We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai
Ranked #318 of 545 Hotels in Dubai
Wichita
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok facility”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I agree with btonboz, it is a good location to the airport. However, if you are going for leisure, you may want to select another property. Downtown is really about 20 minutes away via Metro. The Metro is only a block away, so you can easily access downtown, however, you certainly can't step out the door to the attractions.

It was a pretty average facility. It was listed as a 4 star, however, some amenities weren't included in the rooms that I'd normally associate with a 4 star. WiFi is approximatley $7 a hour or you could get a day pass for a higher rate. We had to call for an iron and ironing board (which they were quick at bringing up).

The restaurant was very, very slow. We ordered the lunch special in hopes of quickly being served, however, that wasn't the case. They were very disorganized. The waitress came to our table to take our reservations before we even received a menu. Then they brought one menu for a table of six people and we had to share it. The food was adequate at best.

It's an ok place to stay if you need a place by the airport or just in and out for meetings. However, if your goal is vacation, then I'd recommend a different location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kstvlagnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear kstvlagnt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am glad you liked the location of our hotel. My apologies that the services you received and your experience at the restaurant fell short of your expectations. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    111
    106
    60
    55
See reviews for
70
80
60
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
139 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights the location was just 2 minutes walk to rigga metro station. The room was of good size and the bed was comfortable.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtea2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUBDT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mtea2011,

We are thankful to you for taking the time out to review our hotel and share your experience.

We at IHG appreciate all feedback we receive from our guests and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again thank you very much to post your comments. We hope we will be able to welcome you again top Holiday inn Downtown on your next trip to Dubai.

Sincerely,

Jatin Singh

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having often stayed here before, and being so close to the airport its well positioned. The entrance and rooms are clean and well presented. However when returning to the rooftop pool, the tiles around the pool were filthy, there are only 5 sunbeds all broken, 4 sun umbrellas which only one worked. The plants around the pool are mostly dead, and the drainage around the pool was broken, and it had really gone downhill since my previous visit.
The main thing of concern though was, while having dinner in the Bistro restaurant, 2 rats or large mice were running across the food service area at one end of the restaurant. Reporting it to management with another gentleman, there was little concern from the manager, and all that was offered was a drink and free room service. Needless to say we checked out next day

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btonboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear btonboz,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am disappointed you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectation. Please accept my sincere apology for the unusual situation that happened at our food service area. I have taken note of your valuable comments you've shared and rest assured, these points will be addressed accordingly in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dubai hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights along with my wife. Found it good and easy to access all the major places. Closer to the Metro. Staff was excellent. Breakfast spread was good, but Indian varieties (taste) needs improvement. Clean place. Will come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadhusudanPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIDUBDT, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear MadhusudanPS,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay experience at the Holiday inn Downtown.

We are glad to know that the hotel staff was able to leave an impression. We have also noted your feedback regarding Breakfast and shall keep it in mind for future.

Your comments are indeed very important to us and are taken very seriously.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments.

We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Thank you for choosing IHG.

Sincerely,

Jatin SIngh

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I enjoyed to stay in hotel was one of the most beautiful places that I have visited
I liked good performance of the hotel staff and especially porters and security men
As well as the cook at the restaurant

Room Tip: The upper floor the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulla199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiek A, Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Holiday Inn Downtown team and . We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.

Rafik Abou El Fadl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwoman11
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booking:
I had a 12 hour layover in Dubai and opted to get a day room in order to relax before my 15h35m flight to ATL. I went to the IHG property desk after clearing customs and the desk agent called to ensure there were rooms and the desk agent set up the reservation.

From the airport, I took a taxi to the property. The cost was less than $20.00.

Check In:
Upon arrival, the staff was very welcoming. As reception processed my credit card, they brought my juice and offered any assistance. The agent realized my PC number was not in the booking and offered a free Executive Floor upgrade when she saw I was a Platinum member.

Room:
The room was very spacious with two double beds. There were two free bottles of water, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were very good as well.

The bathroom was large. There was a decent hair dryer, plenty of towels, a robe, and toiletries.

PC Platinum Benefits:
- upgrade to the Executive Floor, which included free wifi and bottled water.
- 20% off room service.

Amenities:
- Rooftop pool.
- There are four restaurants. I used room service and the food was very good. They were also very prompt and courteous.
- There are spa services available. It is located next to the pool.

There are a couple of markets nearby. I went there to get some additional bottled water and drinks. They do close around 1pm for 30 minutes for afternoon prayers; I'm not sure if it's because it was a Friday or if it's everyday.

I would definitely stay at this property again. The staff and perks made it worthwhile!

To return to the airport, I used the Dubai Metro, which is a very short walk from the hotel and about 1/10th of the cost of a taxi. It was only a few stops to return to the airport. I had not thought to ask when I went to the hotel about using public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwoman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saad E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing IHG.
Saad Eldahhar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was an unexpected stop on a business trip passing through UAE. The hotel allowed me a very early check in with no problems. My room was very clean and nicely appointed if a bit outdated. I had one meal in the restaurant during my stay. The meal was just as I had ordered it and was served promptly. I did not look for or use any of the other amentities other than the lounge which was very reasonable. For a business trip this was a very nice hotel which I would not hesitate to stay at again on my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bur Dubai - Embassy District
0.1 mi away
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#415 of 545 in Dubai
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#259 of 545 in Dubai
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dubai - Al Barsha
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dubai Jumeirah
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dubai Al Muraqabat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai
Address: Al Rigga Al Rigga Rd | Haleefat Area , hamad Bin Abdulla Road West, Dubai 9100, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Spa Hotel in Dubai
#246 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai has an excellent location only 10 minutes drive from Dubai International Airport and Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road. Also, it is within close proximity from the Dubai Creek , Dubai Museum, the famed Gold & Spice Souks as well as the modern shopping mall, City Centre. The four star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 139 newly renovated rooms equipped with high-speed internet access and 32 LCD TV. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The Bistro restaurant, lounge and bar offer tempting dishes from around the world including themed nights and the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 80 people. Executive room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Dubai include the Burj Al Arab, Mall of the Emirates, Ski Dubai, and Wild Wadi which are all within a 30 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Dubai Hotel Dubai
Holiday Inn Dubai
Dubai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing