We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noting great”
Review of Amala

Amala
Ranked #131 of 9,866 Restaurants in Dubai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step inside Amala, you'll find the welcome is warm and authentically Indian. The cuisine, known as Mughlai, is strongly influenced by Persia and Turkey and is known for its richness, with exotic spices, dried fruits and cream. Every evening, Amala serves an exceptional a la carte menu where guests are able to order as many dishes as they like at a set price. Dine within the magnificent interiors or outside on the terrace, as you sample the varied flavours of North Indian cuisine through this truly extravagant dining experience.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I like the food, but nothing special. Waiter was not keen to serve, not plesant. Chicken was very nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Asma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Amala, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in posting a review on Trip Advisor.

While I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our culinary offering at Amala, it was with great concerns that I read your comments with regards to the service you experienced, for which I wish to personally apologized. Rest assured that your feedback has been taken seriously and shared with my team, for immediate action and remedial improvement.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Amala on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

600 - 604 of 700 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

the restaurant was a little disappointing but this may have had a lot to do with the fact that as it was Ramadan, alcoholic drinks were not served till after 8 PM. From previous information about the restaurant, we were also expecting a visit from the chef to listen to what we liked and then make recommendations based on that and have the opportunity to sample a number of dishes. That never happened and the wait staff were not over attentive and we had to keep requesting refills of water and wine. The food that we did have was okay but certainly nothing spectacular
It is a beautiful hotel but we would be not come back to this particular restaurant of theirs again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GVPAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Amala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor review from your recent visit to our Amala Restaurant at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray.

I certainly regret that your recent experience at Amala has left you feeling disappointed and I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our culinary experience and our service standards.

I look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back to Amala and I am certain that we will be able to redeem ourselves on the next occasion.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amala offers a great concept of set price a la carte dining. If you are lucky you could be seated at one of the tables for two tucked in-between the beautiful columns surrounding the indoor water feature. There are many dishes to choose from but my favorites were the curries and the tandoor lamb chop. If you can't decide your server will assist in the selection or you can just leave it up to them to surprise you. If you like something in particular you can just order more. You are actually encouraged to try new dishes. Servings are just the right size for sampling and sharing.

Thank lilybob24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Amala, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in posting a review on Trip Advisor. Along with my team, I sincerely appreciate your positive comments and am delighted that you enjoyed your dining experience at Amala.

Thank you once again for posting a review of Amala on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back and having the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Rather late with this review but better late than never. Were with family for a special anniversary meal and once again lived up to our previous visit. Sooo delicious, sooo fresh, soooo much choice and the most attentive staff from being greeted at the front door to the chef coming to say hello and a lovely cake at the end of the most divine meal. My own personal favourite is seafood and well words cannot describe the most succulent scallops and tiger prawns that we were given and could have had more but wanted to taste as much as was possible, which we did but no room for dessert...:)
Have booked my next trip for November and look forward to seeing all the delightful staff...you make our trip special each time. See you soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Amala, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time in posting a review on Trip Advisor. It is always with great pleasure that we welcome our return guests, and I am very pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations on this visit.

Thank you once again for choosing to dine at Amala on your special occasion and I look forward to welcoming you back in November.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you want to enjoy the subtle stimulation of you tastebuds, I recommend that you try the "chaat" at the Indian restaurant at this beautiful hotel. Be sure to start your dining experience with "tamatar dhania ka shorba", a wonderfully light tomato soup delicately flavored with coriander root. The fried okhra starter is really crisp and nice, but the green "hare kababs" would be better if texture was added to taste. We were honored by the visit of chefs Aman Manoj Kumar and Dayanand Prasad, who explained the intricacies of fine dining to us. They are doing a wonderful job of reaching out to a world clientale with innovative Indian cuisine. This review would not be complete without mentioning the lovely lady ushering us into the restaurant. Her smile was the loveliest start to a memorable dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Smita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JZS_Management, Manager at Amala, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share such a complimenting review following your visits to our Amala Restaurant at Jumeirah Zabeel Saray and for recommending our restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We make every effort to maintain the high standards of timely and quality service delivery Jumeirah is renowned for, and we are delighted that we have been successful in exceeding your expectations during your visits.

Thank you for recognizing our colleagues who impressed you by their attention and professionalism. It is with great pleasure that I am able to recognize them for their efforts to ensure our guests have an enjoyable dining experience.

Once again, thank you for choosing to dine at Amala and for posting a review and recommending our restaurant on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,

David Stern
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amala also viewed

Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
Dubai, Emirate of Dubai
 

Been to Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing