We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality Vietnamese food”
Review of Hoi An

Hoi An
Ranked #648 of 9,562 Restaurants in Dubai
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Top quality Vietnamese food”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The restaurant is kept in a dim lighting with lots of wood and fans on the ceiling. It certainly has a posh Vietnamese feel to it.
The service was very friendly and was happy to advise on the various menu choices. We went for a shared platter of appetizers which were good, but not outstanding.
The main on the other hand was superb. My wife had the salmon and I had the lamb chops. The meat was cooked to perfect tenderness.
Also, the amuse bouche and raspberry sorbet palet cleanser complimented the overall dining experience.
Prices are similar to other Dubai hotel restaurants.
The restaurant offers Asian fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark27Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    54
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
312 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Vietnam on your plate!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As my first experience with Vietnamese cuisine, this resaurant completely outdid my expectations. The staff were very warm and friendly, and incredibly attentive through our meal. We began with what seemed like a complimenatry round of pistachio nuts and rice crackers. They do a full three-course Vietnamese meal, and gladly obliged to do a vegetarian variant for the only two vegetarians (including msyelf) on our table full of carnivores. The first course was starters - elegantly served with dipping sauces- and were the equivalent of spring rolls and dumplings. The main course was a mixed vegetable in sauce with rice. And we ended with a delightful native desert, that seemed to be infused with rice and coconut. I would highly recommend this restaurant - which is the star amongst the options at Shangri La Dubai - the decor and ambience are memorable too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anuj_Mithani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Authentic food in a nice setting with very nice staff. Had an appetiser selection and wok fried black peper beef, as well as several amuses. Worth a recommendation!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gert1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Really Friendly”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Really fun staff, well presented and tasty fresh food. Small dining area but well spaced tables. Going back for more!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank binnsini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
227 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Came for dinner. Really enjoyed the atmosphere. Great that the dining room isn't too large. Gives it a cozy feel. The staff were really friendly and the Vietnamese pho we had was fresh, filling and delicious. Prices are high, but to be expected for a Dubai hotel. Also the restaurant attracts a nice crowd which adds to the good atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Hoi An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing