We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY UNHAPPY "CUSTOMER"”
Review of Toro Toro

Toro Toro
Ranked #123 of 9,619 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Marina
Description: Toro Toro by famed Latin American Chef Richard Sandoval spans over two floors on the marina's edge. Poised to turn up the heat considerably in the city's already famed dining scene, it pioneers tastes from Buenos Aires to Sao Paulo and offers a multitude of Pan Latin dining experiences paired with an infinite Cachaca Bar.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VERY UNHAPPY "CUSTOMER"”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This unfortunately is not a nice review to write let a lone share. But I am so disgusted and offended by the way I was treated last evening at Toro Toro that I could not sit idly by with out getting my word out of there.

After spending the evening at Siddhartha lounge, I took my out of town friend to Toro Toro to show her the place I was raving about and had been to numerous times for dinner, drinks, and lunch.

Only to have Malik at the door take one look at us and asked “ Do you have a reservation? “ We did not. I said we are two girls, we just want to have a drink at the bar.

Where Malik says : Couples only.

Yet right in front us let in different groups consisting of two girls and a guy. As you can imagine, we were confused as to how this was a “couple”. On top of that, I have been in Dubai for more than a decade, and never have seen ladies being turned away for being ladies..

We were continued to be dismissed, ignored, sadly it created a bit a scene – but we were not being treated well at all.

We asked for the on duty manager, where Malik laughed and said for sure. This “manager” did not even ask what the situation was, did not try to rectify the situation, and blindly “backed up” the lovely Malik and told us “we are full”.

This was so disgusting, rude, and nothing close to the “hospitality” that Grosvenor house or Toro Toro speaks of. I expressed my opinion ( in a heated way ) and left. But before I left, I called Toro Toro – I asked the lady on the phone “ We are two girl who don’t have a reservation – can we come to the bar?” The lady said “ Of course, we are empty tonight.

I am not expecting anything… at all. I am in this business, and have to let you know what happened, how disgusted I am to be treated in such a vile manor but two very smug arrogant men, and to know I will never set foot in that establishment again or recommend it to anyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Hotel Manager at Toro Toro, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review on Trip Advisor.

We are very concerned to read your comments with regards to your experience on your recent visit to Toro Toro at the Grosvenor House and as we value all our guests feedback I would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak to you personally and kindly request you to contact us directly on Guestservices.Grosvenorhouse@starwoodhotels.com

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Khaled Ghaleb
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    196
    75
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“South American”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I love that the restaurant stays open until 3 ! Food is nice had a pisco sour with my meat and even at 1 am service is a good as any other hour ! The music from above is not tooo disturbing and the crowed is quite hip ! . The bar upstairs serves quality drinks and a warm atmosphere Its a nice place to have drinks with friends listen to nice music without being to mellow !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skaffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you were pleased with your overall dining experience at Toro Toro restaurant.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy steakhouse with excellent service and delicious starters”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had a quiet dinner here with a colleague and was very impressed with the food and service. The menu was simple, but the food was really good. We had the calamari and prawn starters that were both very good and highly recommended. For mains we both had the Argentinian steak and being from South Africa our expectations were very high. I'm glad to say we were both very impressed. Do yourself a favour and give it a try if you're ever in Dubai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you were truly impressed with your overall dining experience at Toro Toro and were extremely pleased with the simple yet tasteful cuisine and the excellent service we have on offer.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurenlos, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steakhouse with a Latin twist”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were in the Toro Toro two years ago and found out recently: it has matured just fine, just like good wine. Either chose going directly to this superb restaurant in the Grosvenor House hotel or go first to Bar 44 in one of the hotel towers – to enjoy the view of Dubai Marina from 44th floor (hence the name). Staff and drinks up there could hardly get better votes, they master the classics and have a refreshing variety of own ideas or goldtimers with a brand new twist. Your alternative for Bar 44 is to head down to the restaurant directly and marvel over a Caipirinha which is freshly made, right at your table. Again, staff could not be friendlier. Regarding food, you may either go for tapas all the way, the choice is remarkably rich and from what we saw at our table or others, it lacks nothing in neither presentation nor flavor. We had (as cold starter) a «Causa Toro Toro» which is a small tower made of mashed yellow potato cake, tuna tartare, aioli, avocado and sesame oil – very tasty. As warm starters we chose seared sea scallops (in lime butter) with a hat of parmesan, superb! We also tried the wild mushroom flatbread (mushrooms, goat cheese, caramelized shallots, truffle oil), again, an excellent choice. After this we went for the Argentinian rib eye. This is served on potatoes, so strictly, you would not need another side order. We gave the Yuca fries and the sweet potatoes a try nevertheless, both delicious. After this, we regretfully had to refrain from desserts. We left very full, but more importantly, very happy! Will we return? You bet!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathiasbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear that you had enjoyed once again your overall dining experience at Toro Toro and found the restaurant to be refining.

It is nice to note that you liked the cuisine and found it to be tasteful and delicious. It is also nice to know that you were pleased with the service rendered by our ambassadors.

Additionally, we are glad that you were able to experience as well Bar 44 and liked the beverages we have on offer.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas Style Latin Food”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I went there twice last month with two groups and both times it was excellent. This is a restaurant where you should only opt for the starters as they have variety of cold and hot starters. The starters come in small portions like tapas and almost all of them taste great especially the hot starters. The best ones are the prawns, the empanadas, the lamb, ...etc. This is a perfect place for having dinner with friends where all of you can share the food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dxb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLRM, Director of Food & Beverage at Toro Toro, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Having visited Toro Toro restaurant twice, we are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your dining experience on both occasions.

It is also nice to note that you were pleased with the variety of food we have on offer at the restaurant.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Ivan Di Lucia
Director of Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Toro also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Toro Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing