We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
Ranked #278 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I am staying in the hotel for a month and been here for a week. The food is very nice. The beef loin is superb. It's staff are friendly, hotel is glamorous, 4 stars are spot on. Couple of points, carpets could do to be washed but are still very nice, kettle leaked, no don't not disturb sign in room, fridge not cold but management sorted same day.. If you do stay get the executive or ambassador room worth every penny. The hotel lacks in the little detail which could make it 5 star.. Staff should be allowed to test drive the rooms to find the little faults.. 8/10 very pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodgym5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEHDXB, Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Dodgym5

At the onset we would like to thank you for taking valuable time off to post our much appreciated comments pertaining to your present stay. We are very glad to know that you are enjoying the hotel and it’s services and the food quality has lived up to your expectations. Your words of compliments is certainly a instigator for us to strive to achieve higher performance levels in our service to guests. We do have periodic maintenance of our carpets. We have noted your points of observations and have discussed this in our management briefings.

Please be free to approach the reception or dial “0” through out your stay in case of any assistance required. We wish you a more pleasant stay during the remaining days of your present stay with us.

Yours sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 470 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are a family husband, wife and two daughters from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.I have stayed at some hotels in uae but this hotel was the best. The hospitality, the room size clean and the food. The concierge HelaL was very professional and helpful in organizing adventure tours for us and he is the best as what he does. I have never met a concierge more hospitable and more caring for the needs of the guests.Grand Excelsior has an amazing reception staff ,Erkita and Ali smiley face friendly and very helpul,
Lovely breakfast buffet, great location, not too far from anything in Dubai.
Looking forward to our next stay there after 2-3 months.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohammad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEHDXB, Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Mohammad M,

Greetings of the Day.

We take great pride in your words of appreciation and recognition of the hotel and it’s services. Your encouraging words of compliments drives us to achieve greater service standards for our guests and we will certainly keep striving to excel our guests expectations. We have brought to notice your compliments to the entire staff and in particular the specific staff and department whose names are mentioned by your good self.

We thank you for the patronage and while we await your next stay with us we assure you of our best services at all times.


Yours sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great five nights stay. The Atmosphere here is nice, bit slow housekeeping and poor cleaning standards. The Hotel is located on the center point of the city which is great. Great professionalism at front desk, very profound and helpful, thanks to Mr. Ali Shan also for providing extra knowledge about Dubai and surroundings. We weren't able to eat or drink in hotel's restaurant cause we were so called on cash basis, which was bit of shame.
Overall was a great experience. Good recommendations from my side.....

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe rooms they are big.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very wonderful front office supervisor Zahra giving good guidance and other staff are very friendly. hotel is a nice and clean hotel will make it my regular lodging place. It is also close to mall of the emirates and metro easily accessible too.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank zaidy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEHDXB, Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Zaidy869,

Greetings from the Grand Excelsior Hotel, Dubai.

We would like to firstly thank you for taking your most valuable time off to post your review pertaining to your recent stay with us. We are very glad to know that we have lived up to your expectations and delivered service which has been much appreciated by yourself. We have certainly passed on your words of appreciation to Ms. Zahra and other service staff which is always a stimulator for us to perform better and set higher benchmark standards.

We certainly look forward to your future visits and thank you for the patronage that you would be extending.

With regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We requested an early check in after a 9 hour flight not only was this ignored but the reception staff very very rude, the door men did not bother to open the door for you and housekeeping took over an hour to deal with any request it was laughable! The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds and the location is great a 5 min walk from Mall of the Emirates, if you can over look the incompetence of the staff you will enjoy your stay but with so much choice in Dubai why bother!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatalieM77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEHDXB, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Natalie,

At the onset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time off to post your feedback pertaining to your stay in October last year 2012. It has been almost 8 months since your stay with us and we would like to inform you that presently there is a new management which has taken over the hotel and we have been continuously and vigorously taking steps to ensure greater service standards. We can assure you that since your last stay there have been a number of changes, also covering Housekeeping services that you have highlighted, which are seeing an upward trend. We confidently invite you to once again utilise our product and it’s service and assure you that you would comparatively enjoy much higher standards.

In the meanwhile we remain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I spent 5 days in grand excelsior hotel and it was just what i wanted: clean and large rooms, free wifi, good service and friendly and helpful staff. they really helped us to spend those 5 days even better than we expected. most of all we liked halel and the guy next to the pool i don't remember his name (his name was Ramsa if i'm no mistaken) and if you ever visit this hotel be sure that this people will do everything to make you feel better.once again thank you guys!!
there was just one little problem, there is no place where you can get your swim suits dry, but everything else is so enjoyable that you won't see it as a serious disadvantage. the hotel is nearby the mall of emirates and it takes even less then 10 mins to get there, but if you are going somewhere else thats not a problem too because there is always a taxi available right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEHDXB, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Tbilisi,

Greetings of the Day,

At the onset I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time off to post your feedback pertaining to your stay with us. It is through valuable feedback like yours that we are able to measure our guest satisfaction levels and look for opportunities to further enhance our product and the services offered.

We are indeed very glad to know that you have been very satisfied with our hotel and the services that we offered, specially pertaining to staff services. We have passed on your compliments to the concerned staff whose names you highlighted. I believe the staff name you intended at the recreation is Mr. Riyaz ? We have a cloth line in the room over the bathtub which can be used for drying cloth. Our main attraction is the location near the Mall Of Emirates and easy access to the cheapest mode of transport which is the Dubai Metro.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your words of appreciation and certainly look forward to your continued support through your future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

we spent 4 nights at excelsior in Dec'12. Nice spacious rooms. Can't comment about the food as we hardly ate at the hotel.

its a decent hotel, with clean and spacious room. located nearby mall of emirate (about 15 min walk .......... could be pain in the sun). Plenty of food options close-by. For vegetarians, you got bikanerwala at walking distance.

We selected this hotel for the price we were getting. Would suggest fellow travellers to do similar comparison. For me it was a good bet since I was looking for a decent place to crash in.

good cordial staff

Hotel has a inhouse night club at the ground floor (dubai specialty i guess) since our room was on 5th floor ...... there was hardly any disturbance.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay near Mall of Emirates ....... compare with other hotel options in the vicinity...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEHDXB, Front Office Manager at Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear SP 136,

Greetings from The Grand Excelsior Hotel.

At the onset we would like to thank you for taking valuable time off to post your feedback with regard to your stay with us in December last year.
We are happy to know that you were impressed with your stay with us. With reference to the proximity of the Mall of Emirates we are one of the closet’s hotels in terms of walking distance. Our Club is quite normally well sound proofed. We would recommend that you should try out our Food and beverage selection on your next stay with us. We would like to thank you for your patronage and certainly look forward to your continued support in the future also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
11.1 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Bur Dubai
13.7 mi away
Grand Excelsior Hotel Deira
0.2 mi away
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
Ramada Chelsea Al Barsha
#195 of 554 in Dubai
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grandeur Hotel
Grandeur Hotel
#241 of 554 in Dubai
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Waleed Palace Hotel Apartments Al Barsha
0.7 mi away
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
Cassells Al Barsha Hotel
#275 of 554 in Dubai
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha

Address: 121545 Dubai | Al Barsha-I, Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 554 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range: $51 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 10 minutes' walk from Mall of The Emirates and Metro station, the Grand Excelsior hotel is set in Al Barsha, Dubai - the city's vibrant business district in close proximity to Dubai Internet & Media City, Knowledge Village, Dubai World Trade Centre, DIFC and Jebel Ali Free Zone. We are also in close proximity to shopping malls, Burj Khalifa, Jumeirah Beach Park, Wild Wadi Water Park and. Finest luxury accommodation and associated amenities cater to the needs of business and leisure travelers with the blend of Unique Arabian Hospitality. The hotel is decorated in a contemporary yet unique Arabian style and offer different categories of impressive rooms & suites. Relax in your spacious room or suite, designed and furnished with outstanding amenities that meet the highest standards. Each elegantly decorated room has a flat-screen satellite TV and air conditioning. All rooms at the Grand Excelsior have a work desk, kettle and a coffee maker. The 6 restaurants and bars onsite showcase multi cuisine with a fine taste of dining pleasure and entertainment. The hotel's Health Club boasts quality weight machines and cardio equipment. Swim in the 15 m. Temperature-controlled outdoor pool, unwind in the sauna or steam room and treat yourself at the Lavana Spa for unique treatments. Grand Excelsior hotel can be the perfect location for wedding functions, birthday parties, or anniversary celebrations in our choice of Ballrooms. Give a perfect feel to your conference or business meetings in the hotel's board rooms equipped with Wi-Fi access and overhead projectors. An added value to enhance guest experience, free on-site Valet Parking and Shuttle services to the business hubs and leisure attractions in the city. We are close to Dubai International Airport and Dubai World Central Airport within a traveling time of 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Excelsior Hotel Al Barsha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing