We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Zheng He's

Zheng He's
Ranked #183 of 9,667 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Zheng He's redefines the essence of ancient Chinese culture with pure, fresh recipes designed for the modern connoisseur. Savour a delectable menu featuring traditional favourites as well as signature creations with a twist, complemented by gracious service and stunning surroundings.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Service”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to Zheng He last weekend and I must say I haven't experienced any service as poor as Zheng He's. The food took its jolly good time to be served, we spent around a hour waiting for the main course after the appetizers was served. The servers were unfriendly and wouldn't assist if anything was amiss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagarika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic T, Manager at Zheng He's, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sagarika B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am really sorry to read that our service didn't meet your expectations. We take feedback seriously and I passed on the message to my team to make sure it doesn't happen again.

If you wish to visit us again, please contact me directly.

Frederic Teton, Zheng He's Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    149
    71
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place ! A Great View !”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visiting this restaurant was a real great experience. The staff along with the manager are really great professionals that do care about customers.

It was raining in the morning so they had to close the outdoor dining at night. We called the manager and asked him to sit outdoors although it was not permitted due to rain in the morning. After letting him know that we have come to the restaurant to enjoy the fabulous view, he personally went and prepared an outdoor table after checking all circumstances to avoid any damage to the food.

Food was really very good and the atmosphere along with the view and service was outstanding!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayman-Beydoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic T, Manager at Zheng He's, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Ayman-Beydoun,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your dining experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We were very please to hear that you enjoyed the food and setting and certainly hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Best regards,

Frederic Teton, Zheng He's Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views with food to match”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch there yesterday despite not being the greatest fan of Chinese food I had one of the best food experiences of our trip
Very nicely located overlooking the Burj We enjoyed some of the finest Asian cuisine I have ever tasted And we will Certainly be returning
The wasabi prawns as a starter are definitely a top recommendation and the Cantonese king prawns for main are equally delicious
Surrounded by reasonable restaurants this is without doubt the jewel in the crown

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic T, Manager at Zheng He's, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Ian C,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your dining experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We were very please to hear that you enjoyed the food and setting and certainly hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Best regards,

Frederic Teton, Zheng He's Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Asian-culinary experience”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Zheng He is known as one of the best Asian restaurants of Dubai. We dined on the waterfront overlooking the Burh Al Arab. We chose a selection of Dumplings, including the Crystal Prawn with truffle, Wrapped Tiger Prawns and the Foie Gras Siew Mai followed by the Beijng Style Roasted Duck. My wife had the Sauteed Beef Tenderloin. An explosion of subtle flavors, wonderful dishes. The Chablis and the New Zealand Pinot Noir combined perfectly. For dessert we got a jasmine tea served on Jacky Chan-way. Extremely friendly staff. A great night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WHdeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic T, Manager at Zheng He's, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear WHdeL,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your dining experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We were very please to hear that you enjoyed the food and setting and certainly hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Best regards,

Frederic Teton, Zheng He's Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing views and Delicious Food!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This restaurant is one of my favourites in the Madinat Jumeirah hotel complex and we go there a couple of times, each time we visit Dubai! I have to admit that the biggest attraction for me is the view over the hotel waterway, with the tranquil and relaxing noise of an occasional abra passing by and a clear view ofthe Burj al Arab, which lights up at night and changes colours throught the evening. When I'm there, I feel like I could sit there forever! I love just sitting there with a glass of wine after the meal has been cleared away :) I think it is the best view you could have of the Burj from any of the resaturants. I always ask to sit outside, as you can tell, but the tables and ambiance inside are also really lovely and there is such a calm feel there. It's great when you are a guest at Madinat Jumeirah, as you can also turn up to an station near the restaurant on one of the abra boats - no better way to arrive!

It would be worth a visit just for the view alone, but on top of that, I also enjoy the food very much, as does my husband. The chili dip that comes with the vegetable spring rolls, which I always have for my starter is the most delicious dip and nice and spicy! I would love to buy some to bring home! The pork ribs were also really yummy :)

The staff have always been very freindly and they have also catered to our needs if we have required a few 'tweaks' to the dishes! They seem to have a good knowledge of the menu and have sometimes suggested things for us to try based on what we've said we liked.

On the short walk to the restaurant from the abra station, you can also sah hi to some turtles, who are in a special area being rehabilitated!

I would attach a photo, but my camera doesn't do the view justice, as no digital camera I've had seem to take good night time shots :(

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Nicky909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic T, Manager at Zheng He's, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Nicky909,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your dining experience with us on Tripadvisor.

We were very please to hear that you enjoyed the food and setting and certainly hope to welcome you back some time soon.

Best regards,

Frederic Teton, Zheng He's Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zheng He's also viewed

 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Zheng He's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing