both fantastic hotels just like this one!

There is buliding work going on around the hotel, but again you cant hear them working and to be honest actually the buliding are stunning!

So altogether this was a fantastic hotel/holiday and i am very jealous that the people reading this will be going here without me.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Grosvenor House Dubai
Atlantis, The Palm
#91 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,693 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Beach
Raffles Dubai
#2 of 544 in Dubai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Al Sofouh Road, Dubai 24970, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Dubai
#6 Family Hotel in Dubai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Dubai
#17 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
#33 Business Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa Dubai is situated on a pristine stretch of private beach overlooking the Arabian Gulf and with 500 rooms, caters to every type of traveler. With 14 international restaurants and bars, the hotel offers guests the world on a plate. Caracalla, the hotel’s Spa & Health Club, is the ideal retreat for mind and body. The pool and beach facilities are heaven for sunbathers and joggers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Dubai
Royal Meridien Dubai
Meridien Dubai
Royal Meridian Dubai
Royal Meridian Hotel Dubai
Le Royal Meridien Beach Resort Dubai
Royal Meridien Hotel Dubai
Le Royal Meridien Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing