We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“phone call scam hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Avari Dubai Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avari Dubai Hotel to your Saves list
Avari Dubai Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Adjacent to Al Riqqa Post Office | 45c Street, 6; Al Muraqqabat, Dubai 50400, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 536 Hotels in Dubai
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“phone call scam hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked this hotel via booking.com
I booked a double room and ended up staying alone.
I was still charged for 2 breakfasts which I thought unfair.
On check out I was billed for 5 phone calls instead of one.They agreed to remove the other 4 phone calls charged after a heated argument.Most hotels In Dubai have free local calls or a single low tariff per call but this hotel has per minute charges on local calls that are a RIP OFF.
This hotel claims a 4 star rating but is at most 3 star.Old hotel with old bathrooms and a poor quality matress MUCH better options exist in Dubai

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramzi A, General Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Ronnie,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Please note that Booking.com charges the hotel exactly as per the details given by the client. The property cannot be held responsible if a discrepancy is made while entering the information related to the stay. In such situation, the issue should addressed with Booking. com directly. With regards to phone calls, all hotels charge for local mobile phones, and some don't for land line calls. It is a management decision, and yes, we do charge for local land line calls which have been rebated from your bill upon check out. Our rates are at par with the other hotels in the area.

Hoping that this has clarified the above issues.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    126
    55
    15
    20
See reviews for
76
54
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

One of the best hospitality experienced in the fantastic 4* hotel lying in main hub of Dubai, i.e Diera.
They provide me with free late checkout till 8 pm, as i had my flight at 11pm, and very good buffet breakfast, and rooms were very well decorated , it is not less then any good 5* hotel in Dubai, and price was best, as i got it for only 80$ per night. This is best recommended for those who wants to experience truly arabic hospitality and luxury in budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasiqsaleem1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramzi A, General Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Saleem,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments can only help us in improving our services.

The review will be shared with my Team. We thank you also for recommending our hotel and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For the price of the property this is one of the poorest hotels that you can stay in Dubai! location is central but that is where the buck stops. Rooms are dirty and old and poorly maintained. Highly not recommended at all.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syedarehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramzi A, General Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Syedarehman,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. The cleanliness of our hotel is one of our strong points, and it is the factor that has the highest ratings on the online travel agents sites. We would have liked to receive more details when you mention cleanliness, and regret at the same time that you have not addressed this issue during your stay.

Our rooms are not old, they were renovated in 2009, with a specific decor which does not maybe appeal to everyone.

I would appreciate if you could send me an email to discuss this further, in order for us to be able to rectify those issues, if required to do so. The email address is on website.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had stayed at the hotel at the end of last month for three nights. I made my booking through the hotel's website and I had also contacted their reservations department regarding my booking. What the hotel's website (including its terms and conditions) does NOT tell you is that visitors are not allowed to visit you in your room at any point of time. I was stuck in an embarrassing situation when a friend dropped by the hotel and was stopped by the staff from visiting us in the room. The hotel staff at the front desk told me that the hotel rules do not permit anyone (other than the guests checked-in) from visiting the rooms. I understand that a hotel may have its rules but the rules must be clearly told to guests before a guest books a room and makes full payment for the same!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECRM, Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear TheTravelDiaries

We really appreciate your taking the time out to post this review for Avari Dubai Hotel!!!

However, we are sorry to hear that the “no visitors” policy caused some problem during your stay. Since this is a policy imposed by the government of Dubai, hotel has very little choice in resolving the same, although family members are always allowed in the room as visitors.

Since this is the policy for all the hotels in Dubai and is not a regular request from guests, it is conveyed ONLY upon requirement. We wish that you had mentioned this prior to the arrival of the visitor or at least at the time of your check-in so that the same could have been explained and an inconvenient situation would have been avoided. If you still wish to discuss the matter further or require a copy DTCM policies, please do let us know through the email addresses available at our website.

We would love to welcome you back for your next trip to Dubai so as to try and do better!

Have very pleasant days ahead

Best Regards,

Aneela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a couple for a about a week. We were given a suit just because the room we booked wasn't available. The location was perfect since the metro is pretty close. It was a good 5-star experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sannia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECRM, Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Sannia B

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at the Avari Dubai Hotel!

We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay at Avari Hotel. With appreciation and support of our privileged guests such as your kind self, our team at Hotel Avari, gets motivated to work even harder and raise the bar to satisfy the guests in best possible manner. For any suggestion of improvement, please do send us an email on the addresses available at our website, we would love to receive your opinion, suggestions and feedback.

We would love to welcome you back for your next trip to Dubai!

Have very pleasant days ahead

Best Regards,

Aneela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

the hotel is conveniently located close to the airport - around 10 minutes by taxi and close to the Deira Merto Station - around 10 minutes on foot, the hotel offers nice comfortable rooms and good swimming pool on the top with good view of the starting planes from nearby airport. In the neighbourhood there is a good choice of different inexpensive restaurants to choose from. It is also located close to the ONTC bus stop for people travelling by bus to Oman

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECRM, Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Piotr M,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at the Avari Dubai Hotel!

This is so heartwarming for us to know that you like our hotel, staff, rooms, facilities and the services during your stay at Avari Hotel. We are also pleased that you liked the location of our hotel and its proximity to Airport, Malls, Shops, Restaurants and Metro station. For any suggestion of further improvement, please do send us an email on the addresses available at our website, it sure is imperative for us to know your opinion.

We would love to welcome you back every time you visit Dubai!

Have very pleasant days ahead

Best Regards,

Aneela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed as a couple and spent the night right after Christmas Day in 2013.

The hotel is located in an older part of the Emirate, but is only 200m away from Al Rigga Metro Station on the Red Line, making it very accessible to the newer side of Dubai with all the big shopping malls, tourist areas, and skyscrapers. Hailing a cab in this part of town is also hassle-free. If you know the bus routes, which are easy to learn through Google Maps, you will find that getting to and from this hotel is also a breeze. In the area, there are many dining options, convenience stores, mini marts, souvenir shops, and pharmacies --- specially along Al Rigga Road. Thus, in an eventuality, purchasing everyday essentials (water, snack items, toiletries, etc.) and eating out is very easy and hassle-free. Al Ghurair Mall, one of the large malls in the city, is also close by. Location-wise, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

We booked the Avari Business Class Room because of a very good (non-refundable) deal we found on Agoda.com. The room was very nicely decorated with modern furnishing. I loved the refreshing sight of whites and browns blended in with hues of olive green in our bedroom. Although tired from our walk around the area right before checking-in, the burst of color was a pleasant sight. The only thing I did not like about our room (well, actually, the en-suite bathroom) was the fact that the shower enclosure did not have a shower curtain or shower door. Thus, each and every time we took showers, the entire bathroom floor would get all wet and slippery. It was such a hassle having to mop up the water with the floor towels they provided us with each and every time. More so, it did pose a hazard because of the risk of an accident by slipping and hurting ourselves.

The Avari Business Class Lounge had a limited, but very tasty selection of hors d' oeuvres, salads, and desserts. They also had a small selection of alcoholic drinks available. I appreciated the white wine they had served though I wish it were chilled before serving --- same goes with their other beverages.

Elena Salva, who attended to us during Happy Hour, was very warm, accommodating, and attentive to our needs. She made my husband and I feel very welcome at the hotel. Elena explained to us all of the package inclusions which we had paid for so we could maximize all the benefits during our stay.

There was a good selection of food items at the breakfast buffet spread at the Olive Tree Restaurant. I enjoyed the ful medames (braised fava beans with lentils) above all. The waitstaff service was not very impressive though. They were very attentive and eager to help (if you could find one), but there were only two of them and the restaurant was almost full so help was not easy to get.

Couldn't say anything about the swimming pool. Twas chilly outside due to the winter cold in Dubai so we did not get to use the pool at all. Same goes for the spa and fitness center. Didn't have time to use them during our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to avoid the noise from the restaurant at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grich3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECRM, Manager at Avari Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Grich3679

Thank you for taking your time to review Avari Dubai Hotel. We are pleased to note that your stay was comfortable. Your appreciation and comments are passed on to the team. We are also delighted to note that Avari Dubai Hotel remained a convenient option for you in terms of location, cleanliness and services and also provided you a value for money spent. Comments like yours persuade us to strive more for providing better service and achieve higher level of guest satisfaction. We have also noted your areas of concern and will coordinate with relevant teams to do the needful in future. We once again thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you in future. Kindly let us know when you plan next time to visit us by contacting us directly through the email address provided in the hotel website. If there are any more suggestion, please do let us know through direct email addresses.

Have very pleasant days ahead

Best Regards,

Aneela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.3 mi away
The Carlton Tower Hotel
The Carlton Tower Hotel
#292 of 536 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#250 of 536 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flora Grand Hotel
Flora Grand Hotel
#99 of 536 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
Al Jawhara Gardens Hotel
#283 of 536 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
14.8 mi away
Boutique 7 Hotel & Suites
Boutique 7 Hotel & Suites
#424 of 536 in Dubai
3.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hues Boutique Hotel
Hues Boutique Hotel
#232 of 536 in Dubai
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avari Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avari Dubai Hotel

Property: Avari Dubai Hotel
Address: Adjacent to Al Riqqa Post Office | 45c Street, 6; Al Muraqqabat, Dubai 50400, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 536 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avari Dubai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avari Dubai Hotel is located in downtown Deira next to the clock tower, close to Creek area. Only minutes from Dubai International Airport, Deira City Centre and Al Ghurair shopping centres. Avari Dubai offers 178 newly appointed rooms with a choice of Club and suite rooms providing five-star service at four-star rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Avari Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing