We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food”

Segreto Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #217 of 9,562 Restaurants in Dubai
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Take an abra through Madinat's serene waterways to the Malakiya Villas, and you'll find Segreto - one of the hidden gems on Dubai's fine dining map. An enchanting evening then takes you up a candlelit stairway to the elegant interior and secluded terrace, of the restaurant itself.
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the food”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The food here and very good value as long as you stay away from the wine !

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank clafey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    179
    88
    48
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“by Jumeirah strip "rip off" standards not bad at all”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

First of all you have to accept that if you eat along the Jumeirah strip, you are going to have your wallet emptied at a rate of knots, especially if you drink wine. You are also not going to find the quality of price/cuisine that one would expect even in costly central London.

So, putting those caveats aside, Segreto isn't bad at all - don't even start to compare it to Locanda Locatelli in London, other than by price! It's not quite a difficult to find as at least one reviewer has suggested, for once inside the (tourist-trap) souk, it's actually signposted.

Upstairs on the roof terrace is a nicely appointed cocktail bar (Centimetro), though that is only open in the cool (cold!) months of October through May. Not the most exciting cocktail list, but very pleasant in its own way with some decent (recorded) light jazz in the background.

The restaurant itself is downstairs, with plenty of space between tables and attentive and good-humoured staff as is the usual case in Dubai. The menu is indeed not the most exciting, though one could say similar of 95% of Italian restaurants in UK. A relic of the 60s is the gargantuan phallic peppermill that is lugged around to each table!

Burata salad was plentiful and pretty good as was the slection of salamis, parma ham etc.
Ravioli with seafood filling was very tasty, though the thickness of the homemade pasta would ceratinly not have drawn any plaudits from Angela Hartnett - I suspect the ambient temperature and perhaps even the flour obtainable locally do nothing to help. Good peppery "proper" rocket salad, though some cherry tomatoes underneath were certainly a little past their best.

A bottle of Frescobaldi Tuscan white was pleasant enough without being exciting, and at AED 400, it tells you plenty about why eating out here can be financially eye-watering.

Overall, I have fared far worse and more expensively here (avoid Pierchic!!!), so on balance, if trapped within the confines of Jumeirah, worth an evening out

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not memorable to be honest”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We went to Segreto on our last night in Dubai. Firstly it's incredibly difficult to find and we only got there because a kind shopkeeper showed us the way. It is in a lovely location by the water but, even though we were told we could have a table outside, this wasn't the case when we arrived ten minutes late because of heavy traffic. My son had a steak which was fine and a good size and I had veal.
The food was good, the service was good but overall it just wasn't very memorable. There wasn't anything about it that made me think 'wow that was so delicious', and I think that's important when you are paying a fairly high price for dinner for two.
I dont think I'd go back if I was in Dubai again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazeypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food gorgeous”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Did not book, every thing was good! It is well worth going, food gorgeous

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrysuzanne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Going down each year”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Used to be great food and great venue although pricey.
It still is the latter but rest poor.
Go elsewhere

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segreto Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Segreto Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing