We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money & perfect location”
Review of Melia Dubai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Dubai Hotel
Ranked #87 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    566
    157
    68
    57
See reviews for
356
739
170
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Melia for a week-long conference in October 2012. The good points - the hotel rooms were beautiful (with sumptuous bathtubs) and the facility had excellent restaurants and prestigious clubs, as well as a nice (but small) rooftop pool area. Further, the staff, especially at reception and concierge's desk, were attentive and extremely helpful. The bad points - the location was far from any mass transit and, at times, cabs were difficult to come by; additionally, the thumping bass from the clubs on at least one night kept me awake far later than I would have liked. In short, I appreciated the luxury of the hotel (relative to other hotels that I have stayed at in Dubai) although the location would make me question returning here for anything other than a business conference hosted on-site.

Room Tip: The higher that you are, the less likely you are to be disturbed by the sound of the bass from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidvoyager01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at Meliá Dubai.
We at Meliá Dubai are continuously striving to improve our services and products, therefore your feedback is very valuable and I thank you very much for sharing it with us. I have also shared your comment with our Reception and Concierge team, and they are equally happy to go through your review.

Once again thank you for sharing your feedback, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Carina Nunez-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I would not recommend staying here for work or for holiday.

Melia has a very contemporary modern design, which is carried through the reception to the rooms. Inside the room is a comfy bed and glass walls on the bathroom, you can shut an internal door in the bathroom for privacy.

This was a nice surprise on booking in and thought i was in for an amazing stay... however it went downhill from there. There is 3 restaurants on the ground floor:
Signature by Sanjeev Kapoor (Indian), Titanic by Marco Pierre White(European) and the hotels day to day service – Azalya. There is choice and the food seemed good but be prepared that ALL OF THESE ARE EMPTY. Additionally because of the two celebrity restaurants in the hotel, it feels that it is ok to charge a huge amount for its rather poor offerings. It does make Marco Pierre Whites’ very good value for money.

Like others on here we have also found its best to not include breakfast with the booking and choose a room service meal which is less than half the price and feeds two people (sometimes as the room service tends to just bring what they can on the day ... so it’s a lottery). Forget the bars, they are well decorated miserable dark box rooms. What made me chuckle is a really bizarre happy hour where you order two drinks and get a third one free (what do you do with the free one when there is two or four of you). Again get used to being on your own with the bar staff just staring at you for your next drink.

Since the day to day hotel food is expensive and dull grub you might look to go elsewhere but sadly this hotel has very poor location with nothing in walking distance and a long wait for taxis which are only available at the underground lobby.

Since i have an early flight on Saturday i was delighted to find out the ‘night club’ can easily be heard in the room and at one point shook the glass walled bathroom, despite us being on floor 5 of 7 and the night club is on the ground level.

General requests take a very long time here. This is defiantly a hotel which has style over substance, the staff try hard (too hard) but its just frustrating and disappointing experience. We also stayed at the Park Regus Kris Kin, with the lovely 19th floor bar. My advice is to save some money and forgo the fancy interior for a hotel that actually functions as a hotel and do not even think of booking here for work.

Room Tip: forget sleeping on friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treadmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Treadmiller

Thank you for letting us have your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst I am pleased to note that you enjoyed our design, the quality of our furnishings and in particular our rooms, I am most concerned to read of your disappointments with our breakfast and food and beverages offers in general.

Regarding the quality of the food and Restaurants, we do regularly check the quality and presentation of each dish. Please rest assured that your comments have already been followed up and we will be reviewing each and every menu item.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we fell short in this aspect of your stay. I am even more concerned though to read your review about our team and services here, as the delivery of caring and helpful service and being available to assist our guests at any time is the cornerstone of our service philosophy. Your experience here runs totally against what the vast majority of our guests regularly tell us.

I do sincerely hope that we will see you again, and have the opportunity to show you how great Meliá Dubai and our Restaurants truly are.
Carina Nunez- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel on Oct.10-12. We were very happy with this hotel, especially with their staff and service. From the moment we checked in till the moment we checked out, all the hotel staffs had always been very kind and as much helpful as possible to us. Special thanks to the concierge chief Mr. Joy and his assistant, they not only gave us many advices about our city-tour, but also arranged the whole scheduling + booking + paying, we are very impressed by their professionalism.

The room is spacious with nice big bathroom, the bed is one of the most cozy hotel beds I've ever been, interesting TV setting, the only thing I would point out is the drain in our shower room (we were in room 727) was a little blocked so you ended up your shower with water covering till your feet.

There is a not-bad swimming pool at the roof with nice view to the city. And the bar beside the reception makes very good mojito.

The hotel is not really in downtown but about 15min. by car.

Another thing: we booked deluxe room and we were sent to 7th floor which is "the Level", it confused us and we thought that we could enjoy the executive floor benefit because we were on that floor. It is not. No complain but if we were explained during checking in then this kind of misunderstanding could be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ger-LiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Gear Lili,

A big thank you on behalf of the hotel team here at the Meliá Dubai.

Our team in the hotel had bright smiles when reading your feedback, especially Mr. Joy and his assistant.

They all work hard to ensure our guests such as yourself leave the hotel with a smile and provide great feedback such as what you did on Tripadvisor.

I thank you, though, for your feedback comments about the The Level during your stay, we already taking some actions to avoid this kind of misunderstanding.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Meliá Dubai in the future.
Carina Nunez- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This review will be based on four nights quick stay in Dubai melia hotel. I was surprised when I find out that melia opened a hotel in Dubai resently which I belive it is the first in the middle east region.

The general theme of the hotel is relaxed and quite, my room was in the last floor (7th floor) away from all noise (if there is any) which exactly what I wanted.

The reason I picked that hotel is that we wanted a hotel on jumaira beach road.

Melia is located in area where almost nothing to do around so either you want to stay enjoy the hotel or it is better to rent a car and every thing you might need is ten to 20 mins drive in jumaira beach area.

Room
Bed will definetly make you relax ( so comfy)
TV in the mirror high tech and nice touch.

Bathroom
Sliding partition / door is a good idea which gives you more privecy unlike other getaway hotels.
Hi-quality ceeling shawer type with good products.

Room service
Thumbs up for the cheff (food was the best) we tryed most of the menu and made us forget to try hotel resturants !!
Special thanks for every one from the kitchen all the way to room service

Spa
Big varity of diffrent treatments (massages , treatments , wraps , facial ... And alot of other treatments)
Thats definetly will be the next reason to come back to this hotel (SPA break)..

Parking
Free  parking is a big advantage of Melia Dubai.

Small advice to hotel manegment:
1.You difinetly have one of the best chef/menu dishes ; However you need to work on the desert menu.

2.Adding the red glove service which exists in other melia resorts is a good add to the hotel services. It was very useful in gran melia teniriffe.

3.Hotel website made an error when I tryed to book. It would be nice if you add packages like weekend breaks or spa break since you have a BIG number of spa treatment in the spa menu.

4.Also speed dial in phone Beside coffee maker is not working but still not big issue because the phone beside the bed is working room 717.

My only regret is that I didn't tryed the hotel resturants.

Will I come back to the same Melia hotel .. For sure big yes and I become a member already. Also I will try suite next time as a change.

Special thanks for all melia employee.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mr. Dhari,

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Meliá Dubai and would like to thank you for writing such a constructive review on tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Meliá Dubai and it is rewarding to learn that we have achieved on this occasion. . Your comments will certainly be passed to all different departments whose efforts were much appreciated.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Meliá Dubai soon!
Carina Nunez- Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

First the area is 'developing' and has a long way to go. Mostly old resedential apartments and empty sites. However like everwhere in Dubai it seems totaly safe. While it is not in very interesting area it is central to everwhere by taxi or Metro. 20 minute walk to metro station or of course taxi at about 3 euro.

Entrance to hotel is through underground garage - nice when you come in car as there is no need to leave the airconditioned environment. However walking out seems strange.

Inside it is a new modern style hotel in immaculate condition- glass, marble and stainless steel style. Rooms beautiful but my wife thought the dominence of brown color was dull. Bathroom or rooms is amazing - seperate, bath area, shower, toilet, basin area and just so clean.
The tv is interesting - it is a big mirror that shows your programs when you press remote.
We did found it hard to get air conditioning to change temperature.

Service again amazing - just details like wanting ice - a phone call and it arrives in about 3 minutes and of course no charge.

Roof top pool has great views. it is kept immaculately. Service amazing. Towels to order. Attendent was superb. Plenty of beds and 3 Cabans and we usualy found one available - no charge of course. Sauna and steam room are seperate for ladies and gents. Spa good.

Dont forget the "MAS" card - sign up on line or at reception for good discounts including free breakfast for room mate every morning.

We just used main resturant and found it good value.


Marvelous experience.

Room Tip: We were on sixth floor - it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2frank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest E, Guest Experience Department at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you very much for having chosen Melia Dubai. It is always a pleasure to receive such a motivating feedback.
We fell really proud and delighted of your comments about the staff and our hotel.
Your kind words will encourage all the team to keep on working in the right direction.
Thank you one more time to emphasize our Mas Loyalty Program, with one of the benefits that we have.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back,
Sincerely
Carina Nunez -Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We got there for Friday brunch and we were only one of three couples. The service was good and the ambience was ok despite the lack of people. What's wrong we asked ourselves? Well when we sat down to eat we realized what the problem was. The brunch starter was dubious at best. Dodgy processed sausages? Marco do you know whats going on in this restaurant that bears your name - i think not. Then the mains. The roast beef was inedible, the yorkshire puddings could have been hockey pucks. The haddock was passable but by no means special. We skipped deserts only to be told by the waiter that we were strange. I don't think we will go back any time soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina_MD, Manager at Melia Dubai Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Rob,
Thank you for having taken time to write this review.
It is our highest priority to provide our guests with an exceptional dining experience with high quality and delicious food and in this instance we certainly failed to do this.
We do apologize that your meal did not live up to the level of quality that our guests have come to expect from our restaurant.
We appreciate very much you bring this to our attention. Your feedback is extremely important and will help us correct the situation that allowed food that was not up to our standards to be served.
We hope you will give us another chance to show you we can provide you an excellent experience.
Best regards,
Carina Nunez-Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
Hilton Dubai Creek
#85 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
Hilton Dubai Jumeirah
#125 of 542 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Dubai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Dubai Hotel

Property: Melia Dubai Hotel
Address: 23 Kuwait Street | Port Rashid, Al Raffa, Dubai P.O Box 116656, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 542 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Dubai Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Dubai, your ultimate urban escape. The hotel is cutting edge in style which takes inspiration from the world's fashion capital, Milan so expect visually entertaining interiors with contemporary art pieces from all over the world, 164 stunningly decorated rooms & suites and state-of-the-art meeting space and business facilities. Located close to the World Trade Centre, Sheikh Zayed Road, Gold & Spice Souqs, historical Bastakiya, Dubai Museum and Dubai Creek, the hotel is perfectly situated within a short reach to Dubai's main shopping and commercial districts like the iconic Burj Khalifa and only 10 km away from Dubai International Airport. Get the best views of the city whilst indulging on Mediterranean food and cocktails and listening to silky sounds from our resident DJ at Estrellas Skyline Lounge, perched at the rooftop of Meliá Dubai. Explore the exotic dishes from India at Celebrity Chef Sanjeev Kapoor's Signature Restaurant whilst Alfonso Sushi Lounge as well as Azalya Restaurant will cater to your international palate. Head over to YHI Spa to relax your body and mind after a hectic travel or day out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Dubai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing