We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!”
Review of Aprons & Hammers

Aprons & Hammers
Ranked #399 of 9,567 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
wrexham,north wales
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went here with my brother who works in Dubai. It's not on the main tourist list of places to eat so i think that's why it gets overlooked.It's in the Marine club attatched to the Mina Seyahi Beach Resort. We got to the end of the marina and saw the Dhow. It's wonderful, all light timber inside with tables and counters. The menu is seafood,with one chicken option. We shared 3 starters;fishcakes,clams in a lovely sauce and fried shrimps, all were lovely. Then I shared a bucket of mussels in a wonderful cream and saffron sauce and my husband had the chicken which he said was overcooked and tough, shame as the rest of the food was wonderful. Next time i'll try the crab, which is the reason of the title of the resaurant, the give you an apron to wear while you crack the crabs with the hammers! great night out for groups. Service ok.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    150
    54
    26
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best seafood in Dubai! Amazing concept, just what Dubai needed!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I love, love, love this place! So... this is a very cute hidden location. The restaurant is an old wooden boat. (It does not move) The food is amazing - a must try is the peppered clams on in the starter section. But beware they are addictive, you will want them everyday for the rest of your life! Be preperared to get your hands dirty here. What I love about this place is that its not your typical bling glitzy glam place that Dubai is so flooded with. It is very chilled out and relaxed but still lisenced. Lawrence that runs it, always makes you feel vey welcome and at home, and is always happy to accomodate any requests. So the way it works is that they serve big buckets of sea food - giant prawns, muscles, crab etc with different sauces and you just tuck in. The views from the boat are absolutly stunning. Its very romantic but also a great place to come with freinds. The only thing I would changes here is.... the wine by the glass could be better. They could also do with getting some decent big wine glasses. Otherwise just perfect!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've been to this place several times, and love it every time! it a big boat, and when the weather is nice, sitting on the top deck is gorgeous. Their crab salad and shrimp and avocado salad are so good that we get a portion for 2 for 1 person. We always get a bucket of crab which is fantastic. Highly recommended for sea food lovers

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank REB1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Above Average at best...”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Visited this place in Dec 2011, good view and location, but food was above average at best... since i come from Sout East Asia, i get better seafood at lower prices. But i guess we couldnt complain since we were in DXB.

Tried the crabs (Flower crabs), mussels and shrimps.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bong360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place...”
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice location and good food. Exellent seaside venue for occasion. Lost my wallet and the Owner [South African] called me. Thanks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aprons & Hammers also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Aprons & Hammers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing