We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fancy from outside. average from inside” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dubai
Ranked #138 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“fancy from outside. average from inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

well i will not cheat you hear. crown plaza dubai looked not more than an average 3 stars hotel except with a larger bill. I stayed one night there with my wife and what i liked about it is the breakfast and the car parking service. what i didnt like is

1) my room was separated by a door from the next room. we could hear our neighbor watching TV and chatting all night!. ofcourse that's not the neighbor's fault. the hotel should provide a better way of voice isolation than a wooden door.
2)our room was next to the elevator which causes more disturbance from time to time. I'm not an Architect but in other 5 stars hotels there would never be rooms this close to elevators.
3) check in time took forever although it was a complementary room!. check in lady got me all confused when she asked for a cash deposit and also took my credit card number!.
4) room included a creapy looking sofa! i dont know if it was saturated with dirt or that was its natural color.

in general i would have no complains if this was not a 5 starts hotel

Room Tip: 1)ask for a room is not separated from the next room by a door!. 2) stay away from the elevator 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pekasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear “pekasho”,
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai and for taking the time to share it on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to inform you that our hotel is currently undergoing several phases of renovation which includes bedroom upgrades as we aim to continuously improve our products and offers. Rest assured that your feedback will not go unnoticed and will be shared with the management and staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again and at the same time for you to try our newly refurbished rooms in the near future.
Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    587
    211
    49
    23
See reviews for
179
249
120
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I had a two-for-one voucher for Friday Brunch at this restaurant at this hotel, so myself, husband, friend and my son arrived with our usual Friday excitement. At the venue, which was totally empty when we arrived, we were not greeted by anyone. Staff were plentiful but standing in clusters doing nothing in particular. We asked a waitress if we could have a table, and we had reserved one. Instead of showing us to a table (bearing in mind all were free) she went off to find our booking. After a while she showed us to a table and we settled down, and then we produced the vouchers. They were passed around, scrutinised, and we had a procession of people coming to ask us about the vouchers. Clearly no one involved knew anything about it, despite it being a big promotion by the Entertainer. We were not offered water, nor was the deal explained to us. The voucher said that the price included house beverages, but this turned out to be fruit juice. The atmosphere was dead, no one else was around, staff had to be asked to go and check the details of the voucher. In the end we got up and left and went elsewhere. the decor is dated and dismal, with nothing much going for it. I can see why they need vouchers to entice people in. I'm sure the staff didn't even nottice that we left. A terrible shame for such a well known brand of hotel. Service is usually top notch at other Crowne Plaza hotels and their food and beverage outlets.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear "ClareDXB",

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of Al Dana Restaurant here on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your dining experience.

We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and are happy that we managed to sort this out for you; after your communication with our Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and deliver the best service Crowne Plaza Dubai is well known for.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a nice hotel, plenty of restaurants and a night club also.
The rooms are a great size, clean and tidy but will soon need a refurb.
The staff are very attentive and really couldn't do enough for you.
If this had not been a business trip I would have preferred to have been closer to the beach, this area is so busy and its on an extremely busy road. But this is what central Dubai is like so is not a problem for the hotel.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel away from the traffic is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnc3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear “johnc3720”,
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Dubai and for taking the time to write a review of your stay here on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a great business trip.
We appreciate your feedback about our rooms and staff. As you have mentioned, we are centrally located and have a vast variety of restaurants to offer within the hotel. We also have a complimentary shuttle bus going to the Jumeirah Beach, Mall of the Emirates and Dubai International Airport. We are happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing several phases of renovation which includes bedroom upgrades.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and be able to try one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

it is excellent for the short business trip. bit dated but good value for money and the choice of food in the hotel is great.
Breakfast was really good with lots to chose from.
The only complaint is about the lifts. I was on the 15th floor and the wait was up to 15 minutes for a lift to come, apart from that, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 146Kevoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear “146Kevoh”,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai here on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay. We hope you had a successful business trip.
We have noted your feedback about the lift and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We will share it with the management and staff.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza DUbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Location: Very well located, easy to connect
Check-in / Check-out: The people are friendly, amicable, however totally disorganized and lacking focus on the person they are attending. Something the management should look into and provide guidance.
Room: Excellent, spacious, more than what you really need. Except.... the smell: horrible smell. supposedly my room was for non-smokers. Well, it smelled as an entire smokers meeting happened there at the living room. On top, the tiny bathroom smelled like ages of humidity were accumulated.
Bathroom: one toilet and one bathroom (somewhat small). As said, the bathroom smelled. The amenities are standard.
Cleanliness: Everything is spotless. Excellent.
Restaurants: There are several at the hotel. All good.
Service in general: As said, very friendly, just lacking some focus.

Room Tip: They are refurbishing the hotel. Ask for a room far from that area and, if you care about smelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear “DBDu”,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai and for taking the time to post it here on Tripadvisor.
We have noted your comments about our staff and we would like to hear more from you so we can fully understand your concerns and issues. We will be sending you a direct message so you can get back to us.
As you have mentioned, we are currently undergoing several phases of renovation which includes bedroom upgrades as we aim to improve our products and offers. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay in our newly refurbished rooms on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was clean and perfect for a one night business stay.

The bed was smaller than I am used to at other hotels I have been in , but it was comfortable.

It is a little more dated than I was expecting of my first trip to Dubai. the hotel is on a main road but was not noisy.

The breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear “MDSL”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai here on Tripadvisor. We hope you had a successful business trip.
We are glad to inform you that our hotel is currently undergoing several phases of refurbishment which includes bedroom upgrades as we aim to continuously improve our products & offers. We hope you will have a chance to stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was hoping to get a little of the Dubai luxury glitz, but I got another stuffy old hotel. Not all is bad though. Let's highlight the good things first:

Good:
-Location. If you are going to the World Trade center, this is your hotel.
-The sheer variety of things to try at breakfast is great
-Staff is very helpful

Not so good:
-Stuffy, old decor.
-Breakfast, although good food, the room is overcrowded.
-Coffee at breakfast could be better
-Wifi was temperamental (on, off, on, off, etc)
-Aircon in the room was LOUD. I ended up switching it off (luckily in January you can still do that)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 42Travelbug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear “42Travelbug42”,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai here on Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that you are a bit disappointed however we are happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing several phases of renovation which includes bedroom upgrades as we aim to continuously improve our products and offers.
Your comments will not go unnoticed and will be shared with the management and staff.
We welcome any constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually enhance the service and experience we deliver.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Millennium Plaza Hotel Dubai
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#115 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nassima Royal Hotel
Nassima Royal Hotel
#55 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai Festival City
0.6 mi away
Towers Rotana
Towers Rotana
#111 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Hotel Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dubai

Property: Crowne Plaza Dubai
Address: Sheikh Zayed Al Nahyan Road, Dubai 23215, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#104 Family Hotel in Dubai
#127 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Productivity and comfort come together at Crowne Plaza(R) Dubai, which sits in the heart of Dubai's business district. With 15 meeting spaces, spacious guest rooms and wide-ranging amenities, we're redefining the business travel experience. Situated across the street from the Dubai World Trade Center, the Crowne Plaza(R) is one of the most conveniently located hotels on Sheikh Zayed Road. The Dubai Metro lies a few steps away, and complimentary hotel shuttles offer regular service to Kite Beach and the Dubai Mall. If you're in town on business, our dedicated team of event planners can help you execute seamless events in our innovative meeting rooms or our ballroom that accommodates up to 1,800 people. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, and visit the business center for your printing needs. When you're ready to relax, cool off in our outdoor pool or unwind with a massage, sauna and steam bath at the Crowne Fitness. You can also meet friends or hold quick business meetings in one of our 13 on-site restaurants and bars. At the end of the day, enjoy the amenities of your guest room. Drift off to sleep with the help of our special Sleep Advantage system, which includes relaxing aromatherapy kit and ultra-soft premium bedding for the ultimate hotel accommodation in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Dubai
Crown Plaza Hotel Dubai
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing