We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing food and strange service....”
Review of Amala

Amala
Ranked #92 of 9,562 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step inside Amala, you'll find the welcome is warm and authentically Indian. The cuisine, known as Mughlai, is strongly influenced by Persia and Turkey and is known for its richness, with exotic spices, dried fruits and cream. Every evening, Amala serves an exceptional a la carte menu where guests are able to order as many dishes as they like at a set price. Dine within the magnificent interiors or outside on the terrace, as you sample the varied flavours of North Indian cuisine through this truly extravagant dining experience.
Watford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very disappointing food and strange service....”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We'd heard great things and the place looks amazing. However the food was only average (my local Indian restaurant in England does much better food at a considerably cheaper price) and the service was strange...like they were doing us a favour! We did not feel 'lucky' to have eaten here at all, all in all a disappointing evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyFWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningConciergeJZS, Manager at Amala, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely disappointed to hear about your Amala experience. Rest assured, this is not the experience we strive to deliver to our valued guests. we have taken your comments positively and shared with the culinary and service team.

We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the future. If you do visit Dubai again, please contact the executive assistant manager of Food and Beverage of Jumeirah Zabeel Saray , Nandana Wirasinha on nandana.wirasinha@jumeirah.com

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    103
    44
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sublime food with a professional service”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We are staying a week at the zabeel saray. Decided to eat at the Amala restaurant. This is an Indian restaurant with a wide range of meat and vegetarian dishes. Our 4 year old was given some grilled chicken with rice and some chicken korma. He loved it as they made it mild. We had a variety of dishes. Lamb samosas were delicious. Tandoori chicken, lamb and king prawns were spicy and sublime. Food was excellent and would match any great Indian restaurant in London.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanjiv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningConciergeJZS, Manager at Amala, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit to Amala restaurant. We have shared the feedback with the colleagues.

Thank you once again for the review. Such positive reviewes help us to strive for more to deliver a flawless dining experience at all times.

We look forward to having you soon in Amala again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good but we have been spoilt by our local restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had heard really good reports about this restaurant. We weren't disappointed but perhaps not as good as we had expected. That said we have a first class local Indian restaurant at home thus we may well have been spoilt. It was good but we didn't feel it was amazing. There was some confusion regarding drinks (but it was Ramadan). The service was good and the food tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningConciergeJZS, Manager at Amala, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting Amala and for the positive feedback. We have shared your feedback with the team.

Although we didnt achieve your expectations, we are happy to know that you were not disappointed. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The tastiest experience we had ever had!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We have entered Amala - an astonishing place of unforgettable atmosphere! It is the best Indian restaurant we have ever been to! All the dishes were amazing! I have never tried something more delicious! We have ordered Till Jhinga, Dal Amala, Tawa Kananoora. Truly recommend you to taste it. Chef Ajeesh - our deep reverence to you! But restaurant does not come only with its wonderful cuisine. Also we would like to thank Prajeesh and Vistam for their friendly response. They did really help us to feel like we are the most desired guests. Amala is the best restaraunt in Zabeel Saray. It is a place where you will always want to come back! Thank you Amala for the greatest time!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anastasya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningConciergeJZS, Manager at Amala, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback about our restaurant. it is always encouraging to hear such great feedback. We have shared your feedback with the colleagues.

Team Amala looks forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best indian food in dubai .. by chef Aman”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

with a very warm welcome by the hostess ,,, i with my family entered to the most happening restaurant of zabeel saray " AMALA" ... we were expecting to have gud indian food to make our evening better as we came out of a very busy day ,,,.. but " chef AMAN" and his team, made our day memorable by serving the food which has got the excellence in terms of taste , presentation , and quality ,, i have been to many indian restaurant in dubai ,, but this the best venue i have ever been to in dubai ,,, the food hasits own class n delicacy,,, after having this kind of experience,, i can only conclude ,, if you really have a good palate of indian food visit " Amala" and meet chef Aman ...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lovingamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiningConciergeJZS, Manager at Amala, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are extremely happy to hear your comments about our restaurant. We have shared your feedback with our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you to Amala again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing