We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and clean rooms, not a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TIME Opal Hotel Apartments
Ranked #47 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Dubai
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel apartment for 11 nights. I had booked and paid for a 2 bedroom apartment. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that they did not have a 2 bedroom apartment available and could only give us 2 one bedroom apartments. We werent happy but it was clear that we had no choice but to take it. The night shift reception staff was not very helpful and did not make us feel very welcome.
On the second day I went to reception and the I have to admit that the day time reception staff were much better. They were helpful and arranged for us to move into 2 bed apartment on 4th day.

The hotel is located in al Barsha area. The location is not central but it was ok because we had a car and parking was free.

There were lots of construction work around the hotel which meant lots of noise from early morning.

The rooms are very spacious and clean and a good size kitchen with all basic appliance.

Our rooms were cleaned for us everyday which was great. The cleaning staff were very polite and helpful.

There was a gym and a small pool on the roof which I never used but it looked OK.

The hotel is 20 minutes walk to Mall of Emirates.

All in all this is a good hotel apartment. It's not luxury but good value for what I paid.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarazFazeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Oak, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Dear Mr. Faraz,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your positive remarks about the excellent location, clean rooms and our helpful staff. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It is disappointing to hear that we fell short on your expectations on your check in experience. We have taken your comments on board in our continuous efforts to improve our facility & services.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Dubai.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Not a bad place, good size rooms , it is an apartment, so a bedroom,kitchen and lounge room, very expensive internet, and this place is not close to anywhere, so be prepared to walk or get a taxi for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
A good dusty 15 minutes walk to the Mall of Emirates, and a good dusty 15 minutes back, if you are not going to cook and use the kitchen, stay somewhere else

Room Tip: if you are looking for an apartment its great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pflynn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Oak, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and for recommending us at Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our services up to your satisfaction and standards. Your positive comments will be shared with our Team, which will encourage them to maintain their effort and improve our quality of service.

We look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been in Dubai for one week during January, it has been like a dream, the Time Opal is very nice, clean, equiped and tidy apartments with all facilities, but the Wifi is very expernsive. we were four we booked two apar. each with one bed room, two toilets, living + dinning and kitchen. It is near Mall of Emirates and Metro Station.

Room Tip: My room is number 101 it is on the first floor, it is very nice but if you go up on the fourth or fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhawary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Oak, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us following your recent stay.

I am delighted to know that you find our services up to your satisfaction and standards. Rest assured that your positive comments will be shared with our team members which will encourage them to maintain their efforts and improve our quality of service every day.

We look forward of having you and your family with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

After making the reservation via internet on the Time Hotels own website, and receiving confirmation in October, we arrived at the hotel for check-in in December, only to be told that they were overbooked and could not accomodate us. We were offered an "upgrade" the their "5 star" Time Grand Plaza hotel, which was about 45 minutes drive away, close to the airport. I would recommend that you check your reservation 24 hours before arrival to make sure that they can accommodate you. I also got the impression that the staff at the front desk was not very sympathetic to the guests and could not get rid of them quick enough. There were two more couples waiting in reception who could also not be accommodated at this hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank AnitaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Oak, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Dear Ms. Anita,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. It is through our valuable customer’s feedback that we can maintain and most importantly improve the levels of our customer services that we aspire to provide.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had experienced during your recent stay with us. I have brought up the issue on board and necessary action has been taken to ensure similar situation do not happen again in future. I would like to assure you that we are making every effort to make sure that all of our guests will experience a convenient and comfortable stay with us.

I do hope that this particular incident will not prevent you from staying with us again as we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My sister, mother and I stayed here for 6 nights in November. We had paid in advance for a triple room, however on arrival we were informed that this hotel only has double rooms, and if we wanted a third bed we would have to pay for it. Although we explained that we had already paid for a TRIPLE room, they refused to give us the additional bed. In the UK false advertising is illegal, however in Dubai apparently this is acceptable behaviour. We ended up taking turns sleeping on the 2 seater sofa as we didn't have enough money to pay for an extra bed. After several arguments with the staff, we contacted our agent in the UK and they eventually gave us an extra bed. Besides that bad experience, I thought the room facilities were nice and clean. If it hadn't been for the shocking customer service, I would have given this hotel a 4 star rating (a point deducted because its about a 1km walk to the nearest public transport near the Mall)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Oak, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is only through our valuable customer’s feedback that we can maintain and most important improve the levels of our customer services that we aspire to provide.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had experienced during your recent stay with us. I have brought up the issue on board and necessary action has been taken to ensure similar situation do not happen again in future. I would like to assure you that we are making every effort to make sure that all of our guests will experience a convenient and comfortable stay with us.

I do hope that this particular incident will not prevent you from staying with us again as we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

was at the opal last February, I was visiting Dubai for work.
The hotel is extremely clean, rooms are very spacious, the location is super nice ( a walking distance from Mall of the emirates (if the weather helps!).
the apartment includes a living room, a kitchen and two toilets!
there's also a gym at the top floor and a pool at the roof...
staff are very friendly and helpful.
price was really good compared to what we had in return.

would definitely stay there on my next visit

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cfares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Hotel, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our services up to your satisfaction and standards. Your positive comments will be shared with our Team, which will encourage them to maintain their effort and improve our quality of service.

We look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Arrived dubai ard 1.30am,greeted by hotel-arranged transportation driver. We booked 4 nights at Opal Living Courts more than a month in advance with sales manager Christos Mama.Surprisingly, we were escorted to Crystal Living courts,sister property. We told the driver that its not crystal we staying. He checked his sms, he confirmed that the hotel asked him to send us to crystal. We insisted him to send us to Opal.

On arrival at Opal, another shock happened! The receptionist,Herman couldnt find our reservation in the system. We showed him the confirmation voucher. It took him long time to check in the system and finally told us that our first night will be staying at Crystal as the 2-bedroom apartment 2 floors are leaking. We were so frustrated and angry at the arrangement. He asked us whether we receive email from reservation team about the leakage and transfer. How come we were not informed in advance? We asked him to give us options and all he can say is "There's nothing we can do beside crystal on the first night". We requested to see the general manager and sorted out the matter on the spot. The GM only available in his office around 8am. We told Herman that we need compensation like late check out and internet access given this type of treatment. He need to check with GM.

From 2nd day till we checked out, we didnt meet with the GM. Everytime we asked the receptionist about GM, they always give us excuse like he seldom in, he very busy,etc till we fed up of it. At the end,we were given free 24hrs internet access and late check out.

Other than that, the apartment is new,spacious,home feel and fully furnished. Another receptionist,Yassine is helpful,informative and friendly. Felt bit upset at the housekeeping. We were told that housekeeping services come with dish washing but its not. The airport transfer is over price, cost AED150 for one-way trip. Taxi is just AED 52.50.

Overall experience:
Disappointed! The sales manager,Christos Mama didnt bother to inform us in advance about leakage and sort out the problem together. GM didnt attend to the hotel guest and apologize for the inconvenience cause.

Room Tip: Precheck with the reservation team days before arrival to update the booking status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Babybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIME_Hotel, General Manager at TIME Opal Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. It is through our valuable customer’s feedback that we can maintain and most importantly improve the levels of our customer services that we aspire to provide.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had experienced during your recent stay with us. I have brought up the issue on board and necessary action has been taken to ensure similar situation do not happen again in future. I would like to assure you that we are making every effort to make sure that all of our guests will experience a convenient and comfortable stay with us.

I do hope that this particular incident will not prevent you from staying with us again as we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mohamed Eldeeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
0.2 mi away
Pearl Coast Premier Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Al Waleed Palace Hotel Apartments Al Barsha
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Residences Dubai - Al Barsha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Villa Najd
La Villa Najd
#402 of 556 in Dubai
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
TIME Topaz Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
City Stay Hotel Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TIME Opal Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TIME Opal Hotel Apartments

Address: 69 23 St | Al Barsha 1 near Mall of The Emirates, Dubai 283569, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Dubai
Hotel Class:3 star — TIME Opal Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the style and service of one of the freshest new Al Barsha apartment hotels. Situated in the Al Barsha area, near Mall of the Emirates in Dubai, this exceptional destination offers a dynamic downtown address for overnight visits and long-term stays. Extending all the comfort of a private home along with TIME signature brand of hotel services, these modern Al Barsha hotel apartments feature a host of thoughtful amenities designed for travellers and vacationers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your TIME Opal Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing