We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One day without a car in Dubai” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dubai Ferry

Dubai Ferry
Ranked #40 of 386 things to do in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One day without a car in Dubai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I need a time with my kid (14) years old and I want him to have fun and to lessen to what he need.
Park my car at Dubai creek next to DM found water bus to the old souq we shopped had a snack
By waking to al Gopayba we got in to the ferry to the new Dubai showing the cost line show us burj Khalifa Burj Al Arab and the world island and all in less than on hour
Arriving to Dubai marina noon time we had lunch and used the metro to al union station we went back to our car and got home and spend only 350 dhs in total

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Baha_Mohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    115
    28
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best kept tourist secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A fabulous way to see the whole of the Dubai skyline - take the Ferry from the Abra Station nr Al Ghubaiba Metro Station to the Palm (or right to the Marina on a Friday), and take the Metro back to the Creek. The Ferry is shiny and new, very clean with toilets and refreshments available on board - not that we saw any of that. We perched on the rear deck and took some great photos.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank clhtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“We did enjoy all the way as we are living in this wonderfull country and city all of you must visit and have a look this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

its great to visit all those places and enjoy. i really appreicate the workfoce behind and the workfoce who is working around the clock are the best and they needed to be recoginsed from all of us

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Asif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A great "value for money" trip around The Palm and The Marina - a must do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I found out about this by word of mouth; very pleased that we did as its a little gem! Ferries leave from just past Marina Mall at 9am, 11am, 5pm and 7pm. I wouldnt really call it a "ferry" as technically it doesnt go from A to B - more A to A!

The boat is large, spacious and has decent toilets and a small snack bar. For a good view on the way out sit on the right side. No worries if it is full - as you will get a good view on the way back!

The day we went out the sea was quite choppy (pleased i had taken a sea sickness tablet!). We stood outside at the back as we were in regular seating and had access to this area; all very bracing. Talking to another pasenger who was in the VIP section (Dhs 75) as opposed to our Dhs 50, they had access to the front but said there was so much spray they had to come back inside. Perhaps do this on a calmer sea day.

As the inside is air conditioned this would be an excellent outing to do during the hotter summer months.

The Creek ferry ride is next on our list!

As an aside; the boat has wheelchair access for 2. Check www.rta.ae website (under ferries) for more info.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank FlanFam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Terrific way of seeing the Dubai Marina area from the water - you can "feel the money"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a relatively new attraction in Dubai (many thanks to Trip Adviser for agreeing to list it), but is a terrific way of seeing the Dubai Marina and Dubai Palm districts of this city from the water – very good views of the beaches, mega yachts and speed boats, sparkling new berths, iconic skyscrapers, luxury hotels, etc). As you embark on your tour, you can literally “feel the money”.

The departure point is just next to the Dubai Marina Mall (nearest stops on the metro are Dubai Marina and Jumeirah Lake Towers – about 10 minutes walk away, or alternatively the Dubai marina walk with its myriad of hotels is also an easy 10 minute walk). Gold tickets give seats at the front; silver tickets (AED50) the rest.

You cruise along the marina basin (remember – all created by humans rather than nature; I would have very much liked to have been there the day they flooded it/let the seas in), being able to admire, or at least compare, the numerous commercial and residential skyscrapers adjoining the basin. Then it is out into the Gulf, along parts of the Palm (you will see eg the One & Only, Taj, and in-process-of-being-built at time of writing Movenpick) before heading past the Mirage, the Grosvenor House towers, plus seasonal international boat show, back into the marina basin. The views of the iconic skyscrapers, both in Dubai Marina itself, as well as Dubai Media City, will really strike you. When I was there, the international boat show was also in full swing, including the Sheikh’s vast boat moored just outside the entrance to the marina. If you look upwards, in addition to the skyscrapers, you will in all likelihood also see skydivers floating out of the sky, from the skydiver’s club (their landing strip is adjacent to the area). It featured recently in a Flo-rida music video I noticed.

The boat itself is clean and pleasant. It seems to be owned and operated by the Dubai transit system. Being a catamaran, the vessel is very stable. Refreshments are available. Don’t go on a day when there are sandstorms (otherwise no view), or high winds (otherwise the boat will only go up and down the marina area rather than out to sea to pass by the Palm). The commentary in English is a bit ropy – but then again, it is about seeing rather than listening. I believe there is also a sister service which takes you to the Dubai Creek area.

And afterwards, plenty of cafes and restaurants (plus the luxurious Address hotel) in the mall for refreshments, as well as a branch of Waitrose for stocking up on essentials!

To date this appears to be a low key, relatively unknown attraction – but I think you might just enjoy your hour on board, especially for those visitors who are staying in nearby hotels along the Dubai Marina Walk.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dubai Ferry also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Dubai Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing