We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Thai Gem..!”
Review of Sukhothai

Sukhothai
Ranked #469 of 9,534 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $56
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Inspired from the Sukhothai period, this Thai restaurant in Dubai is true to its meaning. Sukhothai, "Dawn of happiness" is filled with immense culture from the moment you step in, the friendly service and the ambience, all make your experience unforgettable.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Hidden Thai Gem..!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Finding the restaurant tucked away behind Le Méridien was not easy. However, stepping into Sukhothai after being greeted by a “Sawadika” and a polite bow is quite an experience. The dark rich décor, the authentic wooden paneling and the candle-lit gold tinted atmosphere of the restaurant- all set the tone for the rest of the evening.

We were led to a quite table and offered cold towels (very welcome after the heat outside). We were then offered 2 choices of menu- the traditional one… and an ipad. Opting for the ipad was an excellent idea, as we were able to view pictures of each dish along with a little description. None of the appetizers caught our fancy (too calorie ridden and we figured we’d save that for the main course), so we decided to skip. DH ordered his favorite Thai dish “Gai Phad Med Mamuang” meaning stir-fried chicken with cashew nuts, onion, capsicum, baby corn and dried chili. Then, based on the very helpful waiter’s recommendation, I chose a mildly spiced “Gaeng Khiao Warn Gai Rue Nuea” which is basically a green curry of chicken or beef (in my case beef) with coconut palm heart and Thai eggplants, flavored with sweet basil. We also ordered a coconut – well its juice to be more precise.

A light amuse-bouche of chicken salad was served. Our mains came surprisingly quickly, and were wonderfully fragrant and piping hot. Mine was even served on a candle heated base which ensured it remained deliciously warm until the last bite. We’d planned on sharing, but other than a bite of the other’s dish, each of us stuck to his own as we loved the flavors so much. The chicken stir fry was an explosion of sweet, sour and spicy- each vying for your attention. The Green Curry was exquisite- the beef tender and the curry’s flavors complementing each other perfectly. Steamed Jasmine Rice was a flattering accompaniment to both dishes.

As the plates’ load lightened we realized that a live performer had begun playing Thai instruments. It looked and sounded authentic, and wasn’t intrusive -like lively spa music- and conversations around us kept flowing.

We decided to skip dessert (we’d had enough calories for the day), and asked for the bill. It came to 250 AED (a pretty reasonable 180 AED using the Entertainer voucher). The coconut and water alone cost a third of the bill @ 60 AED- ouch! (Price Breakdown: Green Curry @ 80, Chicken Stir Fry @ 70 (taken off bill using voucher), Jasmine Rice for 2 @ 40, Coconut @ 32 and Water @28)

We settled the bill and got lovely steaming hot towels. Then out we headed leaving the hushed Thai interiors- back into busy Dubai…

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gentle Traveler I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienFB, Manager at Sukhothai, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sawaddee Ka,
Thank you for the kind words you used to describe your dining experience at Sukhothai. We are happy to note that you like our restaurant concept and decoration. As well, we are very please to know that you appreciate the food quality especially “Gai Phad Med Mamuang” and “Gaeng Khiao Warn Nuea” .

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Khob Khun Ka
Jom
Jomjit Cheepchol
Sukhothai Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    63
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great selection of Thai cuisine!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Celebrated Valentine's Day at Sukhothai. Loved the ambiance. The restaurant was oozing with Thai culture, so was the menu! The deserts were particularly YUM! My favourite was definitely the coconut custard, served in a coconut shell.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienFB, Manager at Sukhothai, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Sawaddee Ka,
Thank you for your amazing feedback on your dining experience at Sukhothai. We are happy to note that you appreciate the food quality especially Sang-Kha-Ya Ma-Phrao-Phao.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Khob Khun Ka
Jom
Jomjit Cheepchol
Sukhothai Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious dining!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed all the wonderful Thai flavours! Such wonderful food and friendly attentive service. It was our daughter's 13th birthday and a group of the staff delivered the lighted cake to our table upon our arrival and sang happy birthday with us for Lucy! It was her first Thai experience and she loved it!!! Actually, it is now the family favourite!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawsons33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienFB, Manager at Sukhothai, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Sawaddee Ka Khun Lawson,

We would like to thank you for the kind words you used to describe your dining experience at
Sukhothai. It is a pleasure to read that you find our food excellent as well as the service provided by our ambassadors.

Thank you once again for your personal recommendation and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Khob Khun Ka
Jom
Jomjit Cheepchol
Sukhothai Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Thai food in Dubai”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Thai food in Dubai then head over to Sukhothai. The food was very good, very Thai. Can't help but compare it when I was in Thailand but Sukhothai never disappoints every time I visit. The atmosphere is also relaxing and the service is good. (The serving size could use some improvements though!).

Last visit: July 2013.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karenzerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienFB, Manager at Sukhothai, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sawaddee Ka Khun Karen,
We would like to thank you for the kind words you used to describe your dining experience at
Sukhothai.

Thank you for your personal recommendation and for bringing into our attention your comments about serving size, our Head Chef and myself will look into it to improve our customer satisfaction.

We look forward to see you in the near future.
Khob Khun Ka
Jom
Jomjit Cheepchol
Sukhothai Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Cuisine in Dubai”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The culinary scene in Dubai got richer for us since we visited Sukhothai.
Dining in Sukhothai is not nursing the appetite, no, dining in Sukhothai is a culinary expedition through the Thai Cuisine.
Located in the nice Meridien Village, Sukhothai provides
a pleasant ambience and excellent service.
The traditional Thai food meets highest expectations in terms of
quality and presentation.
You can feel the passion of the team to pamper the guests on a high level. Especially Ms. Tik and Mr. Lek indulge the guests with high attention and professional service.
Sukhothai… a MUST GO in Dubai.
Enjoy it ..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienFB, Manager at Sukhothai, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Sawaddee Ka Khun Wolfram,

We would like to thank you for the kind words you used to describe your dining experience at
Sukhothai. It is a pleasure to read that you find our food excellent as well as the service provided by our ambassadors.

Thank you once again for your personal recommendation and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Khob Khun Ka
Jom
Jomjit Cheepchol
Sukhothai Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing