We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me. Great Staff though!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Dubai The Walk
Ranked #109 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester - UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not for me. Great Staff though!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My family and i stayed here for 10 days from 29th March to 8th April in a Deluxe Seaview Studio (upgraded after an issue). First thing to point out is that the Residence is converted apartment block that was not originally designed as a hotel and suffers from this hence the issues with lifts, aircon and water pressure you may have read about on previous reviews. The residence is situated across The Walk from the main hotel (literally a10 second walk) and there is a overhead walkway opening soon. The location is excellent!

One thing i want to say in advance of my review is regarding the hotel staff at the residence. They are the nicest, politest people i have ever encountered at a hotel and i stay at a lot of hotels. Nothing was too much trouble and they were courteous, always had a smile (unlike alot of the other guests) and made you feel welcome at all times. This was from the Management down to the Pool attendants.

We booked a studio seaview via the hilton website for 2 adults and 2 children. i rang Hilton to check the sleeping arrangements and they advised me on two occasions that it would consist of a king bed and a sofa bed which is fine. Open arrival at the room we just had a king bed, we complained and they sent a single bed to the room but that was still not enough for 4 people (the manager confirmed they do not even even own Sofa beds). i was then offered an upgrade to a two bed apartment for a cost of £2k which i declined due to cost. They then gave me a a free upgrade to a deluxe studio which was larger but still didn't really sort out the sleeping arrangements but did give us more space. If you try to book two adults and two children in a studio now it will not allow it as this room has a max occupancy of 3.

Facilities - You have full access to the main hotels pool and beach BUT the main hotel facilities were designed just for the main hotel occupancy so adding in the additional hundreds of people from the residency causes issues and during the busy season this means overcrowding in the key areas. This means standing in queues for Breakfast after 9:30 and ensuring you have a towel on a sunbed by 8:30am to stand any chance of getting one.

One thing this hotel desperately lacked was a sense of togetherness, there was no Happy Hour or events designed to integrate the occupants and believe me it needs a Happy Hour as food and drinks are ridiculously overpriced. A pint of Heineken is £8 and simple BBQ food such as ribs or prawns are in excess of £25 a dish (on the walk which is literally outside the hotel foyer you can get the same quality food for less than £10).

This was my first visit to Dubai and overall its not for me.If like the "strut round the pool in high heels and designer clothes brigade" or getting excited about young guys driving around endlessly in luxury and supercars for no other reason that to flash their wealth then it may be for you but for me to it was too pretentious.

It will be back to the Caribbean or Mexico for me next Year!

Room Tip: 1. Seaview room have both a seaview and a view of the Walk which is nice 2. Get a deal! - i would h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverKesseler, Director of Operations at Hilton Dubai The Walk, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a comprehensive review of your recent stay at the Residences.

We are happy to know you appreciated our location and grateful of your positive comments towards our team members and management. I will make sure that your kind words have been conveyed to everyone.

It is with regret, however, to know that we were not able to fully meet your expectations due to some shortcomings in our service and facilities.

Please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that we have caused you and your family.

Rest assured that your comments and suggestions have been taken seriously and constructively and that we have taken steps to ensure that the incident regarding sleeping arrangement will not happen again to anyone of our guests and that the set up and facilities in the beach area will be improved.

While we find our prices reasonable, your suggestion of a ‘happy hour’ has been taken into consideration.

Hope none of these misgivings has turned you off Dubai completely and that you may reconsider a repeat stay with us, in the nearest future, to give us chance to regain your confidence in us and let you experience the improvement in our service and facilities.


Yours sincerely,


Oliver Kesseler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,618
    793
    212
    63
    50
See reviews for
1,134
795
95
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

returned feeling a bit upset
after only a couple of days we returned to our apartment to find us unable to open the safe. security visited and stated we had left the room with the safe left open and cleaners had alerted security. we found this strange as both of us had checked the safe was locked,and told security this. security did ask us to check that all was in order while he stood there. initially all items looked to be in order,but later on counting the money we found a considerable amount missing. there is a notice stating the hotel will take no responsibility,and seeing as it was suggested we left the safe open (altho we most definitely had not) this left us with no grounds for argument. we gave a nice tip to the cleaners the day before,this most definitely left a bitter taste on the start of our holiday.

Initial check in was a disaster. with three children and early hours of the morning,to be told that our reservation had somehow been cancelled and the hotel was full was not what we wanted to hear. in fairness they gave us a sea view room from somewhere and we lived out of suitcases into pm the next day in-case we had to move.we got no explanation of what had happened. we had 4000 dirham supposedly put on hold on our credit card. but on check out it had actually been charged and although refunded,will now be standing charges for using the card.
there were some good points,all already mentioned on previous posts.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank millym0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverKesseler, Director of Operations at Hilton Dubai The Walk, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.

While I regret to note of your disappointment on our services, we truly appreciate that you have brought the above issues to our attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

We at Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Hotel Apartments, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations fully.

We hope that the experience made will not withhold you from returning to the Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Hotel Apartments in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Oliver Kesseler
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My girlfriend had to drag me away kicking and screaming when the time came to check out. The Hilton residences provdied a sublime experience from the moment we arrived. Having booked a studio room, we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment on the 22nd floor. The apartment was breath-taking. Immactuately presented with a spacious living room, dining table, a large kitchen and two spacious bathrooms. The balcony envoyed pleasant views over the Marina and the sea. We arrived around 8am having flown from London so as soon as our heads hit the luxurious King bed pillows we were asleep.

The staff at the hotel are among the best I've encountered. Our cleaner was superb and I must give a good mention to Abdul who looked after us upon arrival.

Unlike others, we didn't find the lifts to be over-crowded but as expected they were a little bit busy around breakfast time. There is an excellent choice at breakfast which is backed up by attentive service. We did noticed that a there was a queue to be seated towards the end of the service so my advice would be to arrive early.

The residences has its own pool but we didn't see many people out there, probably because the area was a bit shaded and cold compared to the pool at the main hotel which is slightly bigger. We loved lounging next to the pool and in the lush gardens of the main hotel. The wavebreaker bar does some tasty grills and indulgent cocktails (like many places in Dubai the alcohol here is expensive - £10 for a cocktail). We also visited the studio one sports bar to watch some evening football games, the atmosphere was good and the beer was cheaper than other places but the bar permits smoking which was an unpleasant throwback. The sky bar on the 10th floor is a the perfect chilled out place to enjoy a few cocktails and unwind.

The hotel is located on the walk which has a good choice of reasonably priced reatuarants, most of which are chains.The area gets particularly busy at night with cruising sports cars so take care crossing the road. Behind the hotel there is a 24 hour supermarket which is an excellent source of cheap water and soft drinks.

Overall, the hotel help make our first visit to Dubai a happy one. Can't wait to go back. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dsw1784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton residences, which are right next to the Hilton hotel. All the facilities of the hotel are available. The residences were very clean, big rooms and great accommodatios. Check in was easy. We had a king studio with views of the beach. The room was quite large. We had plenty of space, and there was small kitchen area if needed. Great large fluffy towels. Had a nice fitness center on 35th floor with sep facilities for men and woman.
Location couldn't be beat. The hotel had a private beach with nice facilities. There was a pool at the residences but was mostly in the shade so we used the hotels pool and beach. Water sports are available.
Hotel is on the walk with all shops and restaurants. Think of a strip like Miami beach. Great people watching. Of course all of Dubai and this area is expensive but there are good reasonable restaurants on walk. Very safe area. Also close to metro which we enjoyed taking to malls and other locations. So clean and safe. Nice walk over the Marina area to get to station..
we had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank de113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Booked the cheapest room and it was very big with a king sized bed! The staff was really nice and very good room keeping. There's also a small kitchen and a washing machine in the rooms. And the biggest + is that you get access to all Hilton Hotel facilities across the road (beach, sea, lounge, gym, bar.... and so on).

We checked in 5:00am and they did not charge us extra for all the hours til 2:00pm when we had time for check in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Residence
Studio Apartment Courtyard

We stayed here for a four day break from 15th March. When we booked in at 9.00a.m. the receptionist apologised(!) for our Studio being unavailable and offered us an upgrade to a beautiful apartment in one of the higher floors. Since we did not expect access to our room until 3.00p.m. we were very pleasantly surprised. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The public areas were always clean and tidy. At certain times of the year Half Board is offered and we ate in the Hartisan Restaurant. This was of the buffet type and was very good. The Hotel is situated adjacent to the beach and "The Walk". It is only a ten minute stroll to Jumeirah Lakes Metro Station.
We enjoyed our stay here and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Firstly the good......great location, great staff and good food. The hotel was full when we stayed and as a result the staff had to work really hard to stop everything from falling apart. This was true at breakfast as after 0900 you would have to wait for a table. Also the beach bar after 1200 would be full and again you would be put onto a waiting list. I thought the staff did an excellent job in managing, what was at times clearly quite a stressful situation (due to over demanding fellow guests!) In fact the staff were outstanding in every respect.

Now the not so good and I am really just echoing what others have said! Firstly a hotel with over 40 floors has just 3 small lifts (max 14 people per lift but no way could you squeeze more than 8 people in and we are normal size!) It was a joke that you always had to wait around 5 to 10mins for a lift. On more than one occasion the staff at breakfast showed us to the service lift! When we were in the service lift another guest got in who said he now used them all the time, as he had given up on the normal lifts. Also the shower had no water pressure at all and was so poor my wife had a bath one night. We had friends staying with us and reported the same problem.
When went to get a sun bed around 1030-1100 everyday, the place was over run with towels on beds but no persons on them. I know that this happens at a lot of hotels but at least at others I have at least seen the staff try to not let it happen or there are enough sun beds for everyone. We were lucky that we just managed to get a sun bed even if it was not in the location we wanted. After 1100 you would be out of luck and we did see staff taking quite a lot of abuse because of this. I'm guessing that as you now have an extra maybe 2-300 extra guests from the Residences that can use the main hotel, they clearly do not have the extra capacity. Also whilst the staff were very hard working we did have to go to the bar to order drinks, even though they give you a flag for staff to serve you.
Overall it was a great trip let down by small things like the lift and shower. I honestly would not go back until some solution was found to the shower and the lift problem. I would however book into the main hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Backpackernomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliverKesseler, Director of Operations at Hilton Dubai The Walk, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

As it is feedback from our valued guests that enables us to improve our services, we thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us.

We truly regret to know of your disappointment particularly the guest lift and showers in the guest room.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience the above incident has caused you.

Rest assured that these comments of yours have been brought serious attention to the concerned department heads, for consideration and necessary action.

On the other hand, we appreciate your positive comments towards the services provided by our team members and the quality of food.

We do hope that the above misgivings will not hinder you from considering staying with us again in the future, an opportunity for us to serve you even better.

Yours sincerely,

Oliver Kesseler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#133 of 550 in Dubai
4,893 reviews
The Marina
Sofitel Dubai Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
JA Ocean View Hotel
JA Ocean View Hotel
#59 of 550 in Dubai
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Dubai - Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Ramada Plaza Jumeirah Beach
The Marina
Movenpick Hotel Jumeirah Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dubai The Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dubai The Walk

Property: Hilton Dubai The Walk
Address: The Walk; Al Sufouh Street, 53 | Jumeirah Beach Residence, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 550 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dubai The Walk 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an extended stay at Hilton Dubai The Walk, located on 'The Walk,' a bustling promenade area featuring the beach mall full of boutiques, restaurants and cinemas in the heart of Jumeirah Beach. Accommodation options include contemporary studios, duplex lofts and spacious two-, three-, and four-bedroom apartments. This Dubai hotel is within walking distance of Dubai Marina cafes, boutiques and entertainment venues, and within easy reach of downtown Dubai. Hilton Dubai The Walk is linked via footbridge to the Hilton Dubai Jumeirah Resort, sharing a wide range of facilities and services. Guests can enjoy access to a variety of onsite restaurants and bars, luxurious spa services, a private sandy beach and watersport facilities. Guests in Dubai on business can avoid long commutes, as the city's major corporate hubs are only ten minutes away. Nearby attractions include two of Dubai's premier golf courses and some of the best shopping in the world - the Mall of the Emirates, home to the largest indoor ski area, the Marina Mall and Ibn Battuta Mall. Complimentary WiFi is available in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Dubai The Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing