We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish and shrimps”
Review of Bu Qtair

Bu Qtair
Ranked #184 of 9,567 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: http://maps.google.com/maps/place?oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=bu+qtair+dubai+location&fb=1&gl=us&hq=bu+qtair&hnear=0x3e5f43496ad9c645:0xbde66e5084295162,Dubai+-+United+Arab+Emirates&cid=9813255122397204041
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and shrimps”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

No frills, hole-in-the-wall fish shack fronting the beach at Um Suqeim. Bu Qtair has no menu -only "catch of the day". L-R: the juiciest,freshest fried fish I've tasted; the simple "shack"- you eat outside,with your hands; we did not order the shrimps -but it looks right out yummy; the queue inside,the view outside. Cheap,fresh,simple and delicious -but bring your own steamed rice! Parathas are OK too. Come early to avoid the mad queue. Outdoor seating is just cowboy style-- it's the fish,the fish!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iTriptonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    142
    26
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

There is something special about this place. We waited over 1 hr to order and than another hour to get the food. It is BUSY. Despite the lengthy wait...it was worth it. Only 2 order options but simply amazing. Great value. We ate like kings for 80 Dirham total. If you want an amazing, authentic experience....this place is a must!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One word simple Amazing Food and Service”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A bit of a hidden gem in Dubai, famous for being featured in No Reservations : Dubai. To get here you can either take a bus to Umm Suqeim Library i.e. X28, 33 and 8 I think. Or you can take a cab from Dubai Mall or Mall of Emirates. The cafeteria is on the street behind the mosque just next to the bus station.
I think the street names have chaged and is not the same street name as shown on the Google Maps. Took us a while to find it, the legend is just next to wooden boats accomodation/parking and is well hidden.

You choose the lovely fish that you want to devour and the prawns by weight and they call your name when it is cooked.

The decor and the sitting arrangement are it is what it is. Great view though you can see the Burj Al Arab depending on where you sit, but I guess what you come here is for the fame it has achieved via the No Reservations TV Show and the magnificent tasting fish and prawns.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hyperscram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
428 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Amazing Small Seafood Cafeteria”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Its one of a most low profile seafood hubs you will find in dubai,strangely in jumeirah sucha low end restaurant to do miracle is worth explaining- a simple cafeteria model restaurant with a small enterance beside the beach( before) now some govt building covers the view of beach-soem 300sq.ft front area with plastic seats and tabels to have ur food and what do they serve- simple fresh marinated fish kept in front of you, you select teh fish and they deep roast or fry you, serve you with porotta-a thick orange gravy,kuboos and white rice-if its friday or saturday night u have to wait minimum 2 hrs to get your food, such is the crowd, food is tasty-but simply staright forward,tr out 1/2kg or 1kg shrimps fried if u are ina group of 10 :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arun Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Undersold, overdelivered!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A buddy of mine told me about a little fish shack that sells amazing, fresh seafood I needed to check out just down from Jumeirah Beach Hotel. I went down with expectations of grabbing take-away fish n chips and sitting on the beach, but instead stumbled across a bustling little low-key restaurant with crowds of people from all walk of life.

Being my first time there I was bemused by the lack of menu (there's only 3 things to order anyway!), proper seating (plastic stools) and actual cutlery (you're eating with your fingers!) - but that's what made it so awesome! It's completely opposite to the try-hard, pretentious restaurants that fill Dubai where you can expect crap waiters, long waits for food and a bill that's far more than the dining experience is worth.

The food was absolutely amazing - you MUST order the shrimp with your fish!!! (but only grab a 1/4 kilo if you're a light eater). It's not quite as cheap as Ravi's, but for 120dhs my partner and I were absolutely stuffed and we didn't finish all the food!

Just remember - THIS PLACE IS NO FRILLS!!! I've laughed at a few stupid reviews where people have come here expecting a regular Dubai restaurant experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cammac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bu Qtair also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Bu Qtair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing