We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel let down by the service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Byblos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Byblos Hotel
Ranked #216 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good hotel let down by the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Having arrived in Dubai after a 8 hour flight our party of 9 arrived at the hotel at about 9.00am and was told we couldn't check in until 2.00pm which was fair enough. We asked if there was somewhere we could change and if possible shower before heading to the beach and was told we would have to get changed in the toilets and there were no showers available.
We went to the beach and returned to the hotel at about 1.00pm the rooms werent ready so we went to the pool and ordered drinks, these took an hour to arrive so once finished we returned to the reception. The rooms still weren't ready and we were told to wait in the lobby, and were told some guests had been waiting since 5.00am! after over an hours wait whilst other people were checked in we were getting annoyed so went back to reception and was told to continue to sit and wait. This time we refused and said we would wait at the reception desk until the rooms were ready, finally we got to our rooms just after 4.00pm!! Even then some of the room cards would not open the doors.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the restaurant good but its a shame that our stay will not be remembered by that it was the waiting around and lack of customer service that will stay with us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjames7483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at Marina Byblos Hotel. It was a great pleasure indeed to have you as our guest.

Kindly note that early check-in specially at an early hours is subject to availability ; which has not even requested prior to your arrival.

We do sincerely hope that you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are not reflective of our normal standards here at Marina Byblos Hotel.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai in the future.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    456
    229
    89
    61
See reviews for
193
365
113
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Arriving around 3:00 in the morning just as their clubs were closing and "guests" leaving, not the best impression, but check-in was efficient and speedy and we were soon in our room and cases brought up for us. We asked for non-smoking and were on 4th floor which is all non-smoking - lovely big room well fitted nice bathroom with powerful shower. We found the staff friendly and helpful unlike some reviews. We'd booked half board and the food was mostly well prepared with plenty of choice - once or twice the breakfasts seemed to lack choice but then the next day it was good again. We felt sorry for the chef, as he delivered some lovely evening meals, well cooked and presented, but few people ate here in the evening - and beware the air con was too powerful in the evenings which too quickly spoiled his meals because they went cool too quickly.
Its true what many on here say you do get noise from the hotels clubs - we did hear the music even though on the 4th floor, but that was not as bad as the noise from the road when they were all leaving and going across the road to Bob's Fish & Chip shop !!
More noise spoiled the use of the roof terrace as all you can hear is ventilation fans from all around - the pool however was lovely and warm to relax in.
Overall we did enjoy our stay here (although you might not think so) but as it was our first time in Dubai its not somewhere to go for a quiet holiday, and I think this hotel reflects that - be prepared for noise, noise and more noise - from the traffic, people (especially on the metros) and on-going building works.

Room Tip: As high as possible if you don't want to here the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flyer0400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of your recent holiday with us at Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai.

Your comments are all noted and we shall look into each of them individually. We are truly sorry for any shortfalls you experienced.

I do hope you will return to Dubai in the near future and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Byblos Hotel.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Didn't really use the hotel to get maximum benefit. Some comments:
Check-in was OK at best. Not the most charming reception staff and could not check in early without leaving my passport, which I needed for meetings.
Very close to Dubai Marina Yacht club and Dubai marina. So good access for restaurants.
Room was clean. Room service food was good.
Fitness centre was just adequate, but not expansive.
Pool is about 18 to 20m (they said 20).
Was not disturbed by any noise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of your recent holiday with us at Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai in the future.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked 3 nights here on a stop-over on the way to the Maldives so we weren't looking to pay top dollar - however we thought the price was reasonable for an advertised 4-star hotel.

Unfortunately things didn't get off to the best of starts. Firstly, we arrived at the hotel at around 9:00 in the morning, having been travelling for some 15 hours, only to be told that we could not check in until 2:00 pm. Now, any hotel who knows the meaning of customer service would have spotted the opportunity to "go that extra mile" to portray a good impression and at least guarantee a good review on this site by maybe offering us a cold drink and perhaps an opportunity to let us change to clothing more suited to the 32 degree temperature that was now beginning to make us suffer. But no, the miserable gentleman on reception practically told us to get out and come back at 2:00pm.

Things got worse when 2:00pm arrived when it became clear that they were incapable of preparing rooms for occupation even at that time. There were other guests who had been waiting since 5:00 in the morning and still hadn't managed to be assigned rooms!

This is when things started to improve, the oriental looking lady on reception had now taken over duties and had a far more polite, and professional approach. She arranged for us to have a room on the 5th floor - although the room we were supposed to be assigned to which faced the marina wasn't going to be ready on time so we were assigned a replacement.

Off we went, up to the fifth floor and found our room - the door key card didn't work! OK, an acceptable error given the furore of the previous hours. Back down to reception, back up again - the card still didn't work. We were then met outside the room by an employee insisting that it couldn't possibly work because we had checked-out - I had only just checked-in!!! Eventually the problem was resolved and we settled in.

The room itself was very spacious and comfortable, and most importantly quiet (having read some of the problems other reviewers had highlighted). So no complaints there. In summary then, the good points:

1: Spacious, comfortable room
2: Nice, varied choice of food in the main restaurant (however see below for related bad point)
3: The service offered by the girls in the restaurant was excellent

The bad points:
1: The total lack of customer care when guests arrive early
2: The choice of restaurants was not very clear
3: The roof-top pool area - if you're going to position a roof-top pool at a hotel by the marina surely you would build it so that it faces the marina - not the building sites on the opposite facing aspects???
4: The furniture around the pool is at best shabby and desperately needs replacing
5: There is no bar by the pool - food and drinks have to be ordered and sent up. Not ideal.
6: And the worst - is this meant to be a hotel with a bar/bars or is it a public bar with rooms? They don't seem to know themselves.

If you like a good quality, peaceful hotel then forget the Marina Byblos. However, if you like English style noisy bars and nightclubs with bouncers on the doors, and stag and hen parties in attendance, then this is the place for you. Maybe we just chose the wrong place out of naivety.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor was ideally placed to avoid noise from above and below
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Marina Byblos Hotel and the time taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are sincerely sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have noted your comments and concerns and we are currently working on improving the points you mentioned. The services you experienced are certainly not reflecting of our usual standards and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused. Your comments are appreciated.

I do hope you will return to Dubai in the near future and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Marina Byblos Hotel.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Hotel is in a very good location. The staff are very friendly and the rooms very spacious. The only complaint was that the reception had only one staff dealing with people checking in and people checking out.

Room Tip: Very good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ibi1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments after your recent stay at Marina Byblos Hotel. It was a great pleasure indeed to have you as our guest.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai in the future.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a 4 days honeymoon in Dubai and we stayed in one of the deluxe rooms it was neat and the service was great. Excellent hotel good value for money. Very close to JBR WALK, Dubai marina mall etc.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of your recent holiday with us at Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai.

I am happy to read about your experience with our hotel facilities and services. It is very pleasing to read how much you have enjoyed your time with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to Marina Byblos Hotel Dubai in the future.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KBH
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

It wasnt the best stay. Some of the staff is really kind but they have issues the one from the desk. We could hear the bell from the elevator all night and day in our room, and at night we could hear music from the club and we were at 4th floor. When we arrived they apparently had problems with the hotels keycards so we couldnt get in without staff for 2 days. Furthermore we got locked inside our room for 15 minutes because the lock fell of!! And they didnt even offer us a new room or any compensation for this. After many discussions we got free breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miasche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dani M, Front Office Manager at Marina Byblos Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Marina Byblos Hotel and the time taken to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are sincerely sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have noted your comments and concerns and we are currently working on improving the points you mentioned.

The services you experienced are certainly not reflecting of our usual standards and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused. Your comments are appreciated.

Sincerely,
Dani Moaccad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubai hotels
The Marina
Wyndham Dubai Marina
Wyndham Dubai Marina
#118 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
The Marina
Marina View Hotel Apartments
The Marina
Jannah Place Dubai Marina
Jannah Place Dubai Marina
#146 of 544 in Dubai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marina
Jannah Marina Bay Suites
The Marina
Pearl Marina Hotel Apartments
The Marina
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dubai, Jbr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Byblos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Byblos Hotel

Property: Marina Byblos Hotel
Address: Al Hubob Street, 20 | Dubai Marina, Dubai 123233, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai > The Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 544 Hotels in Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Byblos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern concept offers appealing, stylish guest rooms and suites which provide a calm, comfortable oasis of quiet a midst the hum of the busy city outside.Enjoy contemporary luxury in an excellent location, adjacent to the famous Jumeirah Beach, home to The Walk, Dubai’s most happening outdoor destination. Close to Dubai’s main business areas such as Dubai Media City, Internet City and JAFZA, Marina Byblos Hotel has the perfect location to suits the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Exploring the city could not be simpler with JLT Metro Station within easy walking distance.Marina Byblos Hotel offers 184 elegant, smoking and non smoking rooms and suites tastefully decorated and well appointed for your comfort, overlooking the famous Dubai Marina and Yacht docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Marina Byblos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing