We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were given a free upgrade”
Review of Crowne Plaza Dubai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dubai
Ranked #153 of 556 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel on our way to Cape Town. The hotel was relatively well-located and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded from an ordinary twin room to a very spacious, clean and comfortable suite. The hotel staff was very helpful and efficient and we were happy with our stay there. As mentioned in another review, the hairdryer wasn't worth using, but fortunately I'd brought my own. The Internet was expensive but we went down to the Irish pub in the hotel and used theirs. The final bill was more expensive (600 AED per night) than we had expected due to 10% municipality fees and 10% service charge, but perhaps this is standard practice in other hotels in Dubai. Generally speaking, it was a good experience and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole_Cannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear “Nicole_Cannes”,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai.
We are glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and efficient and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have noted our guests’ feedback about the hairdryer and thank you for bringing this again to our attention.
Complimentary internet access is being provided to all the outlets in the 2nd floor. And as you mentioned, the 10% municipality charge & 10% service charge are the same for all Dubai hotels.
Despite the inconvenience you encountered we are very pleased to note that your overall stay was good and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days on business and having spent some time in Dubai before I wouldn't recommend staying at this hotel.

Firstly, the hotel is looking rather old and tired, especially the furniture in the communal areas which looks exceptionally dated. Location wise I guess it's rather caught in no man's land and a significant distance from the Marina end of town and Jumeirah Beach although it is only a short cab ride to downtown Dubai and the Burj Khalifa which is a great spot.

The check in process was slow to say the least, the guy checking me in started checking in someone else before giving me my key and when I asked for it it took another 3 or 4 minutes for him to sort. Check out was also rather slow as well although an improvement on the check in.

The room itself was small by Dubai standards but although a bit dated, didn't look as old as other areas of the hotel. It was clean and well equipped although one watch out is the hairdryer that is provided is totally useless as I was informed by my female colleagues who had to get up half an hour early each day in order to get their hair dry in time.

The breakfast buffet is really poor, served in an 80's dining area and of rather low quality. Didn't eat at the hotel other then breakfast and didn't use the bar or nightclub which is in the basement, the main reason for this is that the hotel just doesn't inspire you to hang around in it when there are far better places to go.

If there is one plus side it's the gym which is excellent, brand new and well equipped - quite a contrast to the rest of the place.

In summary, I'd give this place a miss, there are so many better options in Dubai to choose from, in my opinion this place shouldn't be considered unless you get a super cheap price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dar “Sonic99”,
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us at Crowne Plaza Dubai.
We are sorry to hear that we didn’t meet your expectation during your stay. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and will not go unnoticed. Allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.
We will take note of all your feedback such as your check in & check out experience, the buffet, the room and amenities. We are continuously improving our products & services by starting a renovation which will soon include the bed room upgrade and other areas.
On the other side, we are happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated Crowne Fitness.
In the mean time, we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was my first time in Dubai so first thing i noticed was how cold the rooms are! Just turn off the AC and you'll be fine! Good location next to subway stop. Decent club downstairs free for residents and good varied multinational breakfast. View was a parking lot but rooms are comfortable with big beds and clean bathrooms. Price was 600Aed (corporate rate) and Internet access was EXPENSIVE, so try to have it included. No complaints. Would stay again. Club was convenient but closes at 3.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear “banana”,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Dubai here on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate you giving us top scores on sleep quality & cleanliness.
Thank you for your comments about our location, the club, breakfast, room, bed and bathroom.
Free Wireless Internet connection is available when using any food and beverage outlet. * Subject to terms & conditions.
Closing time for bars is generally 2 am, with some establishments like Zinc Night Club stretching it to 3 am but no later.
Again, thank you & we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The location of the hotel was quite good, bang in the center of Dubai. Sheikh Zayed Rd. is like Manhattan of USA with so many tall buildings. There was no issue in getting a taxi as they were always available outside.

Inside the hotel the rooms were quite spacious and nicely decorated with furnitures having a middle-east look and feel. A mini hob and fridge was available as well, which was quite nice.

We reached in the afternoon but had our booking for the previous night. Ina at the reception was kind enough not to charge for the previous night's booking. The concierge service was always helpful to explain how to go about in the city. The in-room dining was excellent, the food was lovely and when we ordered dinner at 1 am in the morning we got it sent to the room in 20 mins !

The only negative point would be the fact that the nightclub opens at night in front of the entrance and it can be quite crowded with people moving about and queing up to go in.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone if it falls within budget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear “Deb N”,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a feedback of your stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai here on Tripadvisor.
We are happy with your comments in particular with the “good location”, “spacious room”, “nicely decorated furniture”, “helpful Concierge”, “excellent in room dining”.
Your feedback about the Zinc night club will be noted and we it will not be ignored.
Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were put in a car park facing room which was 50% obstructed by another room. So the view litrarly was car park and the hotel itself. For 250 USD a night ( the taxes jacks it up considerabally from prices displayed) youd hope for better...requested another room since wasnt keen on looking at that for 3 nights, nice enough for the hotel to change to a city facing view, still wasnt anything to write home about or indeed, look at at night....

Fixtures in the whole needs updating, the hair dryer's tube was taped on since this has come off rendering the hair dryer pretty much useless since half the heat leaked out from said gap ( 5 stars you say?) Room was a nice bed with a couch, you can expect this from any 4 stars I reckon.

Staff are polite enough. Entrance seemed very 80s.

Best thing? Probably the buffet breakfast. Location-wise all other hotels on the main road would be fine since youd be taxi-ing all the time anyway ( pretty cheap starting meters)

Still, for this sort of money, I would recommend hitting up the newer hotels, Dusit Thani, Rotana ( if thats the right spelling) I had the choice of the 3 and although I did not stay in the other 2 Im pretty sure the age of the other 2 propperty probably means at least the fixtures, the finishing, lobby, feel would be better

Theres nothing the GM can do to remedy the points Ive made above since unless the hotel is going to do a refurbishment anytime soon its going to be the same.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get the carpark/hotel building view if you plan to look out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrmoorthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear “mrmoothe”,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent experience here at Crowne Plaza Dubai. We were happy to know that there were few positive aspects to your stay such as our polite staff, the buffet breakfast and the hotel’s location.
We were however disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy the room and amenities, and felt that the cost paid for the same was not justified. Please be assured that your feedback will be communicated with the respective departments and we will strive to improve our products and services by taking your comments into consideration.
We also would like to inform you that we are currently under going several phases of renovation which will include in the near future the bedroom upgrade.

In the mean time, we sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future so that we can provide you with a more complete experience.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

One of the good hotel that I've ever stayed, convenient location, helpful staff, value for money,
try it you wont regret!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsam3018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Dear “samsam3018”,
We would like to thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai here on Tripadvisor.
Your short but sweet feedback is music to our ears! We value our guests’ satisfaction & we are so happy that it has been achieved in this occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My friends and I were lucky enough to stay in this hotel where we had a great holiday. Friendly atmosphere and caring staff. Our holiday had started badly with a flight delay from dublin to london where our luggage was left behind. We had gone to dubai to celebrate my birthday with the highlight being an evening at the dubai horse racing on the saturday of our arrival. As our luggage did not arrive we had no clothes to wear so missed out in going to the races which was very, very, very disappointing. On telling our story to the Director of sales and Marketing, Michaela Smith she immediately offered us a complimentary extra night which meant we could go to the races on the following saturday if we could change our flights. We were delighted with this offer as virgin atlantic had stated they would change our flights from the saturday to the sunday. However on ringing them they informed us that the flight on the sunday was fully booked so we had to return on the saturday and miss the races. We our however very grateful to the crown plaza staff for their kind offer and help and hope to return to stay with them again in the future and eventually get to the horse racing at Maydan race course. We felt we were given a very personal service by all the staff at this hotel from the General Manager Georges down. Having sure good Managers/leadership at this hotel ensures clients receive a first class service. Thank you one and all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eimermcgeown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza D, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dubai, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2012

Dear “eimermcgeown”,
We would like to thank you for writing such a nice review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Dubai.
We are very much grateful to receive your kind words regarding our management & staff.
Our guests’ complete satisfaction is our main goal at Crowne Plaza Dubai and it is rewarding to learn this has been achieved on this occasion. We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
James Young
General Manager, Crowne Plaza Dubai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
Crowne Plaza Dubai-Deira
#134 of 556 in Dubai
917 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dubai Festival City
0.2 mi away
Millennium Plaza Hotel Dubai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nassima Royal Hotel
Nassima Royal Hotel
#71 of 556 in Dubai
2,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Dubai
Fairmont Dubai
#52 of 556 in Dubai
1,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Towers Rotana
Towers Rotana
#105 of 556 in Dubai
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dubai

Address: Sheikh Zayed Al Nahyan Road, Dubai 23215, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Dubai
#86 Romantic Hotel in Dubai
#104 Family Hotel in Dubai
#134 Luxury Hotel in Dubai
Price Range: $144 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Dubai 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Productivity and comfort come together at Crowne Plaza Dubai, which sits in the heart of Dubai's business district. With 15 meeting spaces, spacious guest rooms and wide-ranging amenities, we're redefining the business travel experience. Situated across the street from the Dubai World Trade Center, the Crowne Plaza is one of the most conveniently located hotels on Sheikh Zayed Road. The Dubai Metro lies a few steps away, and complimentary hotel shuttles offer regular service to Kite Beach and the Dubai Mall. If you're in town on business, our dedicated team of event planners can help you execute seamless events in our innovative meeting rooms or our ballroom that accommodates up to 1,800 people. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, and visit the business center for your printing needs. When you're ready to relax, cool off in our outdoor pool or unwind with a massage, sauna and steam bath at the Crowne Fitness. You can also meet friends or hold quick business meetings in one of our 13 on-site restaurants and bars. At the end of the day, enjoy the amenities of your guest room. Drift off to sleep with the help of our special Sleep Advantage system, which includes relaxing aromatherapy kit and ultra-soft premium bedding for the ultimate hotel accommodation in Dubai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubai Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Dubai
Crown Plaza Hotel Dubai
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dubai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing