We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Amala

Amala
Ranked #85 of 9,657 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step inside Amala, you'll find the welcome is warm and authentically Indian. The cuisine, known as Mughlai, is strongly influenced by Persia and Turkey and is known for its richness, with exotic spices, dried fruits and cream. Every evening, Amala serves an exceptional a la carte menu where guests are able to order as many dishes as they like at a set price. Dine within the magnificent interiors or outside on the terrace, as you sample the varied flavours of North Indian cuisine through this truly extravagant dining experience.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We visited the Amala and had one of the best meals we've ever eaten. We couldn't decide what to choose from the menu so asked our waiter to recommend. He said he would sort out a mixture of starters and mains for us and all were excellent. The chef even came to check on us to see if we were enjoying his food, which we assured him we were. Great food, great surroundings and amazing staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCHHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    108
    44
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amala”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We ate here one evening of our stay and found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive. The starter was excellent, I had vegetable samosas and my partner had onion bhajia; for main course I had nahari gosht which was a lamb shank in a fragrant but not spicy sauce and my partner had chicken tikka masala which he said was much spicier than you get in England, for kulfi for pudding Nice food, lovely atmopshere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonchild484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is truly a beautiful restaurant with lovely staff. Our server was charming and efficient and looked after us during our meal. The food was delicious and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate at this restaurant a couple of times during our stay and had a lovely meal on each occasion.

The staff were friendly and welcoming the decor in the restaurant was opulent and the water feature gave it a relaxing feel.

My husband enjoyed the butter chicken and I can recommend the lamb bhuna.

All in all a lovely restaurant which is well worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Indian Resturant?”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having read very good reviews had dinner tonight there really disappointed with the service and quality of food. Ordered onion bhaijas ,served with few strands of onions with batter them totally burned!
Order tandoori chicked as main meal, got served with just 4 pieces of chicken on plate with no dressing or salad on the plate, complained and ordered chicken biryani that was even worse, served with chicken/rice/few cashewnuts, not marinated at all and again no sauces to mix with biryani , total dry!
No body came to ask how was our meal!

Do not go there --overarated-------try KAMAT instead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BOLTON1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing